Chevron Left
Voltar para Biochemical Principles of Energy Metabolism

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Biochemical Principles of Energy Metabolism da instituição Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology(KAIST)

4.7
stars
73 classificações
21 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Everyone knows that energy is essential for sustaining life. How can you define energy in life? Have ever thought about ways of how carbohydrates like glucose from your diet can be used for extracting energy? A scientific field that focuses on energy production and flow though living cells and organisms is called bioenergetics. Energy metabolism covers various biochemical ways of energy transformation and regulatory mechanisms of over thousands chemical reactions. Without fine control of those metabolic processes, cells and organisms cannot maintain activities linked to life. This 7 week-course will give you a clear introduction to the basic fundamentals of energy metabolism. We will first establish the concept of energy metabolism and subsequently examine biochemical steps involved in energy production from glucose oxdiation as well as glucose synthesis via photosynthesis. We will also learn about metabolic reactions related to fat as well as regulatory actions among different organs. Finally, dysregulated energy metabolism in pathological conditions such as diabetes and cancer will be discussed. Everyone knows that energy is essential for sustaining life. How can you define energy in life? Have ever thought about ways of how carbohydrates like glucose from your diet can be used for extracting energy? A scientific field that focuses on energy production and flow though living cells and organisms is called bioenergetics. Energy metabolism covers various biochemical ways of energy transformation and regulation of thousands of chemical reactions. Without fine regulation of those metabolic processes, cells and organisms cannot maintain activities linked to life. This 7 week-course will give you a clear introduction to the basic fundamentals of energy metabolism. We will first establish the concept of energy metabolism and subsequently examine biochemical processes involved in energy production as well as photosynthesis. We will also learn about metabolic reactions related to fa as well as regulatory actions among different organs. Finally, dysregulated energy metabolism in pathological conditions such as diabetes and cancer will be discussed....

Melhores avaliações

PD

Jan 11, 2020

Detailed explanations, not for beginners. If you have a background or undertaken coursework in Exercise Science and Nutrition this is a thoroughly enjoyable course.

UH

Jan 20, 2019

This course covers the whole metabolism. Last week is awesome. As being a student of biochemistry I found this course very helpful.

Filtrar por:

1 — 21 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Biochemical Principles of Energy Metabolism

por 이상준

Oct 30, 2018

This professor knows what he's doing. As a huge lover of biology, chemistry, and medicine, I can see that he puts his love for his lessons and when he talks as well. He is an expert on his field, knows what he's talking about, and puts pride to KAIST (Korean Advanced Institute of Science and Technology). I love his lessons, 5/5!

por Roudain Y

Dec 17, 2019

Very useful course

I've got a lot of knowledge about carbohydrate and it's function and it's important in human body forthemore I've learned information on topics where myths abound like diabetes,fat metabolism and photosynthesis

I'm really thankful for having this opportunity to discover all this knowledge

por Nedyu Y

Jun 06, 2019

Excellent introductory course in biochemistry and main processes, I really liked it! Prof Kim presents the topics in very entertaining way which makes the attendance even more pleasant. Pity that it's not for free and I couldn't complete it submitting the quizzes.

por Daniel A V C

Jul 18, 2019

Es un curso muy completo, cubre muy bien las nociones básicas sobre el metabolismo en condiciones fisiológicas normales. Así mismo da una breve introducción a distintas patologías comunes en el metabolismo humano. Muy recomendado :)

por José A J H

Jan 11, 2020

it It is a very well organized and informative short course. I say short because I enjoy it and I would have liked it to be longer. I recommend it to anyone who wants to learn or review basic knowledge of energy metabolism.

por Prateek D

Jan 11, 2020

Detailed explanations, not for beginners. If you have a background or undertaken coursework in Exercise Science and Nutrition this is a thoroughly enjoyable course.

por Luis E G y G

Jan 02, 2020

Excellent, well explained course, goes from basic to more advanced topics covered in detail, great to start learning about human energy metabolism.

por Usman H

Jan 20, 2019

This course covers the whole metabolism. Last week is awesome. As being a student of biochemistry I found this course very helpful.

por Luz M S R

Aug 15, 2019

I really liked this course. The lectures were amazing and the explanation very easy to understand. Thank you!

por Aldo H

Jun 28, 2019

I am so happy to learn from Mr. Kim all the knowledge he gave me throughout this course. Thank you so much.

por Sunil S

Jun 24, 2018

Nice and Basic course on the concept of Biochemistry

por Akaravit T

Sep 13, 2018

this is the greatest course that I have never seen

por Christian C V R

Sep 08, 2019

Muy concreto y bien explicado, gracias profesor

por Chris M R

Dec 18, 2019

very comprehensive. I enjoyed this course

por Yemen A M N

Mar 30, 2019

that is very nice

and important . thank s

por Abdelaziz S

Nov 28, 2019

What a fantastic visual biochemistry

por Ahmed M A

Mar 24, 2019

amazing course and very helpfull

por Armando A

Feb 27, 2019

Excellent!!!

por ANAND U

Mar 15, 2019

Good

por Roger P

May 06, 2019

I found this to be a very interesting course and the slides used in each session were informative and of high quality. I didn't purchase the course, so I wasn't able to do any of the quizzes because they were only available to those who had upgraded. Usually, Coursera courses include "free" quizzes as well as the paid ones, so this is a slight negative for me, hence I have scored it 4 stars rather than the 5 stars that it deserves based on the lectures themselves.

por Mauro S

Dec 14, 2019

Concise and to the point.