Chevron Left
Voltar para Emergent Phenomena in Science and Everyday Life

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Emergent Phenomena in Science and Everyday Life da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Irvine

4.3
estrelas
133 classificações
47 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Before the advent of quantum mechanics in the early 20th century, most scientists believed that it should be possible to predict the behavior of any object in the universe simply by understanding the behavior of its constituent parts. For instance, if one could write down the equations of motion for every atom in a system, it should be possible to solve those equations (with the aid of a sufficiently large computing device) and make accurate predictions about that system’s future. However, there are some systems that defy this notion. Consider a living cell, which consists mostly of carbon, hydrogen, and oxygen along with other trace elements. We can study these components individually without ever imagining how combining them in just the right way can lead to something as complex and wonderful as a living organism! Thus, we can consider life to be an emergent property of what is essentially an accumulation of constituent parts that are somehow organized in a very precise way. This course lets you explore the concept of emergence using examples from materials science, mathematics, biology, physics, and neuroscience to illustrate how ordinary components when brought together can collectively yield unexpected, surprising behaviors. Note: The fractal image (Sierpinkski Triangle) depicted on the course home page was generated by a software application called XaoS 3.4, which is distributed by the Free Software Foundation under a GNU General Public License. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Explain the difference in assumptions between an emergent versus reductive approach to science. 2. Explain why the reductivist approach is understood by many to be inadequate as a means of describing and predicting complex systems. 3. Describe how the length scale used to examine a phenomenon can contribute to how you analyze and understand it. 4. Explain why the search for general principles that explain emergent phenomena make them an active locus of scientific investigation. 5. Discuss examples of emergent phenomena and explain why they are classified as emergent....

Melhores avaliações

MS
16 de Dez de 2020

This course has enriched my understanding in science. It has also encouraged me to do research in the field of Emergent Phenomena in future. Thanks to respected professors who made this possible.

RV
7 de Mai de 2017

i enjoyed all the different modules. I recommend they add more explanation to the chaos game assignment.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 45 Avaliações para o Emergent Phenomena in Science and Everyday Life

por Pasquale D S

9 de Jun de 2020

The course itself is a good, 'popular science' introduction to a number of emergent phenomena, if that is what you are looking for. The different modules are covered by different professors, who do not seem to have agreed in advanced on the level and goals of the course. Hence, some modules are extremely well done (notably the one on foams), others are almost off-topic (consciousness, with little to do with explaining emergence in that context). The one on chaos one requires some mathematical knowledge which is little more than high-school level, yet it's at odds with the overall non-technical approach of most of the rest. The biological pattern one is even split between two professors, each one offering but a quick intro to interesting subjects. The physics one tries to convene the notion of effective degrees of freedom, quasi-particles, etc. but the example chosen (fractional charges in condensed matter physics) requires so much abstraction that it only speaks to those who already know what the professor is talking about. The interviews and some links to extra material are perhaps the best part of the course. Worst of all, however: There is no forum and thus no way to interact with mentors, professors or other learners (the few that are around!), despite the fact that most assignments are peer-graded, which makes getting the certificate almost impossible. I do not think this is up to the standards of Coursera. Unless this big problem is fixed, I suggest you to go for an audit option, but not to pay to enroll. To the UCI team: Please do not let such a great opportunity to introduce fascinating phenomena to a large audience die! I strongly encourage you to follow up with your promise (in the videos) to propose more elaborate modules. Actually, each of the topics introduced would make a great course, especially for an audience which is not afraid of some calculus, basic physics, and biology.

por Roger P

12 de Fev de 2019

I was disappointed with this course. It was unclear to whom it was intended because in parts it assumed a very limited knowledge of science yet quite a detailed understanding of mathematics, including Newton's method for finding roots, and Fourier series. In most of the sections I was left wanting to learn more. For example, in the module on consciousness, the key issue of how consciousness emerges from the coordinated activity of neurons wasn't touched on, yet there are several theories on how this might come about - I would have loved to have heard about these theories. Overall, I felt each of the modules was too short and too shallow. Perhaps if they were doubled in length then this might address the shortcomings that I experienced.

I also wasn't enamoured with the idea of peer-graded assignments, so I didn't attempt those. But what would have been useful would have been a discussion forum which is a feature of most Coursera courses.

por Abe N

12 de Jul de 2020

I give this course five stars, because it is truly marvelous, it opened my eyes to many new topics. I wish this course is more pluralistic in it's presentation. while I lived in the USA all of my adult life, I regret local cultural references and American parlance and colloquialism are abound. e.g. references to baseball, non-SI units, football, (incorrect URL slash references), verb "gonna" ...etc.

por Bernd S

12 de Mai de 2017

It's really a good course because it consists of not too big chunks of information, small enough to get a grip on. Great overview of many completely different fields of science where emergence plays a role. A deeper insight of especially how the brain creates these emergent phenomena would be interesting but of course it's off course ;-), because that would be whole different session.

por EVANGELIO , M K (

6 de Nov de 2020

The course is very informative! I love how the course taught me about a whole new perspective on how to look a things in life. The teachings can be applied not only to chemistry, but also to philosophy and day-to-day life as well. Thank you so much for giving me a new perspective in life! I hope others might also learn what I have just learned!

por Patrick C

18 de Jun de 2016

This class acted as an excellent overview of a wide variety of topics. The focus was on breadth rather than depth. I would have loved to go more in depth, but I think that is a limitation of the format and lack of mathematical prerequisites for the course. The professor interviews were some of the best material included!

por Mausam S

17 de Dez de 2020

This course has enriched my understanding in science. It has also encouraged me to do research in the field of Emergent Phenomena in future. Thanks to respected professors who made this possible.

por Laura C

16 de Set de 2019

There are very interesting items in this course. I recommend it if you are looking for a general but complete overview to the world of emergence and complex systems.

por José C E

8 de Jan de 2018

An excellent explanation of a daily growing matter of science and research. I encourage everyone interested in a groundbreaking view of science, to take this course.

por Ramprashanth V

8 de Mai de 2017

i enjoyed all the different modules. I recommend they add more explanation to the chaos game assignment.

por sandipan t

2 de Jul de 2017

It's a good course to get acquainted with first hand information about studies in emergent phenomena

por SvenYeh

11 de Out de 2019

Perfect course and I think we can learn more detail for each lessons. Thank you very much!

por Denis P

27 de Dez de 2020

Great course. Though I'm mathematician, I learned many new exciting things here!

por Rachel J

20 de Abr de 2021

I can read about this. But I'll give it 5 stars because they deliver it nicely.

por Giulia F M

18 de Mai de 2020

I just love to approach the mistery and the beaty of Emergent phenomena

por Adnan M

9 de Out de 2017

w

a

I

t

I

n

g

f

o

r

s

u

c

h

a

c

o

u

r

s

e

s

I

n

c

e

m

y

c

o

l

l

e

g

e

t

I

m

e

!

R

e

c

o

m

m

e

n

d

f

or

por John H

5 de Jan de 2019

Very good none technical introduction to emergent phenomena.

por Deleted A

7 de Jun de 2018

Excellent entry-level course on the subject.

por Philip H

13 de Nov de 2017

Great class and mentally stimulating.

por Niraj K N

30 de Abr de 2016

Provide more examples of Physics.

por Geo L

19 de Jul de 2016

Excelent course, I recomend it!

por Bart S

21 de Jun de 2016

outstanding, do it again!

por JOHN Q

21 de Fev de 2016

Nice Course. Thanks.

por Suman J

30 de Jun de 2019

Exceptional Course

por Nick

12 de Nov de 2021

outstanding