Chevron Left
Voltar para Electrodynamics: An Introduction

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Electrodynamics: An Introduction da instituição Instituto Avançado de Estudo de Ciência e Tecnologia da Coreia do Sul (KAIST)

4.7
estrelas
586 classificações

Sobre o curso

The depth and breadth of electromagnetism, the foundation for many fields including materials science, electrical engineering, and physical chemistry, requires a long, steep, and steady learning curve. This course aims to bridge the gap between the fundamental principles taught in electromagnetism and its practical application to specific fields such as materials, physics, and chemistry related to energy storage and harvesting. The goal of Electrodynamics: An Introduction is to not only teach electromagnetism but also introduce some mathematical tools which can be used to solve problems in the subject. Within these lecture notes, we review vector calculus and explain how to use fields to visualize the topics we cover. This course is dynamic, as the lectures continuously build on previous notes and a variety of explanations are presented for each solution. Since this is a lower level course, we will focus on the simple concept of electrostatics. This has applications in exploring intermolecular forces, and qualities of capacitors. Through this, we relate electromagnetism to more conventionally studied topics and its application to specific research topics related to energy storage and harvesting....

Melhores avaliações

RG

4 de mai de 2020

Well explained by professor. Easier to understand.

Thank you professor Hong for everything you have done to clearify my knowledge in this field.

TL

17 de mai de 2020

Very closely follows Feynman Lectures, but with some extra helpful intuition in talking through examples. Quizzes tested the main concepts well.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 116 Avaliações para o Electrodynamics: An Introduction

por 김재운

5 de mai de 2019

when you become interested in Electrodynamics and your major is not EE, then it will help you to understand what it is.

por Bhupendra b

24 de mai de 2020

It was my immense pleasure to be part of this insightful course. I found it quite profound. Thank you so much. Keep up the good job!

por Aj K R

7 de abr de 2020

The course has been very well designed and has right emphasis on basics. I'm extremely grateful to Professor Seungbum Hong for his painstaking effort. Longing to continue the next part of the course. Thanks Coursera.

por Gangi V

17 de abr de 2020

A reasonably good explanations and lectures seem a bit quite lengthy. But the course content and interaction is quite satisfying.

por Paul S P

15 de jul de 2019

Great course, great Professor, great assistant, very clear, well-paced. Ready for next course.

por Tejdeep G

24 de mai de 2020

It is a good beginners course, Dr.Seungbum Hong explains it in a detailed manner, Even if you don't understand a few points in the beginning , as you go through the course you will get the feel of what is happening. The examples practical examples that he gives and the way he connects it to the topic is great. Assignments are little too easy, not at all lengthy , If you listen to the lectures properly and go through the slides and make note of points , they wouldn't take even 5min to solve. Overall, My experience was pretty good and I learnt something new from the course.

por Haziq M K M

30 de ago de 2022

Fantastic course. The lectures are lucid and concise. The lecturers do a fantastic job of giving a deep intuition of the topic and the mathematics behind it. The course is based on The Feynmann Lectures. In the first week, they give a big picture view of Maxwell's Equations and they derive and apply it in the following weeks. The course contains a really nice section on Vector Calculus covering divergence, gradient, curl, laplacian, Stoke's and Gauss' theorems so only minimal experience with the subject is required

por Alireza A

9 de nov de 2021

It seems to me that the quality of explanation becomes lower on week 5 . Beside that , it was really helpful and clear and open minded to me .

por PIYUSH A

22 de jul de 2020

Exceptionally well deigned course to clear the basics of electromagnetism.

por Valér K

17 de jan de 2020

For me the ordering of the weeks made the course a bit more difficult: the fourth and the fifth week has many intuitive concepts which clarifies the mathematics of the second and third week. Apart from that the course is very fine it is rigorous, interesting but totally explains of the details of electrostatics.

por Manish K G

12 de abr de 2020

Good course for beginners with some mathematical background

por Buğra C

24 de fev de 2021

This was a really fun introduction to electrodynamics, it was quite engaging an had really good pacing. The question based approach and the less formal chats between the professor and the assistant made the subject a lot more digestible and interesting. I am excited to start the next course in the series already. Thank you to Professor Seungbum Hong and Melodie Glasser.

por Joel K

19 de dez de 2021

Excellent course. Good instruction through lecture videos and the provision of notes in PDF format. They did a great job covering the basics with in depth conceptual and mathematical explanations. Quizzes met my expectations for what a good quiz should be; making sure you understand the material covered in lecture, nothing less and nothing more than that.

por Rhys M

21 de nov de 2020

The explanations are very understandable. The illustrations are presented in such a way that listeners can clearly picture out what's happening. I am grateful to this course because I learned many new things, especially the physical meaning of the equations and how they describe charges, including that of Maxwell's.

por HARINI D

4 de jun de 2020

I learned Oscillating electrical charges result in electromagnetic waves. On a larger scale, electromagnetism is the creation of a magnetic field from the movement of electrical charges. It usually concerns the use of electric current to make electromagnets, which is called electrodynamics.

por Shashi K R R

29 de mar de 2020

I'm facing problem with English slang of Professor in some areas of his video lectures. Content slides are extraordinary and easy to understand the concepts. Assistant faculty was good. Assignments are not easy. This is a worthy course. Thank you.

por Arun A P

20 de out de 2019

Well organized and excellently taught! Little tough for the beginners but after some revision, could understand the topics and complete the course. Suggestion to create a course on "Ferroelectric and Piezoelectric Polymers"...

por Thomas L

18 de mai de 2020

Very closely follows Feynman Lectures, but with some extra helpful intuition in talking through examples. Quizzes tested the main concepts well.

por RAJESH P G

5 de mai de 2020

Well explained by professor. Easier to understand.

Thank you professor Hong for everything you have done to clearify my knowledge in this field.

por HyoungKyu K

7 de abr de 2019

It was very helpful lecture and knowledge from this lecture would be powerful tool to research my field.

Thank you very much professor!!!

por Dr. N P

25 de nov de 2020

Excellent lecture materials with more explanatory concepts. Thank you for your wonderful explanation about the fundamentals

por 김병준

19 de jul de 2021

Thank you for giving a great lecture about electrodynamics. The metaphors to understand the concepts were really helpful.

por Ellie D

13 de jan de 2021

Very good and clear lectures. It would be nice if there were explanations/worked solutions to the answers to the quizzes.

por Valaboju P 2

19 de nov de 2022

i really loved how they explained the topic in detail and having example figures was a plus point! I enjoyed it!