Chevron Left
Voltar para Electric Industry Operations and Markets

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Electric Industry Operations and Markets da instituição Universidade Duke

4.8
estrelas
591 classificações
151 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is a two week course. In the first week you will learn about the core activities that the Industry executes to bring electricity to customers. We will review what electricity is, how it is generated, how it is transmitted, how it comes into buildings, and how consumption of electricity instantly feeds back on the transmission and generation of electricity. You will learn to: Define what electricity is; Describe how electricity is generated, transmitted and distributed; Describe how electricity is generated, transmitted and distributed; and Summarize how the consumption of electric energy instantly feeds back on the transmission and generation of electricity. In the second week, the course shifts to the markets that drive Electric Industry operations. You will learn about the various costs of the electric industry’s core activities, how electricity is priced, the various ways that electric markets are structured, how these market structures determine which power plants are dispatched to produce electricity when, and how recent changes in generator fuel prices, generation technology, market regulations, and environmental regulations are transforming both Electric Industry Markets and Operations. You will learn to: Describe the main cost components to the electric system; Compare the costs of different types of power plants; Interpret the retail pricing of electricity; Explain the different types of electric markets and understand how they operate to dispatch electric supply to meet demand in real time; and Explain why and how the electric industry is regulated....

Melhores avaliações

DJ

Aug 11, 2020

Content was easy to follow and digest - it was a good refresher course for me as I've been in the industry for some time, but within the IT discipline. Learned some new things along the way too.

SL

May 06, 2020

Great course with a superb faculty. Learnt a lot about the industry and market regulations of electricity.\n\nWould really recommend this course to all who are interested in electric industry.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 150 Avaliações para o Electric Industry Operations and Markets

por Jesus J S G

Jul 24, 2020

Excellent Course and very good explanations from the Professor.

Perhaps as a suggestion some content and graphics could be updated, with more recent data, and perhaps some of the regulatory experiences in other countries can be incorporated, as a general culture.

However, the topics under discussion are totally valid and still in force today.

Thank you.

por Bayard B M

Aug 22, 2017

The course is a very good introduction to the Electricity sector, presenting both basics from technical and market aspects. As the industry is evolving quickly, it would be great to have modules on Demand Side Response, Battery Storage, and other new types of operation.

por Arnav G

Jul 19, 2019

Good overview, somewhat light on material but that's expected from a 2 week course. would appreciate a follow up delving into more details of the financial structure of utilities/other corporations in the energy space

por Nestor J C B

Jun 10, 2020

It is an excellent introduction to the operation of electricity markets that gives you an insight if you want to continue delving into this topic.

por Reshma M

Jun 21, 2020

It helped me understand how the market sees the electric industry. Helped me gain a large perspective. Good course

por Andrew W

Sep 28, 2019

Good introduction to Elec Ind. & Markets. Will give a good basic level understanding.

por Winston C

Apr 12, 2020

Pretty good - could have gone even more in-depth regarding technologies!

por Seungkyun H

Sep 24, 2018

good to know about basic concept and fundametals through this course

por Manjunath A S

May 21, 2020

It will help to enhance my technical knowledge..Thank u...

por Vishal j

Apr 12, 2020

Course is very helpful to beginners as well as experienced

por Anuj K

Aug 28, 2019

thanks, coursera for this beautigul course.

por REVANTH M C

May 11, 2020

very great course

por ANSHULI V

Jun 24, 2020

Nice course

por Ameena j

Sep 05, 2020

good couse

por POKALE K R

Jul 25, 2020

VERY GOOD

por KRISHAN G S

Sep 02, 2020

good

por Rashid I B

Aug 24, 2020

Good

por JOSE J V H

Feb 05, 2018

Knowing Duke´s prestige and being completely honest I was expecting something much more coprenhensive and didactic. Zero Effort law from the lecturer was another point, how is it possible that some corrective banners were needed to correct him!!?? Unpresendent in my Coursera experience.

por Aleena R

May 18, 2020

The course is more about US electric markets and industries and their regulations. It must be generic as we are not from US

por Steve D

Nov 27, 2017

Content was solid projects were terribly executed.

por Pathan S S

May 23, 2020

Nice

por vincent P p

Jul 07, 2020

This course needs major upgrades. I got degree/certificates from others well known universities like Centrale Paris, Stanford, Berkeley, Rice. But this course is not at level of a university.

The content is not complete missing foreign market which moved from government owned to public.

The content is not up-to-date, the data are at least 5 year old, they are old analysis on the changes to renewable (E.g. Texas has 20% renewable).

The content is not touching the future market with IoT technologies, MicroGrid solutions, Consumer become producer.

The content does not touch the current research like what the main topics of NREC.

The presentation is a poor melting pot of powerpoint took from others.

I was almost cancelled my purchase but I did not it give this feedback to help others.

por Jis N G

Aug 04, 2020

The instructor didn't respond to the questions on the discussion form. Moreover in the course videos, the instructor seems to be simply reading a pre-written prepared lecture; it is not spontaneous.

por Kaiquan M

Jul 15, 2020

boring, jump between concepts, no handouts

por Mohammad T I

May 06, 2020

not good