Chevron Left
Voltar para Electric Industry Operations and Markets

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Electric Industry Operations and Markets da instituição Universidade Duke

4.7
estrelas
653 classificações
171 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is a two week course. In the first week you will learn about the core activities that the Industry executes to bring electricity to customers. We will review what electricity is, how it is generated, how it is transmitted, how it comes into buildings, and how consumption of electricity instantly feeds back on the transmission and generation of electricity. You will learn to: Define what electricity is; Describe how electricity is generated, transmitted and distributed; Describe how electricity is generated, transmitted and distributed; and Summarize how the consumption of electric energy instantly feeds back on the transmission and generation of electricity. In the second week, the course shifts to the markets that drive Electric Industry operations. You will learn about the various costs of the electric industry’s core activities, how electricity is priced, the various ways that electric markets are structured, how these market structures determine which power plants are dispatched to produce electricity when, and how recent changes in generator fuel prices, generation technology, market regulations, and environmental regulations are transforming both Electric Industry Markets and Operations. You will learn to: Describe the main cost components to the electric system; Compare the costs of different types of power plants; Interpret the retail pricing of electricity; Explain the different types of electric markets and understand how they operate to dispatch electric supply to meet demand in real time; and Explain why and how the electric industry is regulated....

Melhores avaliações

DJ

Aug 11, 2020

Content was easy to follow and digest - it was a good refresher course for me as I've been in the industry for some time, but within the IT discipline. Learned some new things along the way too.

SL

May 06, 2020

Great course with a superb faculty. Learnt a lot about the industry and market regulations of electricity.\n\nWould really recommend this course to all who are interested in electric industry.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 169 Avaliações para o Electric Industry Operations and Markets

por Max K

Sep 24, 2020

Very informative, general introduction to the existing systems that keep our lights on; from generation, transmission, distribution, all the way to our homes and businesses. As a visual learner, the lectures could be improved by including bullet points that summarize Lincoln's word as he is presenting. Sometimes the verbiage is extensive and hard to translate into effective notetaking. Just my two cents... If you're interested in learning about this topic, take I would certainly recommend this course!

por Ketevan G

Sep 28, 2020

From my point of view, the course provides quite a good insight in energy field, specifically, markets and industry in general. One also can master the means of energy generation and understand the principle of power production, transmission and distribution, as well as, market.

I also should mention, that the lecturer Mr. Pratson has got a big knowledge and expertise of the field, as well as, faculty to convey them to the students.

Thank you!

por Rohit B

Jun 26, 2020

I am very grateful to Coursera and the team for providing this platform for learners. I have taken this course to know the basics of the Electric Industry operations and this helps me a lot to understand the working environment of the electric industry. Also, I would like to thank the instructor for his insightful teaching methodology. Very intuitive course. Thank you

por JOSE L E

May 31, 2020

Very well structured and explained, while it lacks dynamism by the lecturer; it's a good starting introduction to the industry and its complexity, oriented to beginners or as a refresh of basic concepts; the approach towards renewable energies and electrical mobility seems a bit outdated and not being given much of importance.

por mehmety

Jul 18, 2020

This course was very inspiring in terms of learning the basics of the electric industry and how utilities are functioning. It has provided me so many insights about the electricity markets and contributed highly to my professional life as an energy expert. Thank you Coursera for offering this course to the energy community.

por Aleksandr S

Jun 24, 2020

Many thanks to Duke University and Pr. Pratson! It was an interesting course which is aimed at broadening knowledge in the sphere of electric energy, all the companion processes and total situation at market within the country, reginal and local levels. The final project may be useful as an attachment to portfolio.

por Paula O

May 11, 2020

Even though its set to study the US electric Industry Operations and Markets, the course is made in a way that it explains general theory about them before going specifically to the States situation and it also starts from a very basic energy concepts explanation, so it helps to remember basics as well.

por Diego E P

Sep 23, 2020

The course helped me understand how electricity is generated and which parameters are taken in consideration for this activity. Really interesting and the material shown realy helps in understanding the concepts. Great course!

por Awab S E A

May 11, 2020

It is so important course for every body working in utility specially who works in operation or planning and also it is so helpful for any one want want to know about the electricity operation and markets.

por Daniel J

Aug 11, 2020

Content was easy to follow and digest - it was a good refresher course for me as I've been in the industry for some time, but within the IT discipline. Learned some new things along the way too.

por Russel G

Aug 18, 2020

The topics of the course are well presented and organized properly. The lecture videos and discussions are clear and easy to understand. The assessment tools are appropriate for the course.

por Haider R

Jun 29, 2020

This course was really good for understanding the electric industry. This course teaches you the whole process from the generation of electricity to the consumption of the consumer.

por Fernando A M M

Oct 09, 2020

This course walks you through the electrical sector in the US. The lecturer is very good at communicating his ideas and the materials and contents are great! 100% recommended !

por Neeney D

Sep 28, 2020

This is a great learning experience. Easy to follow online courses and quizzes that actually test your understanding of the course. Thank you for this opportunity.

por Bryan C

Sep 18, 2020

An easy to understand course that helps non electric professionals to understand the basis of the electric power systems in therms of markets and operations

por Stanislavov D

May 31, 2020

A very good course, which perfectly shows information on the sale and transmission of electricity, as well as the basic concepts in the field of electricity

por SANSKAR B

May 24, 2020

A very good course giving knowledge about the basics of electric industry and markets. It is very useful course in the field of electrical engineering.

por Álvaro T C

Aug 17, 2020

This course has helped me better understand the industry and its challenged, something helpful when speaking with my customers in that industry

por Rospopchuk M

May 31, 2020

Very interesting course. From this course I learned much more about companies which generate, transmission and distribution electro energy

por Mohammad A S

Jul 05, 2020

In this course, you will know about USA electric market. so, if you want to learn about USA electric market then this course is for you

por Stefan R

Sep 11, 2020

This course was very informative, useful and delicious :) Thank you for this opportunity to learn, understand and accomplish it.

por Ana G G V

Jul 20, 2020

Very complete course with excellent in-depth explanations and an engaging professor. I loved this course and I learned a lot.

por Richard G

Oct 01, 2020

A concise and easy to understand overview of the US electricity industry and the key components of generation and operations

por Mohamad R

Oct 22, 2020

it is a important course i advice whose major electrical engineer to take it and its really necessary in our domain.

por Willy L C

Oct 28, 2020

Excelente distribución y exposición de temática inherente al Curso. El Dr. Lincoln Pratson, muy buen Instructor.