Chevron Left
Voltar para Electric Utilities Fundamentals and Future

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Electric Utilities Fundamentals and Future da instituição Sistema de Universidades do ColoradoUniversidade do Colorado

4.7
estrelas
619 classificações
181 avaliações

Sobre o curso

THIS COURSE GIVES YOU THE INSIDE TRACK TO A COMPLICATED INDUSTRY. The approach of this course is truly unique in how it approaches and engages learners. It looks at the electric utility industry, which has remained critical to our quality of life, health and comfort from the eyes of numerous industry experts through on-location interviews, compelling visuals, and animation. You will benefit from having the inside track because you see some behind-the-scenes information not covered in news stories, social media or even if we are in the business ourselves. EACH WEEK YOU NOT ONLY LEARN WHAT IS CHANGING, BUT WHY. As this industry continues to unfold at an unprecedented pace, you will be armed with knowledge and insights to form informed opinions supporting decisions you will increasingly make for your energy-dependent homes and businesses. This course kicks off with animated crash course on industry history, highlighting aspects of the structure, governance, and technology that remain today, despite the passage of time. Then, throughout the modules, you will build some basics about how electricity gets to you, who watches over decisions, including setting rates. This information establishes a knowledge foundation so that when we explore some of the most critical topics, like renewable energy, smart grid, battery storage, and you can think about it from a much more analytical and critical viewpoint. YOU WILL DEVELOP A FRAMEWORK FOR MAKING SENSE OF THIS INDUSTRY THAT WILL BENEFIT YOU BEYOND THIS COURSE. This industry can get pretty complicated, and this course will help you make more sense of it. Electric Utilities Fundamentals and Future is the course for you whether you’re just curious about the industry or an industry veteran looking to grow – or, thinking about joining the industry. (Hint: now is a good time. You'll learn why in this course.) No prior education or experience required. You just need a healthy curiosity and an open mind to learn about an industry that I think a lot of us, including myself sometimes, take for granted....

Melhores avaliações

CR

26 de set de 2017

Great course for people who have no clue how utilities and microgrids work. Take this class if you're considering diving deeper into concepts like green energy, regulation and distributed generation.

JS

28 de out de 2021

Exceptionally informative for someone new to the Utility industry. Very engaging, especially for complex content. Melissa is excellent! Quiz material is fair. Videos are high production value.

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de 180 Avaliações para o Electric Utilities Fundamentals and Future

por G.RAM P

16 de jun de 2020

Good

por Amran T B

6 de jun de 2020

good

por Gadhave G G

20 de mai de 2020

nice

por Deleted A

17 de mai de 2020

Nice

por vanitha m

26 de nov de 2018

Good

por Aleksandrs P

31 de ago de 2017

The course gives a good overview of the industry and raises all main issues. Some things could be improved though. Quizzes could be somewhat tougher. They should focus more on understanding the covered material and avoid some basic factual questions. Non-graded assignments are very good for broadening your knowledge so should not be avoided. I'd recommend making them graded so that people don't skip them. I liked many interviews with industry experts very much.

por AnandSrinivasan

5 de jun de 2020

A great course to understand various aspects of the industry and the underlying problems with integrating evolving technology.

The modules are well-organized to facilitate learning for a beginner like me.

Interviews with the industry experts were really helpful.

The instructor did a good job explaining complex ideas/problems.

por Vincent d M

8 de out de 2019

I really liked the part focused on consumers habits, how the relationship of utilities to consumers are changing.

The course was maybe not challenging enough for my liking but still it is very well designed, offer a very good overview of how utilities operate in the US and what are the challenges they are facing today.

por Jeffrey J D

11 de mai de 2020

Material was clear and appropriately organized. The professor and guest speaker were insightful and came from a variety of backgrounds. My only criticism is that the course material was a bit dated which is important when discussion current regulatory environments. Thank You

por J P

4 de jul de 2018

The course topics were very useful. The instructor was clear, concise and enthusiastic about the subject matter. The only drawback is that the course is a few years old and some of the information is no longer current, especially where it relates to governmental policy.

por Rohit J

16 de jul de 2020

The course is great for an introduction to electric utilities. It is more focused on the electric utilities in the US and it might not be very relatable for students of other countries. I would have preferred some reading material along with the videos.

por shirisha k

26 de mai de 2020

It helpful in professional career. They explained clearly about electric utilities fundamentals and future. From this I learned a lot about electricity how to use and maintain to reduce monthly bills.

por Sourabh J

27 de ago de 2017

The course is good introductory course. I had expected more rigorous and in-depth discussion on regulatory aspects of electricity utilities and challenges due to integration of renewables.

por JOHN D L O J

4 de jun de 2017

it is important to work on most advanced material regarting smart grid technologies, rate structuring and markets policy,

por Sara R

1 de abr de 2018

Great lecturer and approach. I wish the course would go beyond the scope of American utilities and regulations.

por Rajashekhar S S

25 de set de 2020

It's more connected to US laws and regulations. It should have also focussed on other countries in general.

por Gautam S

16 de jun de 2019

This well structured and taught course is an excellent overview of the operation of electricity markets.

por Filipo M

15 de jun de 2017

It is an easy course. Was expecting more though. Maybe it was okay for the audience intended.

por Piyush K M

25 de mai de 2021

I would love to have a course on rates and rate categories.

por surendra k

9 de out de 2020

great course for students to learning electric utilities

por Manuraj V

27 de jun de 2020

Explanation was too good. It helped me a lot. Thank you.

por Harshal R C

1 de out de 2020

good for knowing the basics of utilities

por Sarella N

14 de mai de 2020

Good thank you

por K R

8 de mai de 2020

It's Amazing

por CHAVA S K

3 de mai de 2020

Very Good