Chevron Left
Voltar para Compreendendo Einstein: A Teoria Especial da Relatividade

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Compreendendo Einstein: A Teoria Especial da Relatividade da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.9
estrelas
2,514 classificações
876 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

Melhores avaliações

BH
22 de Jun de 2017

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

AP
11 de Ago de 2020

It was wonderful experience to know the special theory of relativity from Larry, who has presented the course in very simple way to understand. Thanks a lot to Larry for providing such a good session.

Filtrar por:

501 — 525 de 871 Avaliações para o Compreendendo Einstein: A Teoria Especial da Relatividade

por Bo S

10 de Set de 2020

Interesting with a historical perspective. Very engaging instructor. Good foundation for further studies.

por Marcos D

21 de Mai de 2020

Exceptionally planned and taught. Many thanks to the Professor and to Coursera for this rare opportunity.

por Chris W

21 de Abr de 2020

An excellent course. Paced well and with clear consistent methodology and terminology. Well presented.

por Devyansh K

23 de Mai de 2021

Amazing tutor, Great analogies to help understand, Great way of Teaching. All in all a wonderful course

por Thomas B

19 de Abr de 2021

Although much was review for me I enjoyed the lectures. The course was very well structured. Thank you!

por Paul T

7 de Jul de 2019

Thank you. I really enjoyed the course. Just the right mix of maths, theory and background information.

por alponte

5 de Mar de 2017

Very interesting and not so much difficult. The professor speak slowly and it's easy to undertsand him.

por D S M

5 de Ago de 2020

This course is really worth the time. And the professor is amazing.

He explains the course very nicely.

por martin s

7 de Abr de 2020

Wow. I think I now understand Special Relativity, maths and all. Very well taught course. Many thanks.

por Jose A A S

27 de Jun de 2021

Es uno de los mejores cursos que he pasado. Está muy bien estructurado y tiene un excelente profesor.

por Krista H

1 de Abr de 2020

So much fun and great lectures. Broken down in a great way for someone many years from math classes.

por Marcel l

16 de Fev de 2020

Bravo et merci à ce professeur qui a su expliquer clairement les concepts de la relativité restreinte

por Todd B

20 de Ago de 2017

Excellent course. Enjoyed lectures and examples presented that truly helped me understand the topic.

por Omesh S

11 de Fev de 2017

Course was well organised and with mostly qualitative discussions. This course is apt for beginners.

por Taran R

13 de Mai de 2018

Very thorough and incredibly well-explained. I would love a GR course taught by the same professor!

por Prasanna K R G

25 de Abr de 2017

Very well thought syllabus and the professor really taught it well. The handouts are simply awesome

por Miguel Á G M

11 de Jan de 2021

I learnt a lot with this course and this motived me to continue study the theory of the relativity

por taswin

29 de Ago de 2020

Very good for understanding the basics of special relativity and learning some scientific history.

por Dennis B

19 de Jun de 2020

Excellent,Detailed,Interesting ,Testing with Problems c/w solutions reinforced learning experience

por Scala D

14 de Mai de 2020

Excellent! Clearly explained, good pace, not too fast, nor too slow. A lot of examples! very good!

por Johnny M

31 de Mar de 2020

My struggle to understand was a wonderful experience. Inspired to keep learning. Thank you, Larry!

por PUNEET

16 de Out de 2018

really interesting, you get to know about many universe facts, it is like a science fiction movie.

por Shreyanshu J

20 de Set de 2021

I enjoyed this course alot , helped me revise a topics and increased my critical thinking ability

por JIHONG Z

2 de Ago de 2020

Delicately designed course, the joy of learning has motivated to explore more courses on physics.

por Atheek A

19 de Jun de 2020

Impressive course!

A more in-depth experience may have been more interesting!

Thank you very much!