Chevron Left
Voltar para Compreendendo Einstein: A Teoria Especial da Relatividade

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Compreendendo Einstein: A Teoria Especial da Relatividade da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.9
estrelas
1,649 classificações
519 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

Melhores avaliações

BH

Jun 23, 2017

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

JJ

Mar 22, 2020

Thanks for helping me understand the Special Theory of Relativity, covered a lot of ground but repeated it so it really could sink in. Like your style and want to thank you for your assistance. Thanks

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Compreendendo Einstein: A Teoria Especial da Relatividade

por chhatrapati s

Feb 27, 2017

it is one of the most hard and confusing topic on the physic . But the professor makes us very clear about the ideas of the relativity around the world

I recommend everyone to know about relativity once .

por John

Mar 22, 2020

Thanks for helping me understand the Special Theory of Relativity, covered a lot of ground but repeated it so it really could sink in. Like your style and want to thank you for your assistance. Thanks

por oscar A

Sep 09, 2018

Excellent course and teacher; it helped me expand and put together previous scattered knowledge I had on this topic. It has motivated me to continue my learning on astrophysics and music with Coursera.

por Benny H

Jun 23, 2017

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

por Nitesh B S

Nov 19, 2016

The teacher was very good and made it easier to understand some of the more difficult topics.The course was very interesting and gave me a very good insight into Einsteins special theory of relativity.

por NAFISHA P

Aug 25, 2019

Thank you sir to give me such a valuable knowledge . Your way of explanation is fabulous I can't define it in words I learned lots of new thing from you and thanks for providing the book link.....😊

por Julie B

Sep 18, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to do this. The knowledge I have gained is something that I will treasure and will propel me to keep studying and trying to understand our wonderful universe.

por John K

Apr 02, 2017

I enjoyed this course very much. Professor Larry Randles Lagerstrom made a difficult subject easy to understand. Especially for a fellow who at 85 has forgotten a lot of what he learned in college.

por Chirag G

Mar 11, 2020

This course is really wonderful. You will get some basic ideas related to Einstein's theories. If you are keen to know about Einstein, it's going to be your perfect start. Really excellent course.

por 方冠华

Aug 20, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. Very concise, clear yet teaches a lot of mind-challenging concepts. I am so happy that I clicked the bottom to register this course. Also, big thank to the professor.

por Robert C C

May 22, 2018

Excellent course. The instructor did a wonderful job, using a white board and simple props. He made it interesting and made these complex principles understandable. I enjoyed the experience.

por Sidharth G

Mar 17, 2018

It was a good introductory course for the special theory of relativity. But being from an engineering background i wished it was a bit more quantitative but an excellent course nonetheless.

por Samiha T

Dec 25, 2017

This course was truly amazing and everything here was taught in a way that students can easily understand. I earnestly request Larry, sir to compile a course on general theory of relativity

por Jose D

May 25, 2018

Outstanding course, by far the best MOOC available. I really enjoyed listening to prof. Lagerstrom lectures and his clear explanations of a subject which is not so obvious to understand.

por Güneş E

Oct 16, 2017

Easily one of the most informative courses of my life. Of course the information given was not new, but the details and L. R. Lagerstrom were really cool. I get what I expected and more/

por Fabio D

Jun 25, 2017

Great course!

Thanks to Professor Lagerstrom for his patient and clear way of teaching and explaining things. Looking forward for a course on General Theory of Relativity tought buy him.

por Arpan M

Oct 21, 2017

Extremely good course, which not only teaches the basic fundamentals of Einstein and his theories. But the biggest takeaway of the course is that it develops a scientific temperament.

por Tumul K

Jun 11, 2017

This is one of the best online courses one can find online. The explanations were illustrative and detailed but not to the extent of making one bored. It was a fun, exciting journey.

por Javal S

Oct 19, 2017

It was very helpful.language used was simple . Professor Larry provided with wonderful deep insights. A truly enriching experience . Helped me a lot as an undergrad physics student.

por Ayron D

Mar 22, 2017

I really enjoyed learning about how light and frames of reference can affect time and length, and what consequences these results have. It was a well outlined and explained course.

por Marius A

Jun 26, 2017

Very well put together course, recommended to everyone who want to understand the basic relativistic concepts. Thank you professor L. R. Lagerstrom for doing such a wonderful job.

por Norberto G R M

May 28, 2017

Thank you for your effort and the clarity with which you explain these topics that help us understand a great theory and the life of a genius scientist, Einstein.

Gabriel Reynoso

por Robert B D

Oct 03, 2017

An excellent courses with all material presented in a very thoughtful and systematic way. Practice problem sets are a very important addition to the course material. Well done!!!

por Peter B

Sep 22, 2017

Larry Lagerstrom did an outstanding job in presenting much counter-intuitive material. The course flowed nicely and I feel that I have a reasonable grasp of Special Relativity.

por Mohammad A

Sep 20, 2018

This course is really made me understand the Special Theory of Relativity, does not matter if your physic level is not that much good, with this course you only need so basics.