Chevron Left
Voltar para Effective Programming in Scala

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Effective Programming in Scala da instituição Escola Politécnica Federal de Lausana

4.7
estrelas
100 classificações

Sobre o curso

Scala is an expressive, versatile, and safe programming language. In this course, you will learn how to get the most out of Scala to solve common programming tasks such as modeling business domains, breaking down complex problems into simpler problems, manipulating data, or running parallel tasks. Along the journey, you will also learn the best practices for writing high-quality code that scales to large applications, how to handle errors, how to write tests, and how to leverage a productive development environment. This comprehensive, hands-on, course aims at leveling up your programming skills by embracing both functional programming and object-oriented programming. You will become familiar with the standard library and the common patterns of code used in the real world. Each week contains about 1h30 of video lectures. Each lecture is a ~10 min video focused on a specific skill or concept. We always start by looking at concrete problems, and then explain how language features or libraries make you more productive to solve these problems in general. Lectures are generally followed by a quiz to assess your progress. At the end of each week, a graded assignment inspired by real-world applications will give you an opportunity to put things in practice. The course covers Scala 3, and it mentions the differences with Scala 2....

Melhores avaliações

BA

15 de fev de 2022

Wow, I would've never thought that I could finish it, but I did, yay! The assignments are challenging but totally worth it. I think I lost some hairs in the process :)

RK

15 de jun de 2021

Excellent course, I really enjoyed it! With not a lot of practical experience with FP (yet) it was a bit of challenge at times. But the forum and support was helpful.

Filtrar por:

26 — 36 de 36 Avaliações para o Effective Programming in Scala

por Peter S

26 de mai de 2022

a nice course, short and sweet

por Adianto W

28 de mai de 2021

Nice guided tour to scala 3.

por Hyeonsoo L

17 de jun de 2021

Fun and helpful materials

por Grisha P

30 de abr de 2022

Суперовий курс!!!

por Eder R

23 de jun de 2022

g​reat course!

por Hieu N V

25 de ago de 2021

good course

por Leo U

23 de nov de 2021

M​y goal taking the course was to get acquainted with Scala 3. The course is good in covering most of the new features but I feel this is not a beginers course. Some of the assignments are quite challenging which may discourage people from completing the course.

T​he lectures are generally short and, in my opinion, could spend additional time with examples that are worked out during the lecture to solidify the student's understanding the material which might be more helpful to tackle the assignments.

T​he discussion forums generally prove to be quite helpful, thanks to the staff and other learners.

T​hanks Coursera for putting together this course, I look forward to additional Scala 3 classes.

por Hartwig T

24 de jun de 2022

For me the assignments projects are ressources of good programming. But to understand the provided source code took me some time and only with the stuff learned in this course it is very hard.

Sometimes it is a bit challenging to fill in the blanks but after some time of thinking how to combine the provided functions it was clear. Often when I got to return the correct type also the tests were correct (follow the types).

por FabianH

13 de mai de 2022

S​tarts pretty easy and ends quite hard. I liked the approach where I had to complete code of example projects but I wish more time were spent on basics.

por José d J G R

30 de out de 2021

Great course. Some of the assignments are really difficult, not suited for beginners.

por Artur

27 de fev de 2022

I would not reccomend that course for beginners. I find this really hard, I had to give u after week 4. And I am not a beginner. Critical moment - when I have discovered, that every test check method I have problem with. I realized, that I will have 100% or 0%, I do not find this fair if I did rest of exercises. I come back to "classic" specialization with Scala2.