Chevron Left
Voltar para Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation da instituição Museu Americano de História NaturalMuseu Americano de História Natural

4.8
estrelas
1,002 classificações
279 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course is an introduction to ecology and ecosystem dynamics using a systems thinking lens. Through a case study on Mozambique's Gorongosa National Park, learners will explore how scientists study ecosystems, and investigate the complex array of factors that inform management efforts. At the end of the course, learners will be able to grapple with real-world conservation questions, such as whether an ecosystem can recover from anthropogenic disruption and what role humans can, and should, play in that recovery....

Melhores avaliações

AJ

Jun 02, 2019

This was particularly in-depth on the sciences of ecology, and having it based around a particular conservation project made it easier to follow each progressive lecture and concept that was explored.

LB

Apr 17, 2020

A great summary of the challenges being faced in the conservation science community at the moment. From an Environmental Science background it was great to learn about new case studies.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation

por Adewale O A

May 14, 2020

Being my first online course endeavor, I was surprised by how much I can learn in the short space of time with much available resources at my disposal. It was a great and unique experience as the course has honed my skills in becoming a conservationist.

por Isak W

Aug 16, 2018

Overall very informative and accessible, and while it does give a good broader picture it also manages to pinpoint down and focus on those select things that really deserve a bit more of attention. Definitely a course I enjoyed and learned a lot from.

por Nguyen N Y N

May 31, 2020

The lectures and readings are very informative and comprehensible for a high school student like me! To be honest, I feel much more knowledgeable after taking this course. I think I've found what I want to do in life thanks to the course. Thank you!

por Susan W

Jul 12, 2019

I really enjoyed learning about ecology through the lens of the Gorongosa National Park. The information presented was interesting and engaging. I am very interested in following on with other subjects on Ecology in the near future. Thanks

por Utku K

Oct 24, 2018

As a business management student, this course give me very wide detailed view about ecosystem dynamics and conservation. It was like 101 course for me and help to understand different patterns and processes in the field of ecosystem research.

por Jessica J

Aug 06, 2018

An excellent course that covers a diverse array of topics, has engaging lectures and reading materials, and does an excellent job of emphasizing why conserving biodiversity is something every human should be concerned about and involved in.

por Brian P N

Apr 30, 2020

Was wonderful, and succinct, covering a good amount of the principles and even some methods involved in the science of Ecology. All the personalities were adept at presenting the information, and the papers by the course creators are 100%.

por Gustavo C C

May 16, 2020

I learned new ways to see ecology, not only focus on the "biological" part but also consider ourselves part of these complex systems called ecosystems. Managing resources in a sustainable way is the best way to take care of the planet.

por WILLIAM K S

May 11, 2020

This course has been an interesting one and made me look at the current conservation issues from a different perspective. The teachers were amazing and their notes were simple and had much clarity. I have learnt a lot these past weeks.

por Vengatachala M A

May 30, 2020

One of the best online course I have done, The course content is very informative and presented in an interesting way. I personally thank the course coordinators for their great effort to bring this wonderful course on this platform.

por Felipe O S

Apr 30, 2020

Es un curso bastante interesante,es muy dinámico es excelente, es una experiencia única. Considero que todos deberían tomar un curso de este tipo, ya que nos permite comprender el impacto que tiene cada organismo en un ecosistema.

por Raúl A B G

May 01, 2020

In my humble opinion, It was an amazing course that I totally recommend and I loved it, I never was able to approach to this topic at my university time as I did on this course. I will apply all this knowledge in future projects.

por Autumn W

Jun 14, 2018

Absolutely fantastic course! Pertinent material, great evidence, plethora of additional readings for those who want to get more than just a grade out of the course, and lots of talent offering their expertise. Highly recommend.

por Niteesh E

Jun 03, 2018

This course was a really nice introduction to understanding natural ecosystems and systems thinking around it. This has inspired me to learn more about the field of Conservation Biology. Thank you to the curators of the course!

por SANGEETA D

May 04, 2020

Very interesting combination of Lectures, Presentations, explanations with empirical evidences and case studies made the course very commendable. I loved it thoroughly. By Sangeeta Das, Assam Don Bosco University, Assam, India

por Mikhail N

Apr 06, 2020

Extremely well thought out and well explained topics. Rather than teaching us what to think about, they teach us how to think in different situations, giving people a new and innovative approach to ecology and conservation

por Anindita S

Jul 07, 2019

Great Course if you're wanting to get started with understanding the field of ecology and conservation. Tackles the important aspects and ideas in the subject and helps bring them forward through examples and case studies.

por Eric A

May 29, 2020

Very well structured, insightful and eye opening. Highly appreciated the different paradigms of conservation explored in this course, it truly illustrated the complexity and need for interdisciplinary measures in ecology.

por Ashutosh B

May 16, 2020

It was a course that took me to the very soul of ecology. Quite enthralling, I would like to compare it with a Green casket full of natural treasures and mystery for everyone. Thank you!

Beginners must go for this course!

por Anna R

Aug 26, 2019

Very interesting course, suitable for those new to the field of ecology. Yet, the examples and variety of lectures provided an in-depth and contextualized understanding of ecosystem dynamics with regards to conservation.

por SALEEM K

Nov 27, 2019

I really enjoyed the course, I came to know how environmental scientists research landscapes to find out the interdependence of biotic and abiotic factors, how one side changes the other and cause undesirable results..

por Robben W W

Jun 14, 2018

Species Differentiation of Predator and Prey, which can relate to Niches of Oceanic and Migrating Life may also help benefit us if we leave the responsibility of environment to other species that are not endangered.

por Emily G

May 24, 2020

Fantastic course! Easy to follow and the information is super interesting and neat to learn about. This course is great for anyone, whether you've never taken ecology before or you have pre-existing knowledge.

por Olga l G c

May 15, 2020

Excelente por la oportunidad de certificarme con el apoyo de la institución¡

Los conceptos del curso fueron claros y precisos, permitieron ampliar mis conocimientos Y aplicarlos a mi vida profesional.

Gracias¡¡¡

por Charne G

May 08, 2020

As an Ecologist this course has strengthen my knowledge and application of ecology. Really good module to get people interested in ecology and receive a good introduction in term of background and application.