Chevron Left
Voltar para Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution da instituição Universidade de AlbertaUniversidade de Alberta

4.8
estrelas
1,041 classificações

Sobre o curso

Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution is a four-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the origin of vertebrates. Students will explore the diversity of Palaeozoic lineages within a phylogenetic and evolutionary framework. This course examines the evolution of major vertebrate novelties including the origin of fins, jaws, and tetrapod limbs. Students also explore key Canadian fossil localities, including the Burgess Shale (British Columbia), Miguasha (Quebec), and Man On The Hill (Northwest Territories). Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-vertebrate-evolution...

Melhores avaliações

TO

20 de jun de 2016

WOW, I learned a lot form this and it was fairly educational but not overwhelming or difficult. This instructor really gets the points across without being to easy or hard. A very good class.

JC

2 de mar de 2018

Celebrate your inner fish as you swim along with this awesome course charting our earliest ancestors. Very well constructed and delivered once again by the team at the University of Alberta.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 288 Avaliações para o Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution

por Rebekah H

16 de mar de 2022

This was a fun and educational little dive into early vertebrate evolution. It's not too indepth and technical so anyone without a background in paleontology can still understand and follow along pretty easily but it covers a lot of information and is well delivered. I'd recommend it for anyone who wants to casually learn about the origins of our skeletal system.

por Josefina M O

9 de out de 2020

I paid fot the certificate but I didn´t receive it.

RECIBO

Coursera Inc.

381 E. Evelyn Avenue

Mountain View, CA 94041 USA

02-04-2020

Número de pedido: 32313458

Detalles del Producto Precio Cantidad

Course Certificate for Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution MXN 851.00 1

por Ren L

29 de abr de 2020

Been out of college a few years and was a great review of basic terminology. The drawings (background and throughout) were a great visual aid. Just when it started to get interesting- the class is over. Will be looking at the other offerings from Alberta in the future.

por Skye L G

10 de out de 2019

I found this course to be a bit more difficult than Dino 101, but I learned a great deal. Studying these creatures makes the dinosaurs seem like the modern newcomers they really were. This course takes you WAAAAY back in time. Very enlightening; I highly recommend it.

por Daniel M

5 de fev de 2022

It was an amazing course! Short and bitesized, it was enjoyable and fascinating, with information that would be difficult to understand without these videos. It does require some pre-existing knowledge - for example geological timescale - before taking this course.

por Ghulam M

29 de abr de 2020

This is one of the best courses for the geologists who want to get knowledge about the evolution of Early Vertebrates. The instructor's way of teaching is really great. Thanks to the Instructor and the University of Alberta for providing such a valuable course.

por Don M

20 de mai de 2016

I originally took Dino 101 as a U of A MOOC and found it very worthwhile -- and challenging. Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution was equally interesting and challenging. As the opportunity presents itself, I will explore taking other MOOCs in Paleontology.

por Brietta D

22 de nov de 2019

Awesome course! I love paleontology and was very excited to find a practical course! It was a great course for my level, easy to understand but not tedious with explanation. you can tell the teacher loves this field. I would love a continuation of this course!

por Nilanjan C

9 de jun de 2020

It was a really fascinating journey just a suggestion can their be a more diagrammatic way of representing the bone structures then it will be really helpful. Otherwise loved the course and learnt a lot about the first evolutionary steps. Thank you.

por Thian Q Z

23 de out de 2020

I have learnt so much from this course as it is very comprehensive and well-organised with great visualization. I definitely recommend this course to students who have an interest in paleontology, even to those who are new to this field.

por Kati U

5 de jul de 2020

This course has only deepened my love for Paleontology! The instructor was awesome, kept me focused with his energy, and moved at a realistic [speaking] pace. I have nothing negative to say, and I can't wait to move on to another course!

por Emily C

2 de abr de 2020

Really enjoyed the course, learned a lot about vertebrate evolution. As an example, the purpose of the notochord makes so much more sense now, rather than as an evolutionary remnant as it's so often presented in embryology texts/classes.

por Sathvik

27 de ago de 2020

The course was really wonderful and the concepts that were explained were amazing. The only problem was that the subtitles don't usually match up with that of the voiceover. A job well done in other aspects. thank you sir, and the crew.

por Arion N C

27 de jun de 2020

One of the best ways to understand early vertebrate evolution that was seldom talk about. If you need an introduction to Paleozoic vertebrate and how their evolution would affect reflect on us, this is the best course online for you.

por Jamie F

8 de out de 2021

Incredible amount of information provided in this course. The instructor's personality and attitude are infectious, making me want to learn more. Excellent course for anyone wanting to learn about the our evolution through time.

por Afreen P S

27 de set de 2020

It was a good experience to get to know about how the first forms of life originated to later form the present vertebrates. It was exciting just as much as the previous MOOC presented by the University of Alberta. Thank you guys!

por Aneirin C P

19 de out de 2019

I absolutely loved this course. I took it to deepen my knowledge of paleontology because it is part of my job in the museum I work in, but it made me want to learn more about aspects of paleontology that I have not yet explored.

por jonathan f

1 de mai de 2016

This class was very interesting and explained things clearly. I already had a bit of knowledge about this subject but this course taught me new things and connected the things I already knew to these new thoughts. Thank you!

por Eliina U

22 de nov de 2020

A very energetic host, good graphics, great for a layperson who's into paleontology as a hobby and wants to know more about the details of a particular era. Very informative on paleozoic american fossil sites. Thank you!

por Maya

11 de mar de 2021

Really engaging course, perfect for anyone with little spare time, very flexible. i managed to follow completely with no background in paleontology (I'm in high school) and feel like i have learned a lot. Thanks!

por Иво Д ( D

28 de abr de 2019

Great course! Explained with simple words which is great for people from other countries. The illustrations were awesome and the professor is very positive. Thank you for your amazing work! Salute from Bulgaria!

por Victoria S

2 de ago de 2020

Really enjoyed this course. The presenter in the videos was great at being both engaging but not taking away from the information being presented. The visuals were relevant but not distracting. I learned a lot.

por Carol B

24 de jun de 2017

Excellent videos, clear evidence of evolution and why certain adaptations were advantageous. Notes are very high quality and the pacing of material and interactive questions keep you engaged from week to week.

por Will G

18 de fev de 2017

A very enjoyable course. Fantastic for those who want to learn about early vertebrates, particularlly those thar gave rise to tetrapods. While a small amount of biological and geological knowledge is useful, s

por Glenn P

18 de abr de 2016

Enjoyed the class, only part that was bad is I couldn't do any of the quizzes. I can't afford the cost. Other then that the class was very informative and I found it very entertaining as well. Thank you.