Chevron Left
Voltar para Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution da instituição Universidade de AlbertaUniversidade de Alberta

4.8
estrelas
1,040 classificações

Sobre o curso

Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution is a four-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the origin of vertebrates. Students will explore the diversity of Palaeozoic lineages within a phylogenetic and evolutionary framework. This course examines the evolution of major vertebrate novelties including the origin of fins, jaws, and tetrapod limbs. Students also explore key Canadian fossil localities, including the Burgess Shale (British Columbia), Miguasha (Quebec), and Man On The Hill (Northwest Territories). Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-vertebrate-evolution...

Melhores avaliações

TO

20 de jun de 2016

WOW, I learned a lot form this and it was fairly educational but not overwhelming or difficult. This instructor really gets the points across without being to easy or hard. A very good class.

JC

2 de mar de 2018

Celebrate your inner fish as you swim along with this awesome course charting our earliest ancestors. Very well constructed and delivered once again by the team at the University of Alberta.

Filtrar por:

276 — 288 de 288 Avaliações para o Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution

por Kathryn M

22 de mar de 2021

Awesome information, easy to follow readings and videos.

por BONNAUDET-DESMARS

28 de mar de 2020

Very interesting lesson , congratulation!

por Richard K

17 de mai de 2017

Well organized and excellent presenter.

por Francine

27 de mai de 2016

Very interesting and entertaining!

por Vanessa V

12 de abr de 2022

I​nteresting, learned a lot.

por K.Suriya R

15 de mai de 2020

Excellent Course...Loved it

por サフイア ワ

20 de set de 2017

très bien expliqué

por Virginia L

14 de mar de 2022

g​enial

por Daniel D J

4 de dez de 2019

t

por Sachin R

22 de jul de 2017

This is a very informative course, but the information is extremely complicated. I had to go over the notes several times.

por Kent R C

24 de abr de 2018

Interesting, but assessments are too easy.

por Richard H

12 de ago de 2017

Three stars seems too much, two stars too few.

First and foremost, I couldn't stand the lecturer. The course description says "Taught by: Alison Murray, Ph.D, Associate Professor" but she never so much as appears on camera. Instead the material is delivered by some graduate student dressed up in what I would have assumed was a cartoonist's stereotype of paleontological field gear, and he has the most annoying, grating presentation style I've ever seen. I ended up covering his half of the screen with another window just to not have to watch him. Still had to listen to him though, delivering a script which I infer was written by Murray and other faculty. (I signed up for Ancient Marine Reptiles allegedly taught by Michael Caldwell and Halle P. Street — and in reality it was the same grad student. Same outfit. I said "oh no" and didn't continue. Couldn't take four more weeks of that guy.) Come on, how about courses taught by actual faculty members? Like The Science of the Solar System, taught by the engaging and accomplished Prof. Mike Brown, discoverer of Eris?

The material is largely "here's a Latin name of a family, here's a Latin name of a member of that family, here are some of its physiological characteristics (more unfamiliar vocabulary) — lather, rinse, repeat." Forget about passing the quizzes if you can't remember which Latin species name goes with which characteristics. I felt there was too much emphasis on individual species and not enough on overall concepts. I didn't feel I came away with a real understanding of what happened and why it happened in early vertebrate evolution... some of that was there, but it wasn't clear enough, obscured as it was by emphasis on vocabulary and rote description.

por Alma D

2 de abr de 2016

A jurassic park image, with material you can read by yourself?