Chevron Left
Voltar para Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution da instituição Universidade de AlbertaUniversidade de Alberta

4.8
estrelas
1,042 classificações

Sobre o curso

Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution is a four-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the origin of vertebrates. Students will explore the diversity of Palaeozoic lineages within a phylogenetic and evolutionary framework. This course examines the evolution of major vertebrate novelties including the origin of fins, jaws, and tetrapod limbs. Students also explore key Canadian fossil localities, including the Burgess Shale (British Columbia), Miguasha (Quebec), and Man On The Hill (Northwest Territories). Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-vertebrate-evolution...

Melhores avaliações

TO

20 de jun de 2016

WOW, I learned a lot form this and it was fairly educational but not overwhelming or difficult. This instructor really gets the points across without being to easy or hard. A very good class.

JC

2 de mar de 2018

Celebrate your inner fish as you swim along with this awesome course charting our earliest ancestors. Very well constructed and delivered once again by the team at the University of Alberta.

Filtrar por:

251 — 275 de 289 Avaliações para o Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution

por Michelle J

18 de ago de 2022

I have a deep (no pun intended) interest in paleontology because of living here in Alberta. In this course, I was introduced to several other interesting areas in Canada that draw me to continue to study this. It was interesting and informative. I wish however, that the notes contained more drawings or references because I was unable to play the videos which I suspect had additional visual learning tools.

por Francisco L A B

3 de ago de 2020

The course is very well structured, and the drawings are fantastic to help the people visualise the different vertebrates that lived once on the planet. However, I found that it would be more dynamic for the course to have short animations of those fishes while the subject is being explained in the background. I guess it would catch more the viewer's attention throughout the course.

por Daniëlle v d B

3 de mai de 2020

A great way of getting me more familiar with palaeontology. With a background in biology, I had already a basic understanding of phylogeny but in this course, that was quickly explained and then moved onto other things that perfectly fitted my level of learning. I learned a lot and loved all the examples of different genera and different types of fish and early tetrapods.

por Zoltán V

10 de out de 2016

The professor could have been a bit more serious, he acted as if he was a kindergarden teacher. Seriously: do you really need to imitate with your hand how a fish swims? I don't think so.

Also, the pronounciation of the latin words was horrible - then again, all native English speakers have problems with it, so don't take this remark personally.

por Om M V

26 de ago de 2020

A very detailed, comprehensive course for those interested in Vertebrate Evolution and have no background in Palaeontology. I thoroughly enjoyed the journey. My sincere thanks to the University of Alberta and all its faculties involved with this course. I hope to see many more such courses on Coursera!

por Alexis P

11 de abr de 2016

Very interesting and compelling course, and I liked the questions every few minutes during the lectures as that helps me to retain information.

My only complaint is that the lecturer's manner of speaking is very rhythmic and repetitive and that makes it kind of hard to lose track of his words.

por Charles R B

19 de jun de 2017

Very fast short course, which does not go into much detail. Once again, the quiz questions are far too few to make a comprehensive test of knowledge. Save your $ for an actual full-on rated University credit course, with 30 hrs of lecture and 60 hours of homework/study/lab work.

por Paul A K

4 de set de 2020

All the anatomical details of early fishes got a bit too dense for me to fully absorb but I enjoyed learning about this crucial period of tetrepod evolution. There were certainly some strange looking creatures in the early seas.

por Karthy S

27 de jun de 2016

I have learned so much from this course, thanks to Coursera and University of Alberta. This course is highly recommended for students with a passion for Evolution and Phylogeny. The handouts are also very useful.

por Henry F G

15 de out de 2017

I believe the course should have been six weeks long instead of four. I enjoyed the course, however should have contained more detail and the quizzes should have had more questions, at least ten.

por Lloyd V C

24 de fev de 2020

Overall very interesting course and videos. It would be nice to have a page at the end of the course showing the evolution of each fish discussed (along with features and timeline).

por Richard K

21 de jul de 2019

Pretty in tense but the quizzes are pretty straightforward and the course goes pretty quickly. The diagrams helped. My first stab at real paleontology and it was a good intro.

por Maria M

30 de jul de 2017

I found the material and the lessons very useful and clear,. I have deduced one star, because I found it a bit difficult to assimilate so much information in such short time.

por Peter G

6 de fev de 2017

The presenter is world class, and I really enjoyed the interactive maps. The quizzes should be a bit more challenging though - perhaps learn how to identify a few fossils,

por Kate K

9 de fev de 2017

Difficult subject to get your head around but ultimately worth the effort. The teaching, as always with the University of Alberta's MOOCs, is second to none.

por Arash R

15 de nov de 2018

A great course with useful and complete information. The only negative point is that there were not enough assignments for practicing and remembering.

por Mahendra A

23 de ago de 2020

This course is very informative to students as will as teaching profession, we learn basic concept about early vertebrates

por Cameron M

17 de mai de 2020

Interesting content and informative lectures. Wish the course was longer and more in depth on certain subjects.

por Zenab b

10 de mai de 2020

i really enjoyed it aloot and learn alooot of new knowledge about early vertebrates....thumbs up...

por (25) B Y

5 de jul de 2021

It was little hard to keep the names of all the strange named livings. Also the quizzes were hard.

por Vivek S

5 de jun de 2020

Nice Course on Early Vertebrate Evolution. The interactive sections of the course were Amazing.

por john p

3 de mar de 2018

Definitely an appetiser for the subject although the names and terminology are a challenge.

por pamela h

22 de out de 2019

enjoyed the course very much, lots of good information in manageable pieces.

por Adam M

3 de mai de 2016

i like this. this is good. good can be fun. fun has rewards...yay, i win

por Clotilde D

28 de set de 2019

Very interesting course and concepts clearly explained, thanks !