Chevron Left
Voltar para Conceitos, design e integração de dados em data warehouses

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Conceitos, design e integração de dados em data warehouses da instituição Sistema de Universidades do ColoradoUniversidade do Colorado

4.4
estrelas
967 classificações
195 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is the second course in the Data Warehousing for Business Intelligence specialization. Ideally, the courses should be taken in sequence. In this course, you will learn exciting concepts and skills for designing data warehouses and creating data integration workflows. These are fundamental skills for data warehouse developers and administrators. You will have hands-on experience for data warehouse design and use open source products for manipulating pivot tables and creating data integration workflows. In the data integration assignment, you can use either Oracle, MySQL, or PostgreSQL databases. You will also gain conceptual background about maturity models, architectures, multidimensional models, and management practices, providing an organizational perspective about data warehouse development. If you are currently a business or information technology professional and want to become a data warehouse designer or administrator, this course will give you the knowledge and skills to do that. By the end of the course, you will have the design experience, software background, and organizational context that prepares you to succeed with data warehouse development projects. In this course, you will create data warehouse designs and data integration workflows that satisfy the business intelligence needs of organizations. When you’re done with this course, you’ll be able to: * Evaluate an organization for data warehouse maturity and business architecture alignment; * Create a data warehouse design and reflect on alternative design methodologies and design goals; * Create data integration workflows using prominent open source software; * Reflect on the role of change data, refresh constraints, refresh frequency trade-offs, and data quality goals in data integration process design; and * Perform operations on pivot tables to satisfy typical business analysis requests using prominent open source software...

Melhores avaliações

LS
18 de Set de 2020

Great course. It mimics real life case. However, the time required to complete assignments is much more than stated. The assignments are great though, I learned a lot from those.

EK
15 de Dez de 2015

Very nice class, well thought out and organized. The assignments are interesting and the practice assignments are relevant. Getting hands on on Pentaho was a big plus.

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 185 Avaliações para o Conceitos, design e integração de dados em data warehouses

por Gerrit S D

22 de Mar de 2016

quite challenging, high paced lectures. It seems like an easy course because the lectures are quite brief, but make no mistake, there is no repeating of concepts or endless bla bla. To succeed in the assignments one is very likely to watch lectures again. Without any previous knowledge in this subject it is almost impossible to grasp everything by just watching the videos due to the new vocabulary and the information density. The assignments definetly take more time than indicated.

por Anupam B

12 de Jun de 2020

Extremely useful and practical course. Will give you a thorough understanding of how Data Warehouses are built and Integration platforms operate. Installation of certain tools as required as a part of this course might feel frustrating after a point but it's still worth doing it. One of toughest courses that I have undertaken so far in Coursera. Highly recommended if you are in the right domain with some level of prior (basic) knowledge of databases.

por Mouhammad M

4 de Fev de 2016

Hello,

Thank you for this well structured course. Exercises and tutorials are very useful to complement lectures and help increase our skills in the domain.

Tools deployment and connection (Oracle database on Virtual box and pentaho data integration) was a nightmare.

It would be great if you package all the tools needed for a given course into a predefined virtual machine image ready to be downloaded from the course.

Kind Regards,

Mouhammad Moustafa

por Joanna P

24 de Dez de 2015

Overall - great course giving possibility to learn working on tools such as Pivot4J and Pentaho Data Integration. While I am more interested in Business Analyst approach - it certainly gives meaningful background to data warehouse concepts and data quality. Biggest disadvantage is in my opinion module 5 with rather difficult and unclear assignment. I wish instructions were more precise and whole assignment more analogical to presented examples.

por Paweł W

22 de Out de 2019

Course is really good and one of its kind, however, there is too much focus on specific tools. In some assignments familiarity with Pentaho is more important than the skills required to solve the problem. As for me I was unable to install Pentaho and had to look for alternatives. Let the course be more problem-centric and ease the focus on using Pentaho as it is not an optimal tool for many.

por Torsten B

16 de Jan de 2016

I enjoyed the first two courses. However, I would have liked to continue but as a Mac-only guy do not have access to an Oracle database, which seems to be a requirement for the assessments and the case study.

The first two courses went well on MySQL, so I'm afraid I have to leave here.

Thanks and bye. If the MySQL option gets added, I'll be back.

por Friso S

4 de Nov de 2019

Content wise a very good and useful course. But the technical support on the installation and use of the software needed to complete the course is very limited, and the manuals are not up to date, as they refer to older versions of the proposed software. Particularly the Pentaho Data Integration software was a severe test for my peace of mind.

por Kira H

17 de Fev de 2016

The instructions for installing the software are not very intuitive and can be very frustrating at times, so make sure to allot additional time getting it installed. The assignment time listed is FAR less than the amount of time to complete the assignment, again, make sure to allot additional time for completing the assignments.

por mc

26 de Ago de 2020

This course demands many software installations. I spent multiple days to have it working. Today, many software are in the cloud and we don't need to handle it. For this class, t would be nice to have access to a cloud platform where everything is already installed, data loaded, and we can focus in practicing pentahoo etls.

por Denis M

25 de Out de 2019

i would give it a 5-star but again the software used in this course/specialization is just ridiculously demanding task. However, concepts in this course are very interesting and I think I learned a lot. Be aware that there is no support from anybody besides peers who most of the times care only about passing.

por Norbert v W

20 de Fev de 2016

I like the course, and I learn a lot (having plenty of experience already). However, the assignments take far more time than the quoted 30 minutes, and a lot of time is spent installing and getting open-source tools to work - which I would have rather spent on actually hands on work on the subject-matter.

por William J

8 de Fev de 2021

The peer review should be more standardized. There is dramatically inconsistent grading where accurate submissions are failed without warrant causing frustration instead of continued learning. The actual course content is five stars for me. Just the peer review needs cleaning up in my opinion.

por Nguyen T

9 de Jun de 2016

A good course, but the learning curve in the middle shoots up so the hill is quite steep to climb. Some typos here and there in documentation, but overall a great course that really challenges you to think hard.

por Zafir S

22 de Mai de 2020

Great course overall! Some of the assignments were quite challenging, and it would have been more beneficial to have some guided tutorial videos to assist with some key concepts that weren't previously taught.

por Godswill E

11 de Jul de 2020

I enjoyed this course. I learnt a lot. My main difficulties were in navigating the installation of the softwares. I think a lot more has to be done to make the software navigation process a lot easier.

por Justin K

27 de Mai de 2020

Great course! The only issue, and the reason for 4 starts instead of 5, is that (1) the integration software was hard to install and get working correctly and (2) the course materials are out of date.

por Matthew P L

12 de Jun de 2017

Excellent instructor, content and application of tools. Written instructions can be over-wordy on unimportant instruction and confusing, but so is the nature of the state of data warehousing.

por Manolis M

17 de Jun de 2020

The course was very good but it felt a little rushed in the middle. There should be some more examples and explanation In the Data Warehouse design section. Overall great quality of material

por Hadrien D

16 de Jan de 2016

Solid class overall, however video lectures do not provide enough background info to complete some of the assignments. Expect to spend much more time than the estimated 30 mins to complete.

por André G L

29 de Mar de 2020

A great starting course for the subject of Data Warehouse, I was already practicing on the career and it was valuable to me to strenghten my core and learn new things along the way.

por Mauricio Q

8 de Mar de 2016

I think this course is great, however weeks 2 and 3 should be restructured to ensure students acknowledge topics properly. I had a bad time solving those week's asignments.

por Emilio M N G

1 de Jun de 2016

Pretty nice course, although installation and pre-requisites could use a higher note before installing since there would be a couple of tries before getting them working.

por Kevin Y

3 de Dez de 2020

I prefer the focus on "getting your hands dirty". But I must say, the tutorial's are maybe a bit hard to understand for someone completely new to this topic.

por Salil T

8 de Ago de 2016

I love open source tools description. It is really good designed course to refresh your basic. Good job from instructor side to make this course enjoyable.

por Talha T

5 de Mar de 2019

The course could be less-detailed. Besides open source ETL tools, other big players (e.g. Informatica, SAP DI, etc.) should be mentioned as well.