Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science da instituição IBM

4.3
stars
903 classificações
189 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Apache Spark is the de-facto standard for large scale data processing. This is the first course of a series of courses towards the IBM Advanced Data Science Specialization. We strongly believe that is is crucial for success to start learning a scalable data science platform since memory and CPU constraints are to most limiting factors when it comes to building advanced machine learning models. In this course we teach you the fundamentals of Apache Spark using python and pyspark. We'll introduce Apache Spark in the first two weeks and learn how to apply it to compute basic exploratory and data pre-processing tasks in the last two weeks. Through this exercise you'll also be introduced to the most fundamental statistical measures and data visualization technologies. This gives you enough knowledge to take over the role of a data engineer in any modern environment. But it gives you also the basis for advancing your career towards data science. Please have a look at the full specialization curriculum: https://www.coursera.org/specializations/advanced-data-science-ibm If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you will also earn an IBM digital badge. To find out more about IBM digital badges follow the link ibm.biz/badging. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Describe how basic statistical measures, are used to reveal patterns within the data • Recognize data characteristics, patterns, trends, deviations or inconsistencies, and potential outliers. • Identify useful techniques for working with big data such as dimension reduction and feature selection methods • Use advanced tools and charting libraries to: o improve efficiency of analysis of big-data with partitioning and parallel analysis o Visualize the data in an number of 2D and 3D formats (Box Plot, Run Chart, Scatter Plot, Pareto Chart, and Multidimensional Scaling) For successful completion of the course, the following prerequisites are recommended: • Basic programming skills in python • Basic math • Basic SQL (you can get it easily from https://www.coursera.org/learn/sql-data-science if needed) In order to complete this course, the following technologies will be used: (These technologies are introduced in the course as necessary so no previous knowledge is required.) • Jupyter notebooks (brought to you by IBM Watson Studio for free) • ApacheSpark (brought to you by IBM Watson Studio for free) • Python This course takes four weeks, 4-6h per week...

Melhores avaliações

XW

Apr 11, 2017

Very useful courses to take if you are beginner of data science. The course was not detailed enough sometime. But you will surely get a global view of IOT data analysis after this courses.

AA

Jan 07, 2020

A very nice introduction to Apache Spark and it's environment. As a bonus, it's also a very nice refresher to your basic statistics!!! Great course!

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science

por Norman F

Jan 13, 2019

Some errors like lambdas are not working anymore with Python, some typos like in Assignment 4.1 and missing steps.

por Jeffrey G D

Jan 07, 2020

Some of the courses have out of date instructions, or the methods recommended are deprecated.

por Prithvi M

Mar 15, 2018

Good! Would have liked it even more if there was more data analysis involved using IOT data.

por BAHADIR Y

Aug 16, 2019

At first, I'm not sure what to do and it is hard for me to set up environment.

por Deepshikhar T

Sep 26, 2018

The last quiz needs to be reviewed, otherwise awesome start to specialization

por Revalino J C S

Jan 04, 2019

The environment setup is a little cumbersome due to constant changes in UI.

por Suyash

Sep 23, 2019

There are a lot of glitch with the assignments, hope it gets fixed soon

por Matthijs K

Feb 06, 2019

Sets you up well for working with Spark within the IBM Environment.

por Harsh D

Feb 03, 2019

Quite Good. But sometimes i had trouble following instructions.

por Raj N

May 13, 2017

Great introduction to Data Science, IoT and scalable computing!

por Dmytro T

Jun 18, 2019

Cool as for first benchmark. But a bit a lot of IBM tools)

por Jonathan H

Feb 09, 2019

Good course, instructor was extremely knowledgeable.

por Tinguaro B

Oct 04, 2018

Great introduction to Data Science on IBM Cloud.

por Giovani F M

Dec 20, 2019

Great course to learn basic knowledge in spark!

por EMMANUEL N

Apr 10, 2019

Nice course with good tutorials

por Michal P

Mar 28, 2019

Very nice introduction

por Elias L

Dec 31, 2018

Have been a good one!

por JIN P

Jun 04, 2019

Thanks, really helps

por Deleted A

Feb 11, 2019

Can I get a badge?

por Ahmed T

Mar 10, 2019

Excellent :)

por Andrey O

Aug 11, 2018

Good course!

por Nikhil P P

Feb 08, 2019

It was difficult to follow the IBM cloud setup since it was constantly changing, I couldn't understand the reason for using python2.7 since its only 10 months before it wont be supported by the community. Sometime instructors' pronunciations were not clear and and thus added extra confusion. However, instructor do actively participate in helping with discussions. Audio and video quality were also not very good. This course is a very basic introduction to IBM cloud and general stats. Prior knowledge of spark is useful. Overall the course is nice introduction to IBM cloud if one is interested.

por Eleni K

Oct 10, 2019

I was really looking forward to this specialization but from the very first course I am really disappointed. The videos refer to various not updated information and then suddenly we are expected to do an assignment that was not at all explained in the course. I am not saying it is difficult, or not achievable but to be honest until now (week 2) it feels mostly like a waste of time.. Really sorry for this review.

por Jorge A V

Jan 17, 2019

The idea and material behind the course is really interesting, albeit very basic. Some of the exercises and quizes, like the ones of interpreting plots are not very clear, since the plot quality is low. However, this is a very nice introduction to ML and IoT using Watson. Looking Forward for the next courses of the IBM Degree for advance data science

por Tony H

Nov 04, 2019

I felt that, for a course labelled as 'Advanced', there were too many trivial questions in the quizzes and too much hand-holding in the programming assignments. That being said I did enjoy the course and learned quite a lot and look forward to the next one in the specialisation.