Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science da instituição IBM

4.3
837 classificações
174 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Apache Spark is the de-facto standard for large scale data processing. This is the first course of a series of courses towards the IBM Advanced Data Science Specialization. We strongly believe that is is crucial for success to start learning a scalable data science platform since memory and CPU constraints are to most limiting factors when it comes to building advanced machine learning models. In this course we teach you the fundamentals of Apache Spark using python and pyspark. We'll introduce Apache Spark in the first two weeks and learn how to apply it to compute basic exploratory and data pre-processing tasks in the last two weeks. Through this exercise you'll also be introduced to the most fundamental statistical measures and data visualization technologies. This gives you enough knowledge to take over the role of a data engineer in any modern environment. But it gives you also the basis for advancing your career towards data science. Please have a look at the full specialization curriculum: https://www.coursera.org/specializations/advanced-data-science-ibm If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you will also earn an IBM digital badge. To find out more about IBM digital badges follow the link ibm.biz/badging. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Describe how basic statistical measures, are used to reveal patterns within the data • Recognize data characteristics, patterns, trends, deviations or inconsistencies, and potential outliers. • Identify useful techniques for working with big data such as dimension reduction and feature selection methods • Use advanced tools and charting libraries to: o improve efficiency of analysis of big-data with partitioning and parallel analysis o Visualize the data in an number of 2D and 3D formats (Box Plot, Run Chart, Scatter Plot, Pareto Chart, and Multidimensional Scaling) For successful completion of the course, the following prerequisites are recommended: • Basic programming skills in python • Basic math • Basic SQL (you can get it easily from https://www.coursera.org/learn/sql-data-science if needed) In order to complete this course, the following technologies will be used: (These technologies are introduced in the course as necessary so no previous knowledge is required.) • Jupyter notebooks (brought to you by IBM Watson Studio for free) • ApacheSpark (brought to you by IBM Watson Studio for free) • Python This course takes four weeks, 4-6h per week...

Melhores avaliações

XW

Apr 11, 2017

Very useful courses to take if you are beginner of data science. The course was not detailed enough sometime. But you will surely get a global view of IOT data analysis after this courses.

HS

Sep 10, 2017

A perfect course to pace off with exploration towards sensor-data analytics using Apache Spark and python libraries.\n\nKudos man.

Filtrar por:

151 — 174 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science

por Christian M

Jun 20, 2019

It's an excellent course for anybody who wants to learn the basic of Spark, Watson Studio, and data analysis. It's also a good reminder for anybody well acquainted to the subject and want to know how to deal with it in Watson Studio

por Dipro M

Jul 18, 2019

Nice for a basic introduction. I really got to know a lot about the basics of 'data' and spark applications. However, the exercises and assignments seemed a bit too simple. Also could do with a few more extra readings.

por BAHADIR Y

Aug 16, 2019

At first, I'm not sure what to do and it is hard for me to set up environment.

por Pranav N

Aug 28, 2019

Deserves 5 Star if the contents are updated such as removing redundant codes in Video lectures, upgrading Python and Spark to latest version etc. Overall a great place to start Scalable DS.

por Amy P

Aug 28, 2019

I learned a lot from this introduction and appreciated the amount of coding that the lecturer did during many of the videos. Would have liked more involved programming challenges at the end of each week.

por Suyash

Sep 23, 2019

There are a lot of glitch with the assignments, hope it gets fixed soon

por Tamer M

Sep 24, 2019

Most of the video's subtitles need to be synced, it was hard to fully understand the Indian accent without subtitles.

por Gouri K

Nov 12, 2019

Good overall,instructor was very good,but I feel more examples could be used especially when explaining multidimensional vector space and such basics of graphs

por Pierre-Matthieu P

Nov 24, 2019

I've gained plenty of interesting information and valuable hands-on experience. I had to work for it a little more than I should have, however. The lecturer has a strong accent, speaks very fast and the subtitles are mostly useless as they are wrong more often than not. If you take this course, be prepared to take plenty of notes and watch the videos several times.

por Ahmad R J

Nov 23, 2019

I liked the course because it introduced me to new topics but it did not really go further as expected from an advanced specialization. Maybe when I finished other courses, I find out that it well prepared me for the rest. However, please provide more sample datasets, similar questions, and generally more practice.

por Ivan J M

Nov 02, 2019

There are a lot of not updated sections, sometimes it confuses me because in some videos he talks about how we will use Node RED but then we don't use it.

por Lucas M

Dec 03, 2019

Seria ótimo se atualizassem o conteúdo do vídeo para reproduzir a versão atual do sistema e do Python, porém em teoria o conteúdo não deixou a desejar.

por Marcos P L

Dec 08, 2019

As an introductory course on data science and manipulation of large data sets, the course proved to be quite comprehensive and technically capable of leading the student to an understanding of all content.

por Jorge A V

Jan 17, 2019

The idea and material behind the course is really interesting, albeit very basic. Some of the exercises and quizes, like the ones of interpreting plots are not very clear, since the plot quality is low. However, this is a very nice introduction to ML and IoT using Watson. Looking Forward for the next courses of the IBM Degree for advance data science

por Cesar R

Jul 06, 2019

Very basic lessons. Definitely what you would expect from an Advanced course.

por Csaba P O

Sep 09, 2019

The content was OK, but I have expected more. Probably it was too basic for me. I would have been happy to see some more real life examples, like when to use the different statistics to solve real problems, not only the theoretical ones.

por Nikhilanj P

Sep 06, 2019

Too many legacy issues. Would be better to start a new course altogether and maintain same syntax,etc.

por Eleni K

Oct 10, 2019

I was really looking forward to this specialization but from the very first course I am really disappointed. The videos refer to various not updated information and then suddenly we are expected to do an assignment that was not at all explained in the course. I am not saying it is difficult, or not achievable but to be honest until now (week 2) it feels mostly like a waste of time.. Really sorry for this review.

por BAUDRY S

Nov 20, 2019

The functions we need to complete looks quite messy, it'a little bit overwhelming especially for people who start with spark.

por Tony H

Nov 04, 2019

I felt that, for a course labelled as 'Advanced', there were too many trivial questions in the quizzes and too much hand-holding in the programming assignments. That being said I did enjoy the course and learned quite a lot and look forward to the next one in the specialisation.

por Francesco d C

Dec 04, 2019

the assignments could have left more freedom to the student.

por Leire A

Dec 07, 2019

Low level

por Markus W

Sep 22, 2019

Romeo does a very good job of explaining things!

However, the programming assignments are too easy to learn anything from.

por Felipe M M

Sep 19, 2019

Videos are old. It feels like he had a bunch of material and put them together to create this course. For example: There are assignments that they give you the answer because the questions are not supposed to be there. He doesnt teach, instead, he reads a script. The assignments are not challenging and you dont feel like you learned. Horrible and painful.