Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science da instituição IBM

4.3
stars
903 classificações
189 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Apache Spark is the de-facto standard for large scale data processing. This is the first course of a series of courses towards the IBM Advanced Data Science Specialization. We strongly believe that is is crucial for success to start learning a scalable data science platform since memory and CPU constraints are to most limiting factors when it comes to building advanced machine learning models. In this course we teach you the fundamentals of Apache Spark using python and pyspark. We'll introduce Apache Spark in the first two weeks and learn how to apply it to compute basic exploratory and data pre-processing tasks in the last two weeks. Through this exercise you'll also be introduced to the most fundamental statistical measures and data visualization technologies. This gives you enough knowledge to take over the role of a data engineer in any modern environment. But it gives you also the basis for advancing your career towards data science. Please have a look at the full specialization curriculum: https://www.coursera.org/specializations/advanced-data-science-ibm If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you will also earn an IBM digital badge. To find out more about IBM digital badges follow the link ibm.biz/badging. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Describe how basic statistical measures, are used to reveal patterns within the data • Recognize data characteristics, patterns, trends, deviations or inconsistencies, and potential outliers. • Identify useful techniques for working with big data such as dimension reduction and feature selection methods • Use advanced tools and charting libraries to: o improve efficiency of analysis of big-data with partitioning and parallel analysis o Visualize the data in an number of 2D and 3D formats (Box Plot, Run Chart, Scatter Plot, Pareto Chart, and Multidimensional Scaling) For successful completion of the course, the following prerequisites are recommended: • Basic programming skills in python • Basic math • Basic SQL (you can get it easily from https://www.coursera.org/learn/sql-data-science if needed) In order to complete this course, the following technologies will be used: (These technologies are introduced in the course as necessary so no previous knowledge is required.) • Jupyter notebooks (brought to you by IBM Watson Studio for free) • ApacheSpark (brought to you by IBM Watson Studio for free) • Python This course takes four weeks, 4-6h per week...

Melhores avaliações

XW

Apr 11, 2017

Very useful courses to take if you are beginner of data science. The course was not detailed enough sometime. But you will surely get a global view of IOT data analysis after this courses.

AA

Jan 07, 2020

A very nice introduction to Apache Spark and it's environment. As a bonus, it's also a very nice refresher to your basic statistics!!! Great course!

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science

por Waleed M S A A A G

Feb 08, 2019

ز

por Arseniy T

Jan 12, 2020

I want to put things into perspective: I recently completed a one-year data science course at Flatiron School which covered all aspects of data science: Python, SQL, data mining, statistics, probability, linear regression, classification, decision trees, deep neural networks and everything in between. You name it, I've studied it. If you want to learn data science - don't take this course. Few videos about central limit theorem + several graphs in matplotlib wouldn't leave you confident enough about how to actually do analysis. Also, assignments for this course were mostly about how to extract data with SQL, pretty easy if you know the basics. The entire course took me less than a day to complete and I'm still confused about how actually spark works under the hood. Some people complain about old videos and the thick accent of the teacher. For me it wasn't the problem, the code was running smoothly and I understood everything the teacher said. My suggestion would be to give a more detailed explanation of the cloud/parallel computing, how it's structured, how to set up servers, etc.

por Moiz

Dec 28, 2018

Overall i had a good experience with the course. The course touches a number of components of IBM Cloud platform, that includes IBM Watson Studio (online software development platform) and Node-RED (a flow based programming language for defining data flows). I am happy that this course gave me my first practical experience with Apache Spark. It took me around 10 days to complete this course.

por Pierre-Matthieu P

Nov 24, 2019

I've gained plenty of interesting information and valuable hands-on experience. I had to work for it a little more than I should have, however. The lecturer has a strong accent, speaks very fast and the subtitles are mostly useless as they are wrong more often than not. If you take this course, be prepared to take plenty of notes and watch the videos several times.

por Markochev S

May 27, 2019

I would like to thank the authors of this course. It gives great introduction into Apache Spark and its applications in real problems. The only thing I would like to notice is that assignments could be a bit more complicated. Writing any code from scratch is much better for a future Data Scientist than just 'fill in' gaps in the existing code.

por Ahmad R J

Nov 23, 2019

I liked the course because it introduced me to new topics but it did not really go further as expected from an advanced specialization. Maybe when I finished other courses, I find out that it well prepared me for the rest. However, please provide more sample datasets, similar questions, and generally more practice.

por Shubham S

Mar 10, 2019

The course is quite good. However, its not meant for absolute beginners. One needs to have a decent understanding of Python and SQL in order to follow the course and complete the programming assignments. However, the extra effort put towards learning how to program is well worth it

por am

Apr 14, 2017

Nice Course. Going straight forward to the manipulations using spark, and giving a great overview on how to deal with IoT data in the Cloudant NOSQL platform. Would hope to see a new course where we can use MLLIB with massive IoT data to showcase the power of parallel programming!

por Sunil M

Apr 17, 2017

I wish this was more extensive /detailed course and assignments little bit more complex. The moderator timely response was greatly lacking. If the course instructor is asking the students to try out RDD while the auto-grader depends on SQL, it should have been clarified.

por Satyam K

Nov 20, 2018

This course gives you nice experience with Apache Spark. There is lot of update going on interface which creates few problem but discussion forum helps you out. Good for beginners in Data Science who have basic knowledge of python and SQL.

por Christian M

Jun 20, 2019

It's an excellent course for anybody who wants to learn the basic of Spark, Watson Studio, and data analysis. It's also a good reminder for anybody well acquainted to the subject and want to know how to deal with it in Watson Studio

por Xiang Y N

Apr 10, 2019

I was just wondering, is the content a bit short? Are there any more details on practising writing functions and text rather than an hour videoing and quiz? I believe intense programming skills practise is more efficient

por Dipro M

Jul 18, 2019

Nice for a basic introduction. I really got to know a lot about the basics of 'data' and spark applications. However, the exercises and assignments seemed a bit too simple. Also could do with a few more extra readings.

por Marcos P L

Dec 08, 2019

As an introductory course on data science and manipulation of large data sets, the course proved to be quite comprehensive and technically capable of leading the student to an understanding of all content.

por Amy P

Aug 28, 2019

I learned a lot from this introduction and appreciated the amount of coding that the lecturer did during many of the videos. Would have liked more involved programming challenges at the end of each week.

por Jan D

Mar 19, 2017

Good course with a good Instructor. It's a real basic course and good for beginners, though you need to have to dive into Python and Spark on your own to follow the course and the assignments. :)

por Pranav N

Aug 28, 2019

Deserves 5 Star if the contents are updated such as removing redundant codes in Video lectures, upgrading Python and Spark to latest version etc. Overall a great place to start Scalable DS.

por Bruno N

Sep 03, 2018

Very good course for a hands on overview introduction to the topic, and the associated tools (particularly Apache PiSpark).

Some issues with the auto grader encountered sometimes.

por Gouri K

Nov 12, 2019

Good overall,instructor was very good,but I feel more examples could be used especially when explaining multidimensional vector space and such basics of graphs

por Ivan J M

Nov 02, 2019

There are a lot of not updated sections, sometimes it confuses me because in some videos he talks about how we will use Node RED but then we don't use it.

por Lucas M

Dec 03, 2019

Seria ótimo se atualizassem o conteúdo do vídeo para reproduzir a versão atual do sistema e do Python, porém em teoria o conteúdo não deixou a desejar.

por Eric J

Feb 10, 2017

Really good course to provide an overview of working within IBM's cloud platform offerings. This course provides the basics of ApacheSpark as well.

por Umer A B

Mar 18, 2017

The Grader template in the beginning is very confusing when doing first assignment. The response from Instructor should be quick.

por Mortaja A

Jan 05, 2019

structure and instruction to setup of ibm clound and ibm watson needs improvement. overall good instructions and flow.

por Tamer M

Sep 24, 2019

Most of the video's subtitles need to be synced, it was hard to fully understand the Indian accent without subtitles.