Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science da instituição IBM

4.3
843 classificações
175 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Apache Spark is the de-facto standard for large scale data processing. This is the first course of a series of courses towards the IBM Advanced Data Science Specialization. We strongly believe that is is crucial for success to start learning a scalable data science platform since memory and CPU constraints are to most limiting factors when it comes to building advanced machine learning models. In this course we teach you the fundamentals of Apache Spark using python and pyspark. We'll introduce Apache Spark in the first two weeks and learn how to apply it to compute basic exploratory and data pre-processing tasks in the last two weeks. Through this exercise you'll also be introduced to the most fundamental statistical measures and data visualization technologies. This gives you enough knowledge to take over the role of a data engineer in any modern environment. But it gives you also the basis for advancing your career towards data science. Please have a look at the full specialization curriculum: https://www.coursera.org/specializations/advanced-data-science-ibm If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you will also earn an IBM digital badge. To find out more about IBM digital badges follow the link ibm.biz/badging. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Describe how basic statistical measures, are used to reveal patterns within the data • Recognize data characteristics, patterns, trends, deviations or inconsistencies, and potential outliers. • Identify useful techniques for working with big data such as dimension reduction and feature selection methods • Use advanced tools and charting libraries to: o improve efficiency of analysis of big-data with partitioning and parallel analysis o Visualize the data in an number of 2D and 3D formats (Box Plot, Run Chart, Scatter Plot, Pareto Chart, and Multidimensional Scaling) For successful completion of the course, the following prerequisites are recommended: • Basic programming skills in python • Basic math • Basic SQL (you can get it easily from https://www.coursera.org/learn/sql-data-science if needed) In order to complete this course, the following technologies will be used: (These technologies are introduced in the course as necessary so no previous knowledge is required.) • Jupyter notebooks (brought to you by IBM Watson Studio for free) • ApacheSpark (brought to you by IBM Watson Studio for free) • Python This course takes four weeks, 4-6h per week...

Melhores avaliações

XW

Apr 11, 2017

Very useful courses to take if you are beginner of data science. The course was not detailed enough sometime. But you will surely get a global view of IOT data analysis after this courses.

HS

Sep 10, 2017

A perfect course to pace off with exploration towards sensor-data analytics using Apache Spark and python libraries.\n\nKudos man.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science

por ASHISH J

Apr 15, 2019

awesome course, got a good understanding of statistics in an intuitive manner.

The main strength of this course is that, this course will help you to develop intuition of the whole data science concepts into the real world scenario.

por hamza j

May 01, 2019

Best course for People who have basic understanding about Python programming, Machine learning and statistics. The assignments are flexible and easy to complete. The course includes both theoratical and technical aspects of data science

por Daniel T

Apr 21, 2019

Be careful when signing up for your IBM Cloud Instance and remember to shut it down when you're not using it. I ran out of free hours and unfortunately they're no longer free after the first 30 days which either makes it impossible or expensive to finish this course. Also, 30 days might mean an arbitrary 30 day billing cycle, perhaps starting on the 1st of the month.

por Roozbeh G

Jun 20, 2019

Well-taught course in an extremely important and sought-after data science field.

por Yue B

Jun 28, 2019

comprehensive and basic

por Savan R

May 23, 2019

Covers exactly what is required for data science using spark in case IoT data applications and the fundamentals required for the advanced data science topics . I am happy with the course and the topics that I have learned so far!

por Tacio M D

Jun 11, 2019

Very good to follow. Instructor is very clear!

por Ted H

Jul 15, 2019

A really good introduction to Apache Spark. The course has been changed around a lot to conform with the latest syntax and to make it easier to get to work with data. Many of the videos still refer to the old syntax but the examples have all been brought up to date. Students no longer need to generate their own data (with node-Red) but can immediately get to work on pre-generated data. All this change has made some parts of the course a little confusing, but a little perseverance will overcome these problems.

por Alejandro P

Jul 22, 2019

Thanks for the course, i learn so much.

por Michael B

Jul 23, 2019

Extremely well done course!!!

I am not sure what the comments about bugs in the course are about; I did not experience any.

I've taken about a dozen or so courses on Coursera, and this was one of my favorites. Everything is well explained and well laid out.

I'm excited to take the remaining courses in the series :D

por Lingjun K

Aug 07, 2019

good learning experience!

por Felipe D P B

Aug 09, 2019

Great course!

por YOUSSEF M

Aug 13, 2019

amazing content !!

por Cameron

Aug 18, 2019

Brilliant course! Get it done!

por Pawel P

Apr 23, 2019

Too easy to be called advanced. I look forward to seeing what's next.

por ENRIQUE A C A

May 21, 2019

Excellent course

por He Q

Aug 26, 2019

easy and understandable, but the assignments lack depth

por Tom V

Nov 22, 2019

Nice course covering the basics. Not very difficult though.

por Bikash R

Nov 21, 2019

PCA part was fun!

por Gautham N

Nov 24, 2019

It's a very good course

por Ankit M

Dec 01, 2019

good

por Dhinson G D

Oct 01, 2019

I love the course content. Simple but very informative and provides good practical exercises.

por PV R K

Oct 01, 2019

excellent experience

por Charles-Antoine d T

Oct 10, 2019

very good

por Octavio A T N

Oct 26, 2019

This is a very good Data Science course. It helped me a lot to think in realistic application of Data Analysis. Impressive !!!