Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science da instituição IBM

4.3
estrelas
1,795 classificações
390 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Apache Spark is the de-facto standard for large scale data processing. This is the first course of a series of courses towards the IBM Advanced Data Science Specialization. We strongly believe that is is crucial for success to start learning a scalable data science platform since memory and CPU constraints are to most limiting factors when it comes to building advanced machine learning models. In this course we teach you the fundamentals of Apache Spark using python and pyspark. We'll introduce Apache Spark in the first two weeks and learn how to apply it to compute basic exploratory and data pre-processing tasks in the last two weeks. Through this exercise you'll also be introduced to the most fundamental statistical measures and data visualization technologies. This gives you enough knowledge to take over the role of a data engineer in any modern environment. But it gives you also the basis for advancing your career towards data science. Please have a look at the full specialization curriculum: https://www.coursera.org/specializations/advanced-data-science-ibm If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you will also earn an IBM digital badge. To find out more about IBM digital badges follow the link ibm.biz/badging. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Describe how basic statistical measures, are used to reveal patterns within the data • Recognize data characteristics, patterns, trends, deviations or inconsistencies, and potential outliers. • Identify useful techniques for working with big data such as dimension reduction and feature selection methods • Use advanced tools and charting libraries to: o improve efficiency of analysis of big-data with partitioning and parallel analysis o Visualize the data in an number of 2D and 3D formats (Box Plot, Run Chart, Scatter Plot, Pareto Chart, and Multidimensional Scaling) For successful completion of the course, the following prerequisites are recommended: • Basic programming skills in python • Basic math • Basic SQL (you can get it easily from https://www.coursera.org/learn/sql-data-science if needed) In order to complete this course, the following technologies will be used: (These technologies are introduced in the course as necessary so no previous knowledge is required.) • Jupyter notebooks (brought to you by IBM Watson Studio for free) • ApacheSpark (brought to you by IBM Watson Studio for free) • Python We've been reported that some of the material in this course is too advanced. So in case you feel the same, please have a look at the following materials first before starting this course, we've been reported that this really helps. Of course, you can give this course a try first and then in case you need, take the following courses / materials. It's free... https://cognitiveclass.ai/learn/spark https://dataplatform.cloud.ibm.com/analytics/notebooks/v2/f8982db1-5e55-46d6-a272-fd11b670be38/view?access_token=533a1925cd1c4c362aabe7b3336b3eae2a99e0dc923ec0775d891c31c5bbbc68 This course takes four weeks, 4-6h per week...

Melhores avaliações

AA
6 de Jan de 2020

A very nice introduction to Apache Spark and it's environment. As a bonus, it's also a very nice refresher to your basic statistics!!! Great course!

GA
5 de Mai de 2020

Its a great experience especially with this course. I appreciate Romeo the way he designed the assignments. It brings out the clear understanding.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 389 Avaliações para o Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science

por Norman W

8 de Fev de 2021

Challenging, with a strong introduction to Data Science concepts an practical application. Valuable insights for how to get meaning from data. Enthusiastic instructor who clearly enjoys teaching and sharing about this subject.

por Mark M

20 de Abr de 2020

I learned a good amount about Apache Spark, IBM Watson, and integrating both with Python.

I liked the shorter videos with multiple checkpoints throughout and found the assignments and tutorials to be sufficiently challenging.

por Yair G

1 de Nov de 2020

As someone who has taken dozens of online courses across many platforms, I very much enjoyed this course and I am looking forward to continuing the specialization! Well structured and assignments that actually made sense.

por Mirza A A B

22 de Jun de 2020

pretty good course for a beginner new to big data analysis. I am glad that I got to know about the apache spark and learn it as a part of this course on the IBM Watson platform. will look forward to further modules.

por Joshua L

22 de Jun de 2020

Great course that covers some of the fundamentals of advanced data analytics. I use some of these techniques (like PCA) in my career for discovering defects in devices. This is a great starting course.

por Youdinghuan C

12 de Jun de 2020

Concise course. Has its challenging aspects, but overall was clear. The best part is the programming assignment and tutorials: great hands-on introduction to IBM Watson Studio with manageable examples.

por Edi W

17 de Fev de 2020

Nicely arranged course. However, both assignment on week 4 should be rechecked to make sure that it could run as exercise to student. Also, please make sure that the video is up to date and less error.

por Zeeshan S

14 de Jan de 2021

The contents of this course are really practical and to the point. The examples and notebooks are also up to date and are very useful. i really recommend this course if you want to start with Spark.

por Xilong W

11 de Abr de 2017

Very useful courses to take if you are beginner of data science. The course was not detailed enough sometime. But you will surely get a global view of IOT data analysis after this courses.

por Adamya

7 de Jan de 2020

A very nice introduction to Apache Spark and it's environment. As a bonus, it's also a very nice refresher to your basic statistics!!! Great course!

por G' K

6 de Mai de 2020

Its a great experience especially with this course. I appreciate Romeo the way he designed the assignments. It brings out the clear understanding.

por Humberto T

7 de Dez de 2020

A nice introduction to ApacheSpark on Python while learning about the fundamentals of Statistics and Dimensionality of data for Machine Learning

por HONEY T

12 de Set de 2020

It feels really good when you get to learn something new and Coursera helped me to achieve something and learn something new and good.

por Vaibhav S

24 de Ago de 2020

great learning and thank you so much for great content for such topics. i loved this course and enjoyed a lot during learning.

por Tee H L

16 de Dez de 2019

I really like this learning method from IBM especially the instant quiz just to make sure I understand the important points.

por Preyash G

20 de Abr de 2020

This is one of the best course I came across so far, please keep on updating and adding such courses, Thank You

por Sabestin N

14 de Jul de 2020

Thank you so much for giving good exposure. for a basic starting machine learning career for student.

por SHAHAPURKAR S M

29 de Abr de 2020

Excellent teaching by the instructor and user friendly well designed assignment platforms and quizzes

por Nawas N

19 de Jun de 2020

The course was well crafted enabling one to apply knowledge acquired in easy way in the assessments.

por Edoardo B

29 de Jun de 2018

A wonderful course enjoyable and useful for my professional objective. Very thanks to the teacher

por Elena F

28 de Abr de 2020

Nice and well-structured introduction to Spark; clear, accessible and useful quizzes / exercices

por Dhinson G D

1 de Out de 2019

I love the course content. Simple but very informative and provides good practical exercises.

por Akula B R

3 de Jul de 2020

THE COURSE CONTENT WAS HELPUL FOR STARTING WITH APACHE SPARK AND PYTHON USING APACHE SPARK.

por Kuhaneswaran G

29 de Mai de 2020

Good guidance and a great start up for beginners as well a beneficial during this Covid-19

por Bruno D d S

21 de Abr de 2020

Professor muito bem qualificado e super atencioso em suas explicações.

Curso sensacional!