Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science da instituição IBM

4.3
838 classificações
175 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Apache Spark is the de-facto standard for large scale data processing. This is the first course of a series of courses towards the IBM Advanced Data Science Specialization. We strongly believe that is is crucial for success to start learning a scalable data science platform since memory and CPU constraints are to most limiting factors when it comes to building advanced machine learning models. In this course we teach you the fundamentals of Apache Spark using python and pyspark. We'll introduce Apache Spark in the first two weeks and learn how to apply it to compute basic exploratory and data pre-processing tasks in the last two weeks. Through this exercise you'll also be introduced to the most fundamental statistical measures and data visualization technologies. This gives you enough knowledge to take over the role of a data engineer in any modern environment. But it gives you also the basis for advancing your career towards data science. Please have a look at the full specialization curriculum: https://www.coursera.org/specializations/advanced-data-science-ibm If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you will also earn an IBM digital badge. To find out more about IBM digital badges follow the link ibm.biz/badging. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Describe how basic statistical measures, are used to reveal patterns within the data • Recognize data characteristics, patterns, trends, deviations or inconsistencies, and potential outliers. • Identify useful techniques for working with big data such as dimension reduction and feature selection methods • Use advanced tools and charting libraries to: o improve efficiency of analysis of big-data with partitioning and parallel analysis o Visualize the data in an number of 2D and 3D formats (Box Plot, Run Chart, Scatter Plot, Pareto Chart, and Multidimensional Scaling) For successful completion of the course, the following prerequisites are recommended: • Basic programming skills in python • Basic math • Basic SQL (you can get it easily from https://www.coursera.org/learn/sql-data-science if needed) In order to complete this course, the following technologies will be used: (These technologies are introduced in the course as necessary so no previous knowledge is required.) • Jupyter notebooks (brought to you by IBM Watson Studio for free) • ApacheSpark (brought to you by IBM Watson Studio for free) • Python This course takes four weeks, 4-6h per week...

Melhores avaliações

XW

Apr 11, 2017

Very useful courses to take if you are beginner of data science. The course was not detailed enough sometime. But you will surely get a global view of IOT data analysis after this courses.

HS

Sep 10, 2017

A perfect course to pace off with exploration towards sensor-data analytics using Apache Spark and python libraries.\n\nKudos man.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science

por Rohan S

Feb 24, 2019

This course takes you on a very structured path. It starts with the core concepts of spark and how is it important in the industry. The material along with the IBM cloud platform is a total bonus.

The assignments are challenging for a reason. They test your entire knowledge and makes sure that you pay careful attention to the material being delivered. In fact, while completing the assignments, you will find yourself looking through official library documentation for support; this is a good thing. Moreover, you also find yourself writing good quality code.

Romeo teaches the content in the simplest way possible. He explains the concepts with utmost care with adequate examples. The content on statistics is also very well laid out which helps you become a better decision maker.

Overall, the course was excellent and should suffice for anyone willing to learn spark and get familiarity with cloud technologies and Apache Spark.

por Zeghraoui M

Mar 26, 2019

I loved it !

por Alejandro S M

Mar 25, 2019

Just awesome!

por Bruno M A A

Dec 20, 2018

very practical.

por George K

Dec 24, 2018

Very good teacher.

por Rohith P

Mar 30, 2019

Good introduction course to Apache Spark and its internals

por alamelumuralidaran

Feb 18, 2019

Wonderful course

por Gusti R A

Feb 17, 2019

This course is very recommended if you want to bring your Data Science skill to the next level. The instruction is very clear and easy to understand. The assignment is really challenging for me as the new comer in this Data Science world, but yeah, i finally can finished this course. You should take this course.

por Waleed M S A A A G

Feb 08, 2019

ز

por Ibrahim M N S

Jan 14, 2019

Was really Good, I loved it ^_^

por Shakti s

Dec 28, 2018

I would like to Recommend this course because this course Not only taught you the well developed Syllabus but also test your ability /skills to tackle problems in submitting Assignments and which i think is the exciting part and challenging.

that moment when your are dealing with the problem and finally solved that, that work really paid off.

por Khawar A A

Jan 27, 2019

Great .. !! Big fan of sir Romeo. Great learning and awesome instructor.

por BALAJI K

Jun 05, 2017

This is a very nice introductory course for exploring IoT data.

por Erik A

Mar 08, 2017

This was a good course. The autograder has some issues though.

por Santos P C

Apr 25, 2017

I like it for beginners. Is a good satarting point. Thanks.

por Edoardo B

Jun 29, 2018

A wonderful course enjoyable and useful for my professional objective. Very thanks to the teacher

por Xilong W

Apr 11, 2017

Very useful courses to take if you are beginner of data science. The course was not detailed enough sometime. But you will surely get a global view of IOT data analysis after this courses.

por mahmut k

Jul 04, 2018

Useful information!

por Reetu

Jun 12, 2018

very well explained!

por Danyang

Oct 27, 2017

Thanks this is exciting!

por Rahul M

Jul 06, 2017

Very good learning exposure.

por Vishal S

Sep 24, 2018

This was really awesome. I eventually got better at this. Good course.

por Azeezur R

Oct 17, 2018

Excellent Course with very interesting assignment and informative video course

por Alev K

Sep 26, 2018

It was fun learning to me in Spark Python. Python is more attractive now, see it is not that complicated visualisation and calculation functions in it. I could manage SQL very well which helped me a lot. now i feel more confidant in Python.I use to like more R before now i see python advantages regarding R in terms of performance and cost effects.

por Ramil M

Aug 23, 2018

Amazing course and especially instructor!!!