Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science da instituição IBM

4.3
835 classificações
173 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Apache Spark is the de-facto standard for large scale data processing. This is the first course of a series of courses towards the IBM Advanced Data Science Specialization. We strongly believe that is is crucial for success to start learning a scalable data science platform since memory and CPU constraints are to most limiting factors when it comes to building advanced machine learning models. In this course we teach you the fundamentals of Apache Spark using python and pyspark. We'll introduce Apache Spark in the first two weeks and learn how to apply it to compute basic exploratory and data pre-processing tasks in the last two weeks. Through this exercise you'll also be introduced to the most fundamental statistical measures and data visualization technologies. This gives you enough knowledge to take over the role of a data engineer in any modern environment. But it gives you also the basis for advancing your career towards data science. Please have a look at the full specialization curriculum: https://www.coursera.org/specializations/advanced-data-science-ibm If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you will also earn an IBM digital badge. To find out more about IBM digital badges follow the link ibm.biz/badging. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Describe how basic statistical measures, are used to reveal patterns within the data • Recognize data characteristics, patterns, trends, deviations or inconsistencies, and potential outliers. • Identify useful techniques for working with big data such as dimension reduction and feature selection methods • Use advanced tools and charting libraries to: o improve efficiency of analysis of big-data with partitioning and parallel analysis o Visualize the data in an number of 2D and 3D formats (Box Plot, Run Chart, Scatter Plot, Pareto Chart, and Multidimensional Scaling) For successful completion of the course, the following prerequisites are recommended: • Basic programming skills in python • Basic math • Basic SQL (you can get it easily from https://www.coursera.org/learn/sql-data-science if needed) In order to complete this course, the following technologies will be used: (These technologies are introduced in the course as necessary so no previous knowledge is required.) • Jupyter notebooks (brought to you by IBM Watson Studio for free) • ApacheSpark (brought to you by IBM Watson Studio for free) • Python This course takes four weeks, 4-6h per week...

Melhores avaliações

XW

Apr 11, 2017

Very useful courses to take if you are beginner of data science. The course was not detailed enough sometime. But you will surely get a global view of IOT data analysis after this courses.

HS

Sep 10, 2017

A perfect course to pace off with exploration towards sensor-data analytics using Apache Spark and python libraries.\n\nKudos man.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science

por Ahmed E A T E

Apr 10, 2019

the content is really good but I don't understand the Indian accent well although this guy really did his best

por shubham k g

Jul 04, 2019

Nice but details are not discussed properly only taking names wasnt enough

por Mario E R T

Jul 14, 2019

Need more exercises related to wrangling data and manipulating SQL's with apache spark

por Ramkumar K

Apr 06, 2018

Not so worth learning compare to the predecessor of this course. Should have included more assignment would have made the course very interesting.

por Vy D

Jan 25, 2019

Not enough coding, or I would like more interactive coding if that was possible in coursera. Or how would we do this like locally?

por Daniel B

Feb 06, 2019

This course needs work. There needs to be more of a challenge, being an advanced course I expect a certain level of difficulty. I think the knowledge is too high level. There also needs to be more of a hands on approach. Let me connect to the Cloudent service, and more practice using spark and map functions.

por Roger S

Jan 24, 2019

Course content contains too much screen capture of clicking rapidly through IBM could menus. In most cases, the version of IBM Cloud now being deployed varies from the course, so students have to figure it out themselves.

Also, explanation of the tools and resources is very short - line one sentence. We are left to figure out what the tools are - cloudant and node-RED especially.

This course and certificate look like they should come after the first Data Science Certificate (9 courses). But there is a definite gap between the two. It is not clear what course is supposed to bridge that gap.

por Dorzhi D

Jan 27, 2019

Very fiddly. Video instructions do not correspond to IBM interfaces.

por Mateusz K

Dec 23, 2018

Quite outdated and chaotic

por Suyash D

Aug 13, 2018

Very good course but codes and instructions are outdated. It needs serious improvement on that part. It is costing a lot more time to finish this simple course.

por Nhan T N

Jun 21, 2019

The instruction is not so clear. Many mistake launch and grader does not run to score your submission.

por Daya_Jin

Sep 27, 2018

感觉没什么卵用,就学会了IBM云的基本操作

por Ozge Y

Jun 23, 2019

I find it unacceptable that the grader still had the same old problems from months ago. Adding notes directly to the python notebooks is not that difficult. #Return 4 significant digits, etc.

Plus, the grader output is not always useful. I execute the function in the python notebook, for whatever reason it does not fail, it works. The grader is more sensitive as it should be but it would be more meaningful at least it mentioned which line it has failed or which cell or which function.

The quizes during the videos seems a bit too random. I expect, if you are interrupting a video, you would be asking a question whose answer would be relevant for the later part of the video. Those pop-ups feels like unannounced midterm exams. There is already a full quiz section for this.

Perhaps my expectations were too high for this course.

por Jan C

Jul 10, 2019

Simply not on the same level as other ML Courses on Coursera. Programming assignments don't require you to do much by yourself. The bits you have to write, you have to guess from function names (no task description or anything is given).

por Sheen D

Sep 01, 2019

Cannot understand what the instructor is saying half of the time... because he speaks really really fast...

por Karthic N

Jan 04, 2019

This is supposed to a course covering fundamentals , the course content lacks clarity and the instructors and mentors are not helpful either

por 唐志强

Aug 22, 2018

All of the course is telling you how to use their product

por Sudesh A

Sep 22, 2018

While the course info describes this course as a beginner level, I would not describe it so. A lot of technical terms are thrown around without even saying a word about them let alone explain them.

The course is very disorganized, and the instructions for the assignments are not correct (and outdated). You have to basically figure out on your own how to set up the system before you even start doing the actual assignments. What you actually experience is completely different from what you see in the screenshots of the instructions.

This has been my experience just after being 2 weeks into the course. Hopefully things get better in the last two weeks. Honestly, so far I have only learnt a bunch of names.

I will update my review at the end of the course, if needed.

UPDATE: I eventually decided to unenroll from this course. This course is not worth it, in my opinion.

por Sai S

Mar 23, 2019

very poor not even know the answers for the faculty

por Prasad N

Jun 28, 2019

worse guidance and pathetic support - shame on COURSERA and instructors for this horrible situation. Have wasted enormous productive time on this

por yu m c

Jul 04, 2019

Corrupted assignment, you will never pass assignment 2 as the assignment checker was corrupted. so disappointed. in fact nice lecture and tutor and videos.

por Bruno M A A

Dec 20, 2018

very practical.

por abderrahim b

Jan 10, 2019

Excellent course! Thanks for giving of your time to share the knowledge!

por Shakti s

Dec 28, 2018

I would like to Recommend this course because this course Not only taught you the well developed Syllabus but also test your ability /skills to tackle problems in submitting Assignments and which i think is the exciting part and challenging.

that moment when your are dealing with the problem and finally solved that, that work really paid off.

por Ibrahim M N S

Jan 14, 2019

Was really Good, I loved it ^_^