Chevron Left
Voltar para Emoção e Cognição Canina

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Emoção e Cognição Canina da instituição Universidade Duke

4.7
estrelas
3,468 classificações
1,060 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Dog Emotion and Cognition will introduce you to the exciting new study of dog psychology, what the latest discoveries tell us about how dogs think and feel about us, and how we can use this new knowledge to further strengthen our relationship with our best friends....

Melhores avaliações

LT

Aug 04, 2019

Great course with a lot of new information, not just about dogs but even domestication of other species, including humans. The predictability of aggression in humans would be an interesting next topic

RR

May 20, 2020

This course was very informative and interesting. Even people without dogs as pets and having an interest towards pets can take up this course. By doing so, we get to understand ourselves better.

Filtrar por:

851 — 875 de 1,049 Avaliações para o Emoção e Cognição Canina

por Clara Y

May 28, 2020

Lots of fascinating material, but you could get the same from reading Dr Hare's book. Actually the course felt more like an advertisement for Dr Hare's book and the Dognition product than anything else. But it was engaging with many fun examples and some good videos of studies with primates and dogs. There was not really any material on dog emotion, with most of the emphasis on cognition, especially the evolutionary implications for domestication and human and primate evolution. [I recommend Frans der Waal for material on animal emotion and ethics.] I liked the call for a new school of thought towards dog training, evolving beyond the behaviorist underpinnings of clicker and positive reinforcement training to the idea of social games, taking advantage of the unique 'genius' of dogs.

por Robert J B

Nov 28, 2015

The material is so interesting that even though you're learning a lot, it doesn't feel like hard work. The only possible drawback is that it keeps referencing this citizen science (a similar concept to crowd sourcing or open-source) program called Dognition. Dognition's this website that allows you to play games with your dog that test its cognition, and uses the data from it to better understand how dogs think. You don't need Dognition to learn a lot and get a lot out of the course, but if you don't have a dog to play with or feel like spring for the fee (which again, are highly optional and not needed to learn from this course), you will miss out a bit. But other than that, it's fascinating to learn about how dogs think and how that's unique among the animal kingdom.

por alicia c p

Jan 14, 2017

Muy interesante. Como persona vegana, algunos de los ejemplos y experimentos mencionados, realizados con otros animales en cautividad y algunos no precisamente en condiciones óptimas no me han parecido necesarios, y más bien me han provocado sentimientos negativos, sobre todo si tenemos en cuenta que el curso es sobre perros. Pero en general las teorías y los temas tratados en el curso me han parecido muy interesantes. Creo que todas las personas que tengan perro deberían entender un poquito mejor a estos miembros de la familia y este curso puede ser un primer paso hacia esa comprensión.

por Dave N

Nov 30, 2016

-An absolutely fantastic course, very highly recommend it to anybody who owns a dog. My only complaint is that in week 5, the teacher gets quite a bit overboard into all of evolution. There is no need for this, because the course is on Dog EMOTION and COGNITION, not primate and human evolution. I felt I was a captive audience for his own unnecessary preaching on primate evolution. The best example I can give is the classic times when a person would invite you over for dinner only to sell Amway. Other than that, the course was wonderful! Great teacher.

por Daniel D

Aug 24, 2015

I love some of the discussions in this course, and i think that students can be prompted to contribute even more. Perhaps make contributing to a discussion in each module an essential part of the course?

The content is well-structured, going from a general overview of evolution to canine cognition. I would have liked to see it go even further, questioning the assumptions behind some of the recent research publications in this area instead of just including it in this course. A little more critical reasoning doesn't hurt.

por Nathalie H

Aug 21, 2017

I loved the passion in the lectures and the pratical exemples.

Very interesting even though I don't have a dog anymore to ultimately test the games.

Small comments: for a non anglophone the flow is sometimes a bit too fast (thanks to the subtitles - which for some of them are not 100% accurate by the way). And the videos ) are cut at the end especially in the last lessons (weeks 6 & 7) and they start over without warnings.

Great job and thanks for sharing!

por Marion S

Aug 17, 2015

I found many interesting insights into how dogs became man's best friend and into dog cognition. However, some of the points were belabored far too long; in addition, problems in dog behavior--such as biting etc.--were not really dealt with at all. For me, the promise of knowledge of dogs leading to knowledge of self remained unfulfilled. I could also have used more practical insights into how a dog can be guided (trained) to become the ideal companion.

por KWOK J H E

Apr 26, 2020

The research done and presented by Dr Hare is very insightful and in depth. However, I believe that it would be beneficial for both Dr Hare & the student to have access to summarized content. Many a time Dr Hare went a little off-tangent explaining about the cognition of other species which might seem a little irrelevant to the course topic. Nonetheless, the course was very comprehensive and i wish Dr Hare all the best in his future research.

por Kate C

Apr 15, 2017

Solid entry level course to dog cognition. I would have preferred that it focused more strongly on dogs, and payed less attention to how information about dogs can help us understand humans. The section on general domestication was phenomenal, and the bonobo to chimp comparisons were incredibly helpful. I would have appreciated deeper analysis on what each of the five cognitive domains for dognition were, and what they actually meant.

por Julie B

Feb 26, 2017

This course was short and interesting. Maybe the presenter tried a little too much to sell his book but I still watched until the end and found out many new things that I now notice with my dog! I really think this helpted me understand my dog in a different way, but I do wish there had been more studies/facts about dogs (longer course I guess). I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn more about how dogs think.

por Andrew W

Jun 30, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. As a dog lover of over 60 years I learned a lot especially in the first 4-5 weeks. At times I felt this course was an advertisement for the book (which I did not read or buy) and the cognition website which I did use. The lecturer went to great effort to say it was not necessary to buy either, but his repetition made me feel otherwise. The last few weeks of the course seemed rather simplistic.

por Lilibeth S

Nov 08, 2019

As a dog lover I went into this course super excited to learn more about dogs. While it was interesting I wish the focus had not been too diverted away from dogs and onto other animals. Sure some of it was necessary and interesting to hear but would've been better had it been more in depth and focused on dogs. Overall enjoyable and interesting. My biggest issue as others have mentioned was the constant self promotion.

por chloe b

Jun 03, 2017

I really enjoyed this class and learned a lot about evolution, domestication, animals in general & dogs specifically. At times I thought the course was slightly focussed on "marketing" the professor's book and website, but that's pretty much my only complaint! Also, I don't have a dog so I couldn't view the Dognition games and "lab" exercises- so if you have a dog you might get even more out of the course than I did!

por YIsrael

Aug 04, 2017

The course was very thorough and presented multiple aspects of how dogs have evolved, domestication processes, and cognitive ability. However, it is extremely reliant on the Dognition website and delves more into the history of dogs rather than the present. Overall, it a good course for those who are just being introduced to having dogs as pets and want to learn more about how they may think and learn.

por Jonaki G T

Sep 17, 2016

Very interesting information about dogs that's also a 'myth burster' of sorts for me. Dr. Hare 's video's were not only well made but also well spaced. I found a few quiz questions difficult to understand even though I paid close attention to all lessons. But hey- I passed the final quiz in first attempt so Its all good! Thanks Dr. Hare & Duke University for making this 'different' course available!!

por Matthew H

Sep 21, 2016

I learned a great deal from this class and Dr. Hare did a remarkable job teaching the course. The reason I gave four stars instead of five is because Dr. Hare continued to promote his book and Dognition, to the point that some lectures began to sound more like advertisements. Besides that it was a wonderful experience, and I have no doubt the knowledge gained will be useful in my own work with dogs.

por Carolyn G

Aug 17, 2015

This is a fun course. However, there is not much content on dog emotion, and lots on evolution (not limited to dogs). It is straightforward and slowly enough paced that no one should be afraid it will be too difficult for them, and the instructor is enthusiastic and eloquent. I have a PhD in a related field and I learned quite a bit, so I would recommend this course to others.

por Tracy H

Oct 23, 2016

This was a good course. The lectures were a good length, they were interesting and very easy to understand. The lecturer was articulate and easy to follow. I liked the way the readings supported the course and the dognition stuff will be really useful. The citizen science material was also interesting. A useful and practical course that was fun and interesting to do.

por D P

Jan 20, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. Especially when discussing the history of evolution. I appreciated the comparisons with other animals/species as examples to points that were being made.

In some ways it was not exactly what I thought it would be, however I still enjoyed the course and learned a great deal. Thank you! I look forward to using "Dognition" with my bestie.

por Aleana Y

Mar 05, 2018

The course itself was great, I would like to see something like a follow-up, or links to read and access many of the studies mentioned, and the recent studies done to follow-up with the studies. Learned a lot in this course, given me more ways to work with and explore training and bonding with my personal dogs and my clients.

por marielle f

Nov 17, 2016

this course was very interesting and fun. It's unbelievable how dogs are amazing and how we just took them for granted and didn't even know!! Lucky you you came to the right place; Dr Hare will teach you all that. this course is really well made and will teach you a lot about the basics and way more. I highly recommand it.

por Uri B E

Dec 22, 2016

Es un buen resumen acerca de lo que es la cognición canina y la historia detrás de los estudios que se han realizado hasta ahora. También sirve como un comercial para el sitio de internet de el autor del curso. En general bueno y recomendado para cualquier persona que esté interesado en el comportamiento de su perro.

por Sakshi s

Aug 15, 2020

Really loved everything that was taught and how all the lectures connected to show a whole picture of how dog cognition and emotion works. Some lectures, though, felt more like a promotion of the book and the dognition program devised. But, the insights I got from this course to understand dog cognition were great!

por Kasey E

Oct 26, 2018

There was some genuinely interesting information. It was a bit more scientific than I expected, and dragged a bit at parts. I am a dog lover and found most of it very interesting. At times, it felt like it was just a big advertisement for a book, which was a bit frustrating and why it only got 4 stars.

por Karen R

Jan 15, 2020

Very interesting and engaging lectures and materials. A lot more background information on evolution of dogs then expected, which was helpful. Would love to see examples at the end of the presentation on ways people are using the Dognition information to interact with their dogs. Thanks so much!