Chevron Left
Voltar para Emoção e Cognição Canina

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Emoção e Cognição Canina da instituição Universidade Duke

4.6
2,481 classificações
724 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Dog Emotion and Cognition will introduce you to the exciting new study of dog psychology, what the latest discoveries tell us about how dogs think and feel about us, and how we can use this new knowledge to further strengthen our relationship with our best friends....

Melhores avaliações

LT

Aug 04, 2019

Great course with a lot of new information, not just about dogs but even domestication of other species, including humans. The predictability of aggression in humans would be an interesting next topic

BR

Sep 24, 2017

Muy interesante, un curso lleno de teorías y explicaciones en torno al concepto de cognición, un concepto complejo. Recomendado para aquellos que les interesa el tema de la mente humana y canina.

Filtrar por:

676 — 700 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Emoção e Cognição Canina

por Samantha D C

Jan 06, 2016

I did enjoy this course, but at times I felt a little bored, like it was loosing my interest. Some of the information given was more about other species and I think that's what made it less gripping for me.

por dreamy1121

Mar 10, 2017

Compared to the other courses, this one is kind of boring, but learned some origination of dogs :)

por Antoinette S

Nov 18, 2016

I may have gotten more out of this course if I hadn't already read "The Genius of Dogs".

I would like to suggest that the slides be subjected to more rigorous proofreading, as I came across several typographical errors. It doesn't look professional.

On quizzes, when a student is asked to select the one FALSE answer, please remove any "all of the above are TRUE" statements. A mentor replied to another student who pointed out this conumdrum on the Week 7 Forum with: "I understand where you are coming from Phil, but only one of the answers as an individual answer is incorrect. The answer "all of the above are correct" is neither true nor false, as only one of the answers in the 'all' is the exception." And I say that if I have a bouquet of roses, 11 red ones and 1 yellow and I were to say that "all of the roses in my bouquet are red" you would correct me, as one is not, and "all" demands 12 out of 12, otherwise, it is not all. Should you still feel a quibble, let me suggest that you contact the Department of Philosophy, ask for someone expert in symbolic logic and run it by him/her.

por Emilee G

Sep 19, 2017

Too much info about evolution and apes etc, not enough with dogs. Good teacher, but not as helpful as I'd hoped.

por kelly g

May 28, 2018

I expect the course to concentrate on dog cognition and have a lot more information on dog behaviours and emotions. Although it did cover these areas i felt some weeks i didn't learn anything new about dogs

por Johanna G

May 25, 2016

Interesting subject & Basic idea to have a dog defined for the exercises is nice but w/o dog hard to benefit. A bit too much talking in front of a wall ;-) Could benefit from more illustrative material. Graphs / Videos / Pictures. Why not show examples of Dogs doing the games, that would be great for people who do not (yet) own a dog. I was hoping to get some insight into problematic dog behaviour but maybe that was wrong expectation.

por Mariana C L

Jul 16, 2017

En general está ok! pero siento que muchas clases son bastante repetitivas.

por LaVonia A S

Aug 26, 2015

Fun course!

por Verena S

Dec 17, 2015

I enjoyed a lot of this course, especially the parts about evolution and social intelligence. Very interesting!! However, as a professional dog trainer and having studied through the Karen Pryor Academy, I was VERY disappointed to see Brian Hare's misunderstanding of clicker training. I would be happy to chat with him about the realities of clicker training and how an event marker works, if he'd be interested ;)

Futhermore, I bought the book and paid for a certificate, but because I took over 180 days to complete the course (despite the course being "self-paced, with suggested deadlines to help you keep on track), I did not get my certificate and was informed that to get it I'd have to pay again for the same product.

por Amelie K

Dec 08, 2015

It was a little long before getting to the REALLY interesting stuff, but it's a good course for what you pay. I wish there were a follow up one, like a level 2.

I also wish that Brian didn't refer to groups of dogs as "dog packs" as dogs are not pack animals. This leads to confusion as dog owners will then believe that they need to be a pack leader and everything that comes with that stereotype. I also wish he didn't focus so much on the idea that dogs are from wolves, because again, many people revert to "this is how wolves are so this is how i treat my dog" it leads to confusion. Just read the comments on some threads. Even while doing this course, people were saying how they need to be a pack leader and how they follow what Cesar Milan does.

However, for those of us that know there is a difference, it was interesting to learn more about the differences between wolves and dogs. I just wish the course focused more on dogs

por Rosanna L

May 28, 2017

Interesting course, some of the videos were a little long for the information provided, but was good to hear about comparisons in dogs, wolves and apes and the experiments conducted.

por Kelly S

May 11, 2017

Wasn't my favorite but I enjoyed some of it.

por Rebecca r

Mar 27, 2019

This course was really interesting and has taught me a lot. However the first few weeks were not as focused on dogs, they tended to be more about apes and humans and evoution.

por Sandra O

Oct 29, 2019

I hadn't heard about ecological approach to cognition, and having someone explain the different ways in which different animals can be "smart" felt helpful even if a bit oversimplified.

That said, it felt a lot like an advertisement (worked on me, I think the product is cool) and a bit rushed in places (typos, some lectures with very little substance).

por Judi M H

Nov 06, 2018

videos are terribly boring.... lectures are very uneven in information and interest. Reading material is worthless. The idea of the course is good, but this one needs a lot more work for me to spend my valuable time on it.

This is basically an as for the instructor's book and a website called dognition. And it's a bad ad...

por Elisabeth M

Oct 01, 2015

Videos kept cutting out either entirely or the sound would cut out. Made it very difficult to follow.

por Jonathan G

Jan 17, 2018

I find this course redundant and useless. You can simply learn how to train your dog without having to take a course. You simply feed and training a dog not to bark, obey commands and obey verbal commands with some authority as dogs have a pack mentality. You do not need a course to learn this!

por Yuxi X

Mar 22, 2016

The professor talks too much about the website and his book! That doesn't make any sense!

por Sidney S

Feb 23, 2019

Not a lot of information if you have even minimal interest in the subject.

Seems more like advertising to go to his somewhat bogus site and spend money for ego and add to his "research."

por Selina R

Aug 27, 2018

Not to keen on spending $75 for a piece of paper that doesn't even mean anything it's not like the university that provides the course even recogonizes the course as literally anything why would anyone else? just because you paid $75! I could just make up a certificate and say I've got it and it would hold the same value as this, just because it's free doesn't mean it should be worthless....

por William A K

Oct 23, 2015

Not much here

por Kari S

Sep 07, 2015

Mostly just an ad for the instructor's startup. Very annoying.

por Annika G

Feb 05, 2016

The lecturer was an annoying speaker and very repetitive. I just couldn't listen to him... I'm sorry. There was also so much about human development etc that I started to wonder when the info about dogs would start....I found the formatting so different from other courses I've taken, that it was hard to get started and figure things out. Adding to that, was the constant interruption of the "paid certificate" page. If I answer "no" once, please leave me alone! I also think it's a bit suspect for a prof to be plugging his own book for one of these courses.

por Judith M

Feb 22, 2016

This was a giant advertisement and got tiresome very quickly.

por Dean M

Jun 12, 2017

Too much emphasis on a misguided belief in the religion of Darwinism. Focus more on real scientific evidence of dog behavior, and the course will be much better.