Chevron Left
Voltar para Algoritmos Aplicado ao Sequenciamento de DNA

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Algoritmos Aplicado ao Sequenciamento de DNA da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.7
estrelas
738 classificações
175 avaliações

Sobre o curso

We will learn computational methods -- algorithms and data structures -- for analyzing DNA sequencing data. We will learn a little about DNA, genomics, and how DNA sequencing is used. We will use Python to implement key algorithms and data structures and to analyze real genomes and DNA sequencing datasets....

Melhores avaliações

VK
7 de Ago de 2017

This course provided me a very quick overview of all the core concepts pertaining to DNA sequencing. It is very well organized, crystal clear demonstration of concepts and I really enjoyed the course.

KP
18 de Mai de 2020

Very good course this is. Just a little advice, please make the quiz questions more clear and more specific because one shouldn't waste time to understand a question which is very easy to implement.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 172 Avaliações para o Algoritmos Aplicado ao Sequenciamento de DNA

por Thomas L

26 de Mai de 2017

Great course. For the complexity of the subject, the presentations are relatively easy to follow because the teacher is articulate and clear and the slide decks are informative. The homework assignments are challenging but not frustratingly so. I would recommend some familiarity with a programming language (although knowledge of Python in particular is not necessary) and some interest in bioinformatics.

por Ricardo B L

30 de Dez de 2020

Some homework questions could have more detailed explanations of what is wanted , but overall there are examples to test the python codes needed for the assignments help a lot, although for some you can get the example results even if you done something wrong (and then the code not give the expected result for the homework questions). Besides that the course is very good, well explained and presented.

por Burak

17 de Mai de 2017

This was a very good course! It delivers what it promises successfully and help understand the problem of DNA sequencing. It is a very helpful course, explains domain terms and constructs a background for people that have no background in bioinformatics. It also addresses problems, algorithms that are used in this field and in programming assignments, it forces for the learner to implement them.

por Robert D

14 de Ago de 2019

Of the first four courses in the specialization, this is by far the best. The instructor is incredibly clear, teaches with an obvious interest in student learning, and conveys complex topics incredibly well. The practical sessions are an amazing addition and it is impressive to watch the algorithms come alive in such an elegant fashion. Both instructors in the practicals are exceptional.

por Nicholas Y

11 de Jan de 2019

This is one of the best courses I've seen so far, that explains and showcases main principles, fundamentals of genomics, algorithms. Lectures are very informative and use metaphors for person to understand complex tasks in simple manner. I loved practicals as you could go along with the lecture in parallel, seeing how such algorithms were made and what steps to take while doing so. 5/5

por Kasper T K

27 de Nov de 2017

This course, is the absolute best course of the entire specialization!

The way the assignments are structured, relative to how well each video explains the contents of each subject, is so fullfilling that very little help is needed to complete homework assignments and quizzes! Small examples are even included, to make it possible to test your solution!!

por Cheng J

12 de Nov de 2018

The course is very helpful to me,especially the code that the professor assistants wrote in the class. There are some algorithms have mentioned and completed ,but I think if the class talked about the software like BWA, BFAST and other DNA sequence or De novo assembly software, it will be more perfect and helpful. Finally ,thank you for your work

por Damian D

14 de Jul de 2020

Definitely you need to know some basic python. The better your programming skills the better basically. But other than that the course is fantastic. The tutors explain all the smallest details very well and exams are very clear. It was a pleasure working through this course even if I got stuck multiple times during exams. Forum helps a bit.

por Yuqi Z

21 de Jul de 2020

I really appreciate the format of combing lectures and practicals. We can understand the concepts behind algorithms and actually know how to implement them. I like the metaphor of puzzles vs genome reads throughout the course which made the concepts easy and clear. Thank you for all the efforts that you put into this course!

por Mohamed E

24 de Ago de 2018

this is just so good. i did take a lot of courses online and in my university on bioinformatics and this is the best course design i saw so far. i had to take pauses while watching the lectures to appreciate how much effort the creators of the course put to make it this connected and comprehensive. thank you!

por Nate R

10 de Ago de 2016

Already having a computer science background, this module was right in my comfort zone. The instructors not only got down and dirty with the technical aspects of the algorithms, they preceded each practical coding session with multiple lectures with great explanations and well thought out visualizations.

por Matt C

3 de Mai de 2017

Great but too short. I realize that it is hard to know where to start the course from but it is true that the Introductory Course for the Genomics Specialization has a lot of over lapping material. I suggest getting rid of your intro material and go just a little farther in depth.

Thanks, MC

por Doris P

9 de Abr de 2020

I really like the practical sessions, and that all code is very well decomposed. The explanations are very well suited, and I have never done any genome analysis, also never wrote code in Python, but I was able to follow. Thank you for this great, and very engaging course.

por Ian P

28 de Mai de 2018

Good course, well presented. There was some linking with the underlying biology though I would have liked more of this. Even though the course is essentially about generic string processing algorithms, it needs to be kept focused on the genomics - which mostly it was.

por Charles W

4 de Jul de 2020

I thought some of the programming questions for Week 2 were harder than the others, but I think this was a very clear and well-organized class!

I think there also fewer typos and inaccuracies than other Coursera courses, so thank you very much for your careful work!

por Jason M

10 de Nov de 2017

Overall I have a much better understanding of the connection between the algo choices and the genetics and machine limitations. The material and quizzes are explained extremely well. Some of the quiz questions are extremely complex, which I like. Good s***!

por Davide A

6 de Ago de 2020

Definitely the best course within the Genomic Data Science specialization so far! Great mix of theoretical intro to algorithms and data structures and their application to DNA sequencing. Thanks to Ben Langmead and Jacob Pritt, good job!

por Amós E d S

31 de Mai de 2021

It​'s a very challenging course but it worth the effort. If you are coming from a biological background, and not computer science, you might need to study the Python programing language simultaneously, to be able to do the exercises.

por Dirk J

7 de Set de 2017

Nice to learn the basic stuff on how alignments and assembly software works. Very good job in how the topic is explained to the students with writing code dynamically. Not easy but you learn a lot on how things work and programming.

por David T

25 de Jan de 2020

Great course. The lectures were wonderful, short but packed with useful info . The homework's were just the right amount of difficulty without being time sinks, and I learned more about data structures in addition to DNA assembly.

por Cristian L

30 de Mai de 2017

Excellent course, great teachers, the topics have been exposed smoothly for every level of expertise at bioinformatics. Hoping they make a second part with the others nice videos the teacher has in his Youtube channel.

por Konstantinos K

10 de Out de 2019

Excellent course and excellent instructors! This course had really good content and I learned a lot in a field I already work in. Recommend to anyone who want to learn more On Algorithms for DNA Sequencing!

por Rita P

6 de Jun de 2017

This is the one course out of the genomics data science specialization that I found easy to follow and informative. The quizzes were challenging, but provided enough from the lectures to solve yourself.

por vaddadi n s k

8 de Ago de 2017

This course provided me a very quick overview of all the core concepts pertaining to DNA sequencing. It is very well organized, crystal clear demonstration of concepts and I really enjoyed the course.

por Ouyang Y

11 de Jun de 2020

I really enjoined this course. The course material and instructions are very clear and helpful, although the problems will take some time to solve especially if you are not very familiar with python.