Chevron Left
Voltar para Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I)

Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I), University of California San Diego

4.7
370 classificações
81 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

Named a top 50 MOOC of all time by Class Central! This course begins a series of classes illustrating the power of computing in modern biology. Please join us on the frontier of bioinformatics to look for hidden messages in DNA without ever needing to put on a lab coat. In the first half of the course, we investigate DNA replication, and ask the question, where in the genome does DNA replication begin? We will see that we can answer this question for many bacteria using only some straightforward algorithms to look for hidden messages in the genome. In the second half of the course, we examine a different biological question, when we ask which DNA patterns play the role of molecular clocks. The cells in your body manage to maintain a circadian rhythm, but how is this achieved on the level of DNA? Once again, we will see that by knowing which hidden messages to look for, we can start to understand the amazingly complex language of DNA. Perhaps surprisingly, we will apply randomized algorithms, which roll dice and flip coins in order to solve problems. Finally, you will get your hands dirty and apply existing software tools to find recurring biological motifs within genes that are responsible for helping Mycobacterium tuberculosis go "dormant" within a host for many years before causing an active infection....

Melhores avaliações

por LL

Nov 13, 2017

Very tough but rewarding class. The programming part was easy, the algorithms kicked my butt. Love the challenge and can't wait to take the rest!!! Such an interesting field!

por MP

Dec 04, 2017

Nice and recommended.\n\n(The final exam was a bit tedious though, with many points repeatedly given simply for "uploading the logo" and not much creative leeway)

Filtrar por:

77 avaliações

por Julian Alexander Stanley

Oct 16, 2018

Clear and well-formatted. No instructional support in the forums was disappointing, though.

por Olaf Wied

Oct 02, 2018

Great content, very well structured. Loved the interactive text with the graded coding exercises.

por Shiv Haris

Sep 28, 2018

Good Course but at times difficult to understand.

por Shengbo Wang

Sep 10, 2018

It is really helpful!

por Oscar Javier Ortega Recalde

Aug 14, 2018

Really nice and clear course. The hands-on learning is fundamental to create a smooth transition between algorithms and biology.

por Saif-AlDin

Aug 03, 2018

I have received financial aid because I was interested in the bioinformatics field and was reading alot about it and wanted to start my first course, it was my biggest mistake that I have chosen this course. It is awfully explained, terrible accent, basically a course with 50% information for beginners and 50% for coders and the quiz for week 2 just pumped my blood pressure to the roof, this course is in no way to be called for beginners and the interactive text is a mess and it is no way as a biotechnologist that I am going to recommend this course to anyone !, I need to apologize for coursera company for giving me aid for this COURSE !

note : this course is basically like a money grab, it is not enough that you are on their course they actually from Minute one advertise for their book vol 1 and 2... such a joke.

All in all I am stopping this course because the knowledge I am gaining from this course is 1 on the scale of 10, and the amount of confusion and frustration and disappointment I am getting is 10 on the scale of 10 !!

I really hope coursera can forgive my dropping out of this course and allows me to get a financial aid at an actual course

por Juris Laivins

Jul 30, 2018

This course is very very good. Challenging at times. It does not hold your hand at all times and sometimes requires research to solve some of the problems, but I like the community and the approach.

por Jonathon Todd

Jul 27, 2018

Instructions are often not clear and require you to read the comments to even grasp what the problems are asking for. Also the format for teaching is to teach you a bad way to solve a problem then go "well that didn't work out, lets try a different way." I felt these were a waste of my time as I sat around trying to understand why I was being asked to solve a problem in such an inefficient manner.

por TeriLynn Stackhouse

Jul 09, 2018

The two platform format is quite complex. But the material is excellent!

por Dr Samuel Channon

Jun 29, 2018

A great introduction to this topic. I really felt I came away from this course with some useful skills.