Chevron Left
Voltar para From Disease to Genes and Back

Comentários e feedback de alunos de From Disease to Genes and Back da instituição Universidade Estadual de Novosibirsk

4.6
estrelas
217 classificações
41 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Human genetics explores the genetically determined similarities and differences between human beings. This scientific discipline encompasses a variety of related fields such as molecular genetics, genomics, population genetics and medical genetics. Study of human genetics can help to find answers to questions regarding the inheritance and development of different human phenotypes. The field of medical genetics is quickly growing and dynamically developing thanks to the new technologies such as the next-generation sequencing. Most human diseases have a genetic component. This genetic component varies by disease. Some rare diseases appear to be completely determined by the genome, whereas more common diseases arise from a complex interplay of many genes, the environment and chance. The understanding of how our genomes contribute to disease susceptibility offers the prospect of large gains: it may guide disease diagnostics and prognostics and help in developing new therapies. The overall goal of this course is to describe how the researchers find genes responsible for different diseases and how this information is used to better understand and fight these diseases. You will learn about current approaches for finding single genetic variants underlying monogenic (Mendelian) diseases and sets of variants responsible for more complex, multifactorial ones. Furthermore, you will learn how the identification of these genetic variants makes it possible to understand how the affected biological pathways lead to disease development. During the final week of the course, we will talk more about clinical applications of the genetic findings. Upon completing the course, you will be able to: - give examples of monogenic and complex disorders - recognise patterns of Mendelian inheritance of monogenic diseases; - understand and describe principles and methods of gene mapping ; - describe the main steps and principles of genome-wide association studies (GWAS); - give examples of modern technologies that are currently used to find variants underlying human diseases; - discuss the approaches to finding causative variants underlying complex disorders; - discuss the possibilities and areas of application of genetic findings....

Melhores avaliações

PF
3 de Dez de 2020

Awesome course, great lectures :D Agree though that this is more of an intermediate course, so probably not the best for beginners. :D

AP
29 de Jun de 2020

I have done couple of courses online, this one is something different.It engages and updates you.Thanks for the knowledge shared.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 42 Avaliações para o From Disease to Genes and Back

por Mohamed N S M E

1 de Fev de 2020

Very informative course. It was most fruitful in week 4 about genome wide association studies (GWAS).

por Farbod E L

27 de Set de 2018

Highly recommended!

An interesting, up-to-date course with eye-catching and well designed videos.

por Dayan V

13 de Abr de 2020

It is a complete course for specially biotechnology and genetics. Not only the medical and biological aspect is explained but also the mathematical: how to understand and calculate genetic information/data. Im about to enter to the university so I do not have any higher education, however it was actually not that difficult if you study every day!

por lcy9086

7 de Nov de 2019

this is a fairly hard course(especially for week 4) I would not suggest anyone who is not studying in this field to take it. More help and clearer illustrations are definitely needed to complete this course and understand the material

por amoulay

27 de Mar de 2021

This is an amazing course. Weeks 4 and 5 were a bit f a challenge but overall, excellent work. My only wish is that the course should have a real practical example of GWAS study to takes students through the many steps of the computational and statistical analysis. Perhaps something to think about for a future edition of the course.

por Analeigh G

3 de Abr de 2018

This course is well organised. The course materials are new. I've learnt many of the concepts in this course years ago. I feel many of my knowledge is outdated. This course is a great refreshment and add-on.

por Diego

18 de Set de 2020

Realmente un curso muy informativo y muy interesante, aunque no son necesarios conocimientos previos recomiendo que la persona que tome el curso tenga conocimiento básico de biología molecular y Genética

por Patricia A F

4 de Dez de 2020

Awesome course, great lectures :D Agree though that this is more of an intermediate course, so probably not the best for beginners. :D

por RA H

3 de Out de 2019

Loved the course though I believe there´re some topics that could be explained in a better detail as in the case of population genetics and estimations of some math calculations but in general the course is really great, remarkable lecturers. Recommended.

por ABIRE A

18 de Jul de 2020

It is a really interesting course, very enriching for me as a medical doctor interested in genetics and research. I hardly recommend it for all scientists and students working on genetics research and application

por Francisco A

28 de Jul de 2021

A​ very interesting course, it gives you a very close view of the best approaches to identify causative genes in human populations. It doesn't spend too much time reviewing basic Genetics concepts. Instead, it deepens on the methods to identify potential problems in the analysis of data from DNA sequencing, giving good advice on how to avoid false positives. I truly recommend this course to anybody who wants to know more about how to identify causative genes for rare diseases.

por PRACHI S O

24 de Mai de 2020

Very Interesting subject!! All the professors explained it in a very simple way, easy to understand. Quizzes before and after session and weekly are very useful - must to attempt to understand where we are.

I strongly suggest it for Biological Science students interested in Human Genetics. Thanks a lot to all professors!!!

por Чуйко Э А

24 de Nov de 2018

Очень классный курс. Прям видны огромные старания, которые стоят за этой работой! Годнотаааа. Просто огромное спасибо авторам курса за прекрасный материал! Даже после прохождения курса будет полезным возвращаться к нему. И отдельное спасибо за огромное количество дополнительного материала! В общем 10/10, мастхев.

por Thennakoon M D D

26 de Jul de 2020

Such a excellent and informative course!!!!!!!I have learnt new concepts in deep.They are very useful for my studies.I would like to thank to all the lecturers and coursera for giving me this golden opportunity.Again thank you!!!

por Esra Y

24 de Out de 2019

It was really helpful for me to refresh my memory and learn additional information. It helped me a lot in order to study in order and to cover all the topics that I should review.

por Anuradha P

30 de Jun de 2020

I have done couple of courses online, this one is something different.It engages and updates you.Thanks for the knowledge shared.

por Eric B

5 de Abr de 2021

This is an excellent course, very clear. I was not expecting that much of coverage and depth. Easily worth the 5 star ratings

por D S i A

10 de Mai de 2021

the course is exceptional and the teachers are great in dealing with the details of the course

por JOHN Q

30 de Dez de 2017

Fun and interesting course. Great review of material I had forgotten, sadly.

por Томилин М А

16 de Dez de 2019

ТОП What a great course, thanks all the cousemakers for such a nice work.

por Zaeem Z

26 de Mar de 2020

this is extremely good course and it was very helpful for my research

por Mishaal F

10 de Out de 2020

the entire journey was filled with lot of knowledge, thank you

por Hrushikesh L

9 de Ago de 2020

Nice introduction to genetics behind complex diseases

por Tanisi R

9 de Ago de 2020

amazing course. very informative and well explained.

por Ruddhi S M

30 de Jun de 2020

Loved it, gained lots of knowledge. Thankyou .