Chevron Left
Voltar para Preparação para Emergências e Desastres

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Preparação para Emergências e Desastres da instituição Universidade de Pittsburgh

4.7
estrelas
1,376 classificações
408 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Have you ever viewed a news report depicting the aftermath of a devastating natural disaster? The damage to human life and property are both staggering and heartbreaking. All parts of the world face the possibility of floods, hurricanes, tornados, fires, landslides, earthquakes, tsunamis, and other natural phenomena. Are you prepared if disaster would strike you? This course will help you prepare! The course is appropriate for any learner who is proactive about developing the core competencies of disaster readiness and survival planning. It is especially useful if you are seeking techniques that can ensure your personal protection, as well as the safety of your family, property, and belongings, during a natural disaster. In addition, it offers essential preparation for a variety of emergency situations and inconveniences, even if you do not live in major tornado, flood, hurricane, tsunami, or earthquake zone. For instance, could you and your loved ones manage without access to potable water, electricity, fuel, and banking facilities? If you are unsure of your ability to respond in any of these possible scenarios, this course is for you! Throughout the course, you will be introduced to the Disaster Cycle, specifically the Mitigation and Recovery phases, and will create an extensive personal preparedness plan for survival in the absence of common amenities, such as food and water, shelter, and communication. You will also acquire practical, easy-to-apply strategies for maintaining a healthy attitude during disaster which can allow you to remain calm, avoid panic, and draw upon inner and outer resources in dire circumstances. Although death may be an inevitable outcome of extreme circumstances, a balanced outlook can provide comfort for all parties involved. Finally, issues of how institutions and governments can aid in disaster are also discussed. If you are interested in this topic you may be interested in other online programs at the University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing. Learn more about those programs by visiting our website: http://www.online.pitt.edu/programs/school-of-nursing/...

Melhores avaliações

CH
30 de Jan de 2017

Really great course that's paced well. I believe this is a course everyone should and CAN take! These things are important to know especially if you live in an area where disasters are prone.

JL
7 de Out de 2020

grateful to have this kind of Course in here while having sponsor. Most important course because it teaches the basic surviving skills and safety during disaster. likewise, Safety First!

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 409 Avaliações para o Preparação para Emergências e Desastres

por Francis D Y

4 de Jan de 2021

Very impressive course, provides real methodology for survival in challenging times. Defines diaster and the preparedness in dealing with most circumstances.

The Home Plan Preparedness Exercise is an excellent way to actually be ready for most sudden and unexpected disaster scenarios.

por Raul J S

3 de Nov de 2020

It is very much interesting and useful not only during disasters but also in our daily life, I appreciate the last topic which is wilderness survival. I realize how important is the knowledge being taught in this topic.

Thank you very much coursera, More power to you! God bless!

por Benjamin P I

16 de Jun de 2020

The training was really helpful and very informative. All the concept was well summarized and delivered properly. I can appreciate how my instructors take time to deliver their lessons to us learners in a more simpler way. In that sense, it made us understand things easily.

por Marilou E B

3 de Jul de 2020

Developing a disaster preparedness plan requires you to pre-plan how you'll respond, regroup,and communicate in the event of disaster, and keeps everyone in your household aware of the steps they need to take. Your plan should be written down and should need to include.

por PSSg M M

8 de Abr de 2021

This online course is awesome,you have a lot of learnings from this ,and really help a lot in our day to day activity especially in times of disaster.Its worth it,and its really practical.Thank you for sharing and imparting all of your knowledge to us as a student.

por angelina c

11 de Fev de 2021

Very helpful and practical course. It helped me ( and other family members) make our family disaster preparedness plan. I feel that being aware makes one more prepared psychologically for any type of disaster or difficult times. Highly recommended course.

por Reny A

9 de Jul de 2020

A must have course! Everybody should do disaster preparedness to protect his own family / community in other to help each other and knowing what to do to survive and recover. Thank you so much Mr. Michael Beach, the course is really applicable. Love it!

por PLTCOL H L

20 de Abr de 2021

It widened my horizon on Disaster Preparedness. It enabled me to organize the inherent passion for family safety which made me designed safeety features and procedures and physically and mentally trained my family as a preparation for disastrous event

por Muhammad A

24 de Mar de 2020

I have learned many things relating to how we need to be prepared when it comes to an emergency situations whether it could be natural or man made disaster. Disaster Preparedness by the University of Pittsburgh is a great platform to learn.

por Melissa A

11 de Jul de 2020

Great course! I learned a lot and gathered very useful information. This will come handy in case we encounter a disaster. This is something we don't want to happen but it is also better to be prepared at all times. Thank you, Prof Breach!

por Krista M

7 de Mar de 2020

Very well written and lead by the professor. Expanded my knowledge and built on what I already knew from previous similar courses. Would definitely recommend for someone who is either just starting or wants to increase their understanding

por Emmanuel A Y

14 de Mai de 2020

I am currently studying Bsc. Fire and Disaster Management in Ghana, the knowledge gained here is very broad and has widened my scope and perspective on disaster preparedness. This will go a long way in enriching my experience and resume.

por Sellappan

27 de Jul de 2020

Very interesting course. Learned how to safeguard our self from disaster and learned new things such as Jump kit & disaster preparedness. The way of teaching & carrying the course till the end is highly interesting & appreciable.

por Theresa W

10 de Out de 2017

Very timely. I am grateful for the opportunity to get some good information on preparedness with out the hype of the WTSHTF ideology. Preparedness should be a common goal for any emergency, or at least the most predictable ones.

por Muhammad I H

17 de Mai de 2020

I think it should add "basic" to the title. So it become Basic of Disaster Preparedness. But the course is really useful since it Disaster is come without any notification before. So we have to ready and stay alert at all time.

por Almaz K

29 de Fev de 2016

The course helped me a lot to gain fundamental understanding of emergency preparedness plan, right attitude and awareness of how to act in a disaster. I would recommend this course!

Regards,

Almaz Kassymkulov

Astana, Kazakhstan

por Bariul M

28 de Jun de 2020

Excellent Course. I am very much pleased to complete this course smoothly, it was a great opportunity for me to learn new and updated things. Special thanks to my Instructor Micheal Beach and thanks to Coursera.

por Jesus B J

23 de Dez de 2020

Very informative and extensive for someone who has little to no knowledge on Disaster Preparedness. The professor was very articulate and knowledgeable on the subject matter. Will recommend to other colleagues.

por natalie d

12 de Mar de 2020

Learnt so much, also realised that we are fortunate in Cape Town that we are not faced with so many disasters. All the best to you all who experience various disasters and are always prepared for it. God bless

por RITESH G

10 de Out de 2017

Excellent Course. The case studies from Japan are really informative and give a good insight into the Disaster Management System. The modules on Personal Preparedness are a must for everyone in today's time.

por Divina S D

24 de Set de 2021

This course will help a lot of people prepare ahead in the eventuality of natural disasters. Kudos to the Michael Beach, his co-author and his guests for this enlightening course. I have learned a lot.

por Alfredo P

20 de Dez de 2016

Very good course that gives you the basic information about preparedness.

It would be very interesting to know how to take a practical course in disaster preparedness and survival techniques

por Tatiana M

18 de Mai de 2020

very practical in developing your personal preparedness plan, awareness and knowledge of what to do and expect when disasters strike. Excellent pace, thorough and very good resources.

por Alan C R

6 de Dez de 2019

Exceptional class, very organized by the Professor and beneficial to those of us in the healthcare space AND for anyone interested in being prepared for local or regional disasters.

por Nolly I

15 de Fev de 2021

The course offered is timely and relevant and designed for the safety and mitigation plan to achieve a rapid and effective recovery. thank you for sharing such amazing course.