Chevron Left
Voltar para Preparação para Emergências e Desastres

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Preparação para Emergências e Desastres da instituição Universidade de Pittsburgh

4.7
326 classificações
99 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Have you ever viewed a news report depicting the aftermath of a devastating natural disaster? The damage to human life and property are both staggering and heartbreaking. All parts of the world face the possibility of floods, hurricanes, tornados, fires, landslides, earthquakes, tsunamis, and other natural phenomena. Are you prepared if disaster would strike you? This course will help you prepare! The course is appropriate for any learner who is proactive about developing the core competencies of disaster readiness and survival planning. It is especially useful if you are seeking techniques that can ensure your personal protection, as well as the safety of your family, property, and belongings, during a natural disaster. In addition, it offers essential preparation for a variety of emergency situations and inconveniences, even if you do not live in major tornado, flood, hurricane, tsunami, or earthquake zone. For instance, could you and your loved ones manage without access to potable water, electricity, fuel, and banking facilities? If you are unsure of your ability to respond in any of these possible scenarios, this course is for you! Throughout the course, you will be introduced to the Disaster Cycle, specifically the Mitigation and Recovery phases, and will create an extensive personal preparedness plan for survival in the absence of common amenities, such as food and water, shelter, and communication. You will also acquire practical, easy-to-apply strategies for maintaining a healthy attitude during disaster which can allow you to remain calm, avoid panic, and draw upon inner and outer resources in dire circumstances. Although death may be an inevitable outcome of extreme circumstances, a balanced outlook can provide comfort for all parties involved. Finally, issues of how institutions and governments can aid in disaster are also discussed. If you are interested in this topic you may be interested in other online programs at the University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing. Learn more about those programs by visiting our website: http://www.online.pitt.edu/programs/school-of-nursing/...

Melhores avaliações

CH

Jan 31, 2017

Really great course that's paced well. I believe this is a course everyone should and CAN take! These things are important to know especially if you live in an area where disasters are prone.

EB

Oct 05, 2015

Excellent course, logically put together and well presented. It raises multiple issues, some of which we were aware of but had not addressed and others which we had not even considered.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Preparação para Emergências e Desastres

por Dr N N

Jul 23, 2019

Definitely, it is a great guide line for 'disaster preparedness'. Course is well planned, very informative and interesting too.

Yet, there is scope to improve the course by providing more specific knowledge related to specific disaster.

Thank you.

por Emilio C

Mar 03, 2019

Practical, targeted course, quite based on US vision, but applicable in many other contexts. Some of the links to external material do not work any longer, it would be great if they could be reviewed. In any case, thank you very much for having compiled this useful knowledge!

por Monira A

Oct 10, 2018

very informative and clear

por Francisco P

Feb 25, 2016

Thanks for thie great course I am enjoy it so much

All the Best

por Marcos G

Dec 08, 2015

Very important course!

por Emma B

Oct 05, 2015

Excellent course, logically put together and well presented. It raises multiple issues, some of which we were aware of but had not addressed and others which we had not even considered.

por Adrian M

Nov 17, 2015

Great and very important!

por Syed M U

Apr 08, 2018

awesome course

por Theresa W

Oct 11, 2017

Very timely. I am grateful for the opportunity to get some good information on preparedness with out the hype of the WTSHTF ideology. Preparedness should be a common goal for any emergency, or at least the most predictable ones.

por Nnamdi O

Nov 03, 2015

Interesting Course

por Daniel C

Oct 04, 2016

Lots of good information.

por Elizabeth C

Dec 10, 2015

relevant course for everyone to take

por Alfredo P

Dec 20, 2016

Very good course that gives you the basic information about preparedness.

It would be very interesting to know how to take a practical course in disaster preparedness and survival techniques

por Jose

Nov 13, 2015

Very

por Dr A A

Nov 22, 2016

Well described course and it helps me to improve my understanding on disaster preparedness.

por JULIA

Feb 20, 2016

This class is amazing, informative and full of useful information. Highly recommend this class.

por Kerry W

Dec 30, 2015

Good info for the novice

por RITESH G

Oct 11, 2017

Excellent Course. The case studies from Japan are really informative and give a good insight into the Disaster Management System. The modules on Personal Preparedness are a must for everyone in today's time.

por Perumalu K

Nov 17, 2017

Great course thanks to the teachers and coursera for creating this wonderful opportunities to learn l will definitely recommend to my friends.

por Noel C

Jun 12, 2017

Great course, really enjoyed it.

por MOBIN S

Aug 15, 2017

Great learning!

por Brent H

Jun 07, 2018

wonderful course, learned quite a bit in this course.

por Renato F

Jan 25, 2017

ótimo!

por Javier E S M

Sep 28, 2017

A great course. Thank you

por Justin D

Dec 03, 2015

The course was very interesting an informative. I feel much more prepared for if an unfortunate scenario is to present itself to me and the family. I'm very glad for this opportunity I received and the knowledge I now possess. Thanks.

-Justin Dougherty Winter Park, FL