Chevron Left
Voltar para Diabetes – the Essential Facts

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Diabetes – the Essential Facts da instituição Universidade de Copenhague

4.7
estrelas
1,791 classificações

Sobre o curso

Across the world more than 420 million people are living with diabetes. Two thirds of these have not yet been diagnosed. When discovered late or managed incorrectly, diabetes can damage your heart, blood vessels, eyes, kidneys, and nerves, leading to disability and premature death. In fact, more people are dying of diabetes related diseases than of diseases as HIV/AIDS, malaria and tuberculosis combined. This course will provide you with an introduction to the most recent research in the field of prevention and treatment of diabetes as well as a broader understanding of the situation in different communities, rich and poor, across the world, where diabetes threatens public health. What kind of disease is diabetes, who has it, and who is at risk of getting it? And what are the roles of medicine, exercise and nutrition when trying to prevent, delay or treat diabetes? During the course you will meet researchers and experts from Imperial College London, Emory University in Atlanta, Steno Diabetes Center in Copenhagen as well as the School of Global Health and the Center for Basic Metabolic Research at the University of Copenhagen. They work with very different aspects of diabetes, from microbiology to global public health, but what ties them together is the belief that it is a global responsibility to combat diabetes, and this fight can only be won through new knowledge and global collaboration. We hope you will join us in the course and equip yourself to take part in the ongoing discussions of this truly global and individual health challenge. This course is also part of the EIT Health programme....

Melhores avaliações

OB

4 de out de 2020

Only thing not furnished that is fasting glucose and pp glucose ranging should be furnished. And also the glucose tolerance test result and Hb1AC test result ranges to be discussed during the course.

LL

6 de dez de 2017

This was an awesome short course which I would recommend to anyone who is interested in diabetes or other chronic diseases. I learned a lot about different ways you could possibly prevent diabetes.

Filtrar por:

376 — 400 de 453 Avaliações para o Diabetes – the Essential Facts

por JATINBHAI J

5 de ago de 2022

good

por محمد ا د ب

30 de mai de 2022

GOOD

por sherin a

30 de abr de 2022

good

por Kayitana G

2 de dez de 2020

Best

por Anirban P

18 de ago de 2020

Best

por Noura

6 de jul de 2020

good

por Hemavathi.I

6 de jul de 2020

Good

por Swapna A

16 de jun de 2020

Good

por NARAYANASAMY. K

10 de jun de 2020

Good

por Md S S

4 de jun de 2020

goog

por JISMILA K

27 de mai de 2020

Good

por Md H A

22 de mai de 2020

Nice

por Sharanabasava P

14 de mai de 2020

Nice

por Adithi

7 de mai de 2020

Nice

por Aparna s

6 de jan de 2020

Nyc

por Mohammad h

29 de mai de 2022

ةة

por Abdirashid A

5 de mar de 2022

A

por Daniel A D

23 de mar de 2017

I

por Nita A

31 de jan de 2022

I took this course to see what the current thinking was and get different perspectives from other countries.

I found the course content interesting and relevant. The readings were fairly simple to digest as they consisted mainly of consumer blogs. A great place to start if you're looking for more information as many listed references.

In regards to learning from discussions and assignments, I don't rate the peer review system for this course. I reviewed 8 submissions and there were examples of plagerism in all of them. One was almost enirely copied and pasted. There also tended to be a higher value placed on including stats into assignments despite relevance being poorly correlated. And some sort of grade exchange where other students posted requests for feedback in return for positive feedback. I was of the belief that assignments were allocated randomly but soon came to the realisation that I would never complete the course if I didn't share my assignment links.

The value of the course is in the content which was great! Grades are irrelevant for this course. However, based on the lack of moderation of this aspect, I would not pay for a course from this provider or accept a certificate from an employee as proof of professional development.

por CARLOS R A H

26 de abr de 2021

The course was very informative about diabetes as a whole, and involved a lot of people that are very well prepared in the topic. What I didn't like, however, was the fact that lectures were way too long. I think they couldbe shortened into smaller videos. Also, I, as a type 1 diabetic, would like to know more about type one, but this course revolves mostly around type 2.

por Delphine L

15 de set de 2020

Very good introduction to what Diabetes is and how it is becoming a growing issue in the world. Strong focus on the power of healthy diet and exercise to reduce the risk of Diabetes Type 2. Showcased a lot of research and experts in the field and made for a strong impact in raising awareness of the issues and the potential solutions available to all of us.

por Augusto M

15 de mai de 2018

"Diabetes - the Essential Facts" is a great source of information for those particularly interested in the field. Current research, experts' opinion and global epidemiology discussion (all provided in an interactive fashion, quick pace). Nevertheless, I personally think it was lacking some discussion over clinical points - I am a medical student.

por Maimouna J R

23 de jun de 2021

I would like to thank all the researchers, professors, doctors and others involved in this course. I would like to thank Coursera for providing me with an opportunity to gain more knowledge on an often neglected major issue "diabetes". I would love to explore and learn more on various subjects.

Thank you once again.

por Alison H

22 de nov de 2020

This is a great introductory course for diabetes. I would recommend everyone to take this course. This course taught me a lot more about diabetes than I had previously known. It has really changed my perspective on diabetes and diabetics.

por Zeitel B

4 de mar de 2021

Very informational , yet at times the speakers were dry and not very interesting to listen too. which sometimes made it extra hard to actually retain the material. Loved that last assignment.