Chevron Left
Voltar para Designing the Organization: From Strategy to Organizational Structure

Designing the Organization: From Strategy to Organizational Structure, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.4
468 classificações
81 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

In this course you will understand how firms are organized, what factors must be taken into account in making critical design decisions, and what role managers play in making these choices. In order to answer these questions, we will first develop a conceptual process model that links business models, external and internal contingencies, and organizational design. Second, we will focus on the fundamental principles of organization design and what alternative design choices are available for managers. Finally, we will apply these concepts and ideas to organizational situations to develop the critical insights and decision making skills to build effective organizations. Learners: • Will understand how managers create value through their organizations • Will have a good understanding of the fundamental principles and factors important to organizational design • Will be able to design the coordination, control, and performance measurement systems to manage an organization. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Melhores avaliações

por LA

Jul 16, 2017

Professor Leblebici is incredible teacher, and the Courses' materials are so powerful, and very important to learn how to implement them almost in any type of business!

por JR

Sep 22, 2017

Watch the summary videos at the end of module four of managing the organization first, they provide great structure to attach your learning to.

Filtrar por:

80 avaliações

por CAROLINA PALACIO POSADA

Nov 22, 2018

Was good to review the structure of an organisation and the way that we should make decisions related with the design to be more competitive.

por Craig Du Mont

Oct 31, 2018

This course got me thinking, asking questions, reading intently and responding thoughtfully.

por Nadia Guerrera

Oct 30, 2018

This was a great course, I really learned a lot.

por Martin Knazovicky

Oct 04, 2018

Interesting and topical. Great refresher as well as source of new ideas.

por Raul Narciso Carvalho Guedes

Sep 30, 2018

Good course with solid content. The earlier portion, modules 1 & 2, were somehow thougher to follow, unlike the 2nd portion and the two previous course by Prof. Gregory Northcraft. Regardless, it is worthy learning.

por Mr.Zaw Zaw Oo

Sep 18, 2018

This research based specialization has provided the fundamental knowledge and essential skills in from daily strategic leadership to Managing organization effectively; you will see how the course is precise and concise that leads the potential leverage for achieving your organization’s goals and sustaining its long-term success.

por Almas Azam Syed

Sep 07, 2018

I did not find this course relatable to the Specialization.

por Shi Yini

Aug 06, 2018

The course is good and the professor teaches very well, especially the powerpoint is very clear.

por Garth Gibbes

Jul 25, 2018

Great information which is applicable to my workplace.

por Richard M. (Mike) Durand Jr.

Jun 24, 2018

I enjoyed taking Designing the Organization: From Strategy to Organizational Structure, which is my third course in the Strategic Leadership & Management Coursera specialization with the University of Illinois. I enjoyed all aspects of the course because it gave me insight into how organizations come together, and the strategies that should be employed when putting together organizations. I unknowingly followed many of these principles when putting together organizations and teams, and the course showed me where I made mistakes, and outlined some course corrections for me for the future. Due to business needs I took quite a bit of time to complete this course, but I still got a lot out of the course. I think the most recent study, Week 4: Elements of Organizational Design - Integration was one of my favorite areas of the course. Once you set on a path to put an organization together, you do have to integrate, and the organization needs to execute on its objectives. I particularly like the last reflection essay, which I did on Why Corporate Functions Stumble, as I found a lot of applicability to my own work in this article.