Chevron Left
Voltar para Designing Cities

Designing Cities, University of Pennsylvania

4.7
409 classificações
101 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

Each module in Designing Cities will focus on a different aspect of city design including: How Today’s City Evolved; The Ideas That Shape Cities; Tools for Designing Cities; Making Cities Sustainable; Cities in the Information Age; Preserving Older Cities; Designing New Cities, Districts and Neighborhoods; The Challenges of Informal Cities and Disadvantaged Neighborhoods; and Visionary Cities. Materials will be presented by the instructors and guest faculty from PennDesign through a series of five or more lessons per module, each typically 10-12 minutes long. The first lesson in each module will be a roundtable discussion among professors Stefan Al, Jonathan Barnett, and Gary Hack introducing the big issues associated with the subject. Each succeeding module will be a self-contained illustrated presentation of a set of ideas and images. There will be a list of suggested readings for those who wish to follow up on the ideas in each module. Everyone enrolled in Designing Cities will be expected to complete 3 assignments. These will be posted on the course site and they will be in the form of peer assessments. There will be a great deal to be learned from the ideas participants submit, reflecting cities of all sizes and circumstances across the globe so once you submit your assignment, you'll be able to see what your peers have done....

Melhores avaliações

por JG

Apr 19, 2016

good course, however, it was almost impossible to figure out how to do some of the assignments. I have no idea how to do PDF files. Although, I learned some of the key concepts easily.

por BR

Jul 03, 2016

I like the way what we have learned in this course. The material, concepts & professors. The only issue is with the platform, in the referenced reading, we have to buy all this books?

Filtrar por:

100 avaliações

por Muhammad Farooq

Sep 08, 2018

Indeed a very elaborate and technical approach followed by the respected professors towards designing this course taking in view the modern day challenges and planning techniques needed for planners across the glob, A very well designed and taught course i would recommend this course to every one whether they are planners, architects and designers.

por E

Jul 20, 2018

Interesting course showing the complexity and enormous task of the responsibilities involved to accommodate to the well-being of millions of people. People, being a most difficult and stubborn species to please.

por Ayushi Agarwal

Jul 20, 2018

Except the peer review system, i liked the course.

After all, a student from one country cannot judge the situation of a city in another country.

por Guy Grimm

Jul 06, 2018

Very well put together course about designing cities.

por Varikuti.Partha.Sarathy.Reddy

Jul 02, 2018

I love geography, I love cities and I love this course.

por Ethan Stan

May 24, 2018

I used this course to stimulate my thinking about urban and regional planning in anticipation of applying for a Master's in the field later this year. I was re-acquainted with ideas I was already familiar with from my undergraduate coursework and was introduced to new concepts along the way. I especially enjoyed getting the chance to practice my research and design skills using the internet, historical records, government websites, and Inkscape (design software) for the course's assignments. Though this is not a technical course, it makes for a great (re)introduction to the field.

por Ming HANG

Apr 07, 2018

The course is well designed, full with cutting-edge design ideas and history helping us to understand where does current designing idea come from. It helps you to understand cities besides give principles for how to design cities. thank you, professors and TAs from Penn!

por Bruno Pedra

Mar 31, 2018

Understanding social tissue is a fortunate condition. Thanks!

por Hussam Sabeel

Mar 04, 2018

Good & informative

por Danny S. Silva

Feb 05, 2018

A great review of Urban conceptions that need to be addressed in our modern society not to mention the reflective material provided as the course looks at historical design conceptions that can help the modern urban planner reconsider options and ideas that may solve the challenges of cities today.