Chevron Left
Voltar para Density Functional Theory

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Density Functional Theory da instituição École Polytechnique

4.9
estrelas
53 classificações
19 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The aim of this course is to give a thorough introduction to Density Functional Theory (DFT). DFT is today the most widely used method to study interacting electrons, and its applicability ranges from atoms to solid systems, from nuclei to quantum fluids. In this course, we introduce the most important concepts underlying DFT, its foundation, and basic ideas. We will in particular stress the features and reasons that lead DFT to become the dominant method for simulating quantum mechanical systems. The course is intended for students and researchers with knowledge of basic quantum mechanics. No experience in simulation or solid-state physics is required. We try to give a concise mathematical background when particular concepts are needed....

Melhores avaliações

NC
27 de Fev de 2021

Thank you to the instructors for explaining it so well and making it so interesting. i learned a lot.

SD
7 de Jun de 2021

i am simply amazed. looking forward to another course related to the computational calculations.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 27 Avaliações para o Density Functional Theory

por Abdul H K

11 de Fev de 2021

The faculty taught with amazing passion, as if we were sitting in front.

por ARKA P S

6 de Mar de 2021

I would have preferred some lecture notes on LDA as well. Rest of the course was inch perfect

por BARSHA B

21 de Mai de 2021

First things first, the title music of the course was top class! Whoever composed it, has a separate amount of applause dedicated :)

Next, I thoroughly enjoyed the course, especially loved how the instructors were delivering the lectures more in a storytelling way, which, I am sure must have kept many people engaged. I am someone who has been working with DFT for a year now but I do not have a very good theoretical background of it. That's the main reason I wanted to take this course. I hope Ecole Polytechnique comes up with a more advanced version of this course.

por Nikolaos P

7 de Out de 2021

An excellent course. The teachers are fantastic. They explain things in depth with simple words. Also, it seems that the whole team there put quite an effort. I have made video/recodrings before and I know is very difficult. Very explanatory and now I believe I have a solid foundation to study related papers and books. One suggestion though, maybe to include more details on the numerical details on solving the Khon-Sham equations. On the expansion on the orbitals if am not wrong.

por Ifeanyichukwu O

24 de Jun de 2021

I enjoyed learning this course. I was exposed to the rigorous mathematics that makes up DFT, the current practical applications and limitations that DFT faces, with a dash of the historical storyline that has brought DFT this far. The instructors keep it as simple as possible, and still teach effectively. I would recommend that one should have at least a low level knowledge of calculus if they do not want to find the mathematics aspect too difficult.

por Deepak S

4 de Ago de 2021

It is a very well-prepared course. From getting the interest of students through History and Scientists of DFT to making them solve complex differential equations, this course provides it all. It is a very suitable course for a beginner in DFT.

por David G A

17 de Mai de 2021

Great course. I will recommend it to anyone who wants to learn with rigor the basics of DFT, Kohn-Sham method and its applicability. Very good instructors give fantastic explanations in non trivial topics.

por Bruno M

9 de Fev de 2021

An interesting and understanding lecture thanks to subtitles, movies, exercises and references. Not easiest at all to deal with theoritical subject, but you success, thank you a lot.

por Konstantinos - P Z

21 de Out de 2021

It's worth everyone's time; period! It gives a very informative introduction to DFT. Given that the learner studies all the provided notes and bibliography, it is bound success!

por Nithin K R

9 de Jul de 2021

Great course. The links provided to papers( whenever details were left out during lectures) were very helpful. The lecture notes were easy to understand.

por Shravan G

17 de Jul de 2021

Excellent introductory course on DFT for anyone who is about to begin serious study of condensed matter physics and materials.

por Yoon G L

29 de Nov de 2021

It is a good introduction to learn and understand what is going in the softwares based on the Density Functional Theory.

por Cecilia M S A

23 de Abr de 2021

The professors are truly good in my opinion!!! First and second week in particular were really great!!

por NIDHI C

28 de Fev de 2021

Thank you to the instructors for explaining it so well and making it so interesting. i learned a lot.

por SAPTARSHI G D

8 de Jun de 2021

i am simply amazed. looking forward to another course related to the computational calculations.

por Arnab D

6 de Ago de 2021

An excellent course to learn DFT, how it emerged and how to apply DFT in real world situations.

por Siwakorn S

7 de Ago de 2021

A very informative and well-organized course for a person like me

por Marc A

15 de Mar de 2021

I really enjoyed the course.

Great and very enthusiastic teacher.

por Guna n p

22 de Abr de 2021

This is very good course for learning DFT from basic to advance.

por Eduardo Z R

6 de Mai de 2021

Goos DFT basis or guide for solids, and a bit for molecules.

por Jaén O

17 de Ago de 2021

The bare essentials of DFT are very clearly laid out.

por Christoffel J R

29 de Jul de 2021

E​xcellent well presented course, thank you so much!

por mohammad o

26 de Mar de 2021

It is a very easy way to learn DFT from very basic

por Fernando J d M

18 de Nov de 2021

Very instructive course! Very good professors!

por Disesh

4 de Jul de 2021

Thankful!!