Chevron Left
Voltar para Essential Design Principles for Tableau

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Essential Design Principles for Tableau da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.5
estrelas
1,237 classificações
186 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course, you will analyze and apply essential design principles to your Tableau visualizations. This course assumes you understand the tools within Tableau and have some knowledge of the fundamental concepts of data visualization. You will define and examine the similarities and differences of exploratory and explanatory analysis as well as begin to ask the right questions about what’s needed in a visualization. You will assess how data and design work together, including how to choose the appropriate visual representation for your data, and the difference between effective and ineffective visuals. You will apply effective best practice design principles to your data visualizations and be able to illustrate examples of strategic use of contrast to highlight important elements. You will evaluate pre-attentive attributes and why they are important in visualizations. You will exam the importance of using the "right" amount of color and in the right place and be able to apply design principles to de-clutter your data visualization....

Melhores avaliações

VL

Mar 11, 2018

The course uncovers the science of the design for data. It is certainly very helpful for my job where have to present a lot of data in different perspectives for senior management.

NN

May 20, 2019

The course is not only focusing on the Tableau project, but also discussing key notes that need applying to make visualization become more effective. That is great course! Thanks!

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Essential Design Principles for Tableau

por Julia T

Jun 05, 2017

A

por Todd T

Apr 17, 2017

Great course; only limited by the requirement for peers to review the assigned visualization to complete the course. Although I turned my assignment in well-ahead of the due date/time, I had to transfer to the following class because I could not get the required peer reviews (2) prior to the course closing, despite multiple requests in the discussion forum for assistance.

por Mark A

Mar 13, 2018

Would like more practical application of lessons in Tableau (vs almost entirely principles/theory), particularly with the guest instructor, who is very knowledgeable but only lectures. I got bored listening to lecture after lecture without doing anything or course directed application of what is taught.

por Lindsay J

Jan 09, 2019

Good course, but would have preferred clearer step-by-step instruction on Tableau. Honestly, that was the weakest part. The instructor did not explain where he was clicking, moved around quickly, like a Tableau expert. I had to look it up online and in my personal "Practical Tableau" book.

por Deaglan D

Sep 02, 2017

This course starts out really strong, but around Design Best Practices, the Govind begins to sound drunk. He slurs, exaggerates, repeats himself, and takes longer than necessary to execute tasks. This is distracting and very disappointing from UC Davis and Coursera.

por Dennis M

Jul 03, 2017

Nice overview of design best practices and some more basic usage of Tableau. However, my problem with the courses in this specialization is that the material is quickly becoming repetitive. Instead of the courses building on each other, they repeat prior material.

por Erin R

Jan 03, 2018

A good course if you're looking at design principles as they apply to any visualization, data specific or otherwise. There is, however, minimal practical applications within Tableau itself. This could easily fit into a graphic design or Excel specialization.

por Shubham A

Apr 27, 2018

Course is great but peer review is horrible. Clearly a professional is needed to review the work in the end. My marks were reduced because peer reviewers couldn't understand how to make visualization effective and show data without any bias.

por Amy D

Jul 01, 2019

The course is very theoretical and provides great articles and for great discussion. I was hoping for more interaction, and I'd also like more video content with fewer introductions. The music gets very annoying.

por Jose D L C

May 03, 2018

While the theories and concepts were good and made sense there was not enough practical content to be able to cement these ideas, meaning there is extra effort on having to retain these concepts.

por Devin

Sep 12, 2019

Instructions for the final assignment should be more specific since I had to resubmit it multiple times before someone left feedback about using the profit ratio to gain full points

por Corey G

Feb 06, 2017

The assignment for week 2 should have been the last assignment in this sequence and was not clearly explained or taught in the videos.

por Lin Y

Aug 18, 2019

This course is alright, straightforward but un-surprising. Need more course material on HOW to use Tableau's functions.

por sebastian s v

Aug 06, 2017

I would like to have more additional material to read..i think the videos are not enougth

por Méliani

May 02, 2017

A littler redundant when you compare it to the previoud courses.

The map part is good.

por Drew O

Feb 06, 2017

This course is only useful if you have no experience visualizing data.

por Andrew A

Mar 13, 2020

Good backgrounder, but should have incorporated Tableau a bit more.

por Laurent B

Feb 20, 2020

I think the course must be more practical and less theoretical.

por Ponciano R

Mar 12, 2019

Good for an introductory course, needs more practice exercises.

por Carlos S

Mar 29, 2018

its still quite basic, not many Tableau training. But i

por Radosław K

Jan 30, 2018

Theory, theory and once again theory ...

por Gail N

Mar 24, 2017

Content is excellent, support is not.

por Nino M

Jun 30, 2019

More practice would be helpful

por LUIS G

Jan 03, 2018

very subjective section.

por Kelly D

Sep 29, 2017

I was initially disappointed by the focus on design principles with a limited emphasis on implementing these principles in Tableau. However, I realized that the structure of this course and its focus on Gestalt Principles and leveraging pre-attentive attributes were valuable. The problem was that each weekly module concludes with a quiz, but there's only one peer graded assignment for the whole class. That assignment includes instructions like "use one of the 9 design principles in a visualization that…". If the course was restructured so that there were a peer graded assignment to build a tableau visualization at the end of each weekly module it would have been much better.