Chevron Left
Voltar para Data Science Math Skills

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Data Science Math Skills da instituição Universidade Duke

4.5
estrelas
4,549 classificações
1,028 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Melhores avaliações

VC

May 17, 2020

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

RS

May 06, 2020

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.\n\nThank you for a great class!!

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Data Science Math Skills

por Rahul K

Apr 29, 2020

very nice, this course helps me a lot for a basic understanding of the different concept of math. The course is also design in very well manner for understanding each and every concept clearly.i also very thankful to the teacher association who created this course for helping me.

por Priti B

May 28, 2019

I came for this course after working on data science for sometime. While initial 2 weeks were easy and known, last 2 weeks were really helpful. My probability concepts become much clearer after going through the lecture and tests. Very precise and clear course. Thanks a lot!

por James T

Apr 02, 2018

Everything I've tried diving into in regards to data science after having been out of school for a while (I'm 34) has been stuff I haven't learned or forgot. This course was perfect. Nothing was too difficult for someone who still remembers basic math and I learned a lot.

por Josué R G S M

Jan 04, 2018

Los contenidos son en inglés pero los profesores tienen una perfecta dicción y no hablan rápido de tal modo que los puedes entender perfectamente con sólo un poco de inglés. Los contenidos matemáticos están debidamente dosificados y muy interesantes. Recomiendo el curso

por Daryna S

Aug 14, 2017

This is a real good and inspirational start in data science education, especially for people, who have some fear of math (like me:)). This course is enough complicate to learn something new, but simultaneously not too hard, so you dont loose motivation for studying.

por Matthew A D

May 04, 2020

I had a really easy time going through the first 3 weeks of the course, but then the 4 weeks were so hard. I got through it, but it was hard. The 1st-3rd weeks were just going through the same things I had learned again, but the 4th week was almost completely new.

por Richard B

Oct 09, 2017

I think this course helped me identify certain areas of weakness within my education that I have already received. As a result, I know where to start in order to shore up the gaps that formal education has solidified. Overall it is a great introductory course.

por OSAMA B A

Apr 09, 2020

Thank you, Coursera for this course for free. It was really helpful. It covers almost all the basic math term for Data Science. Looking now for intermediate level course of the same. Hopin that very soon, I will be gifted with a new free course. Thanks again.

por Amit T

May 05, 2020

Something good to learn and in fact the session are so precise to understand that you don't need anyone's help at all to learn thing. Just go through the video lectures. It's that simple. Thank you Coursera for this wonderful journey and amazing sessions.

por Jackie C

Apr 07, 2017

First three weeks were mostly review, but the fourth week was incredibly helpful. Would appreciate some more background/derivation of the binomial theorem - it was hard for me to develop an intuition for it in the same way I could for the Bayesian theorem.

por Val

Dec 05, 2017

Clear and straightforward introduction to the key mathematical concepts that underpin statistics and data science. Video companions and practice quizzes complement the lectures in an effective way and prepare the student well for the graded quizzes.

por Arun A

Apr 20, 2018

Very good course. Really enjoyed the explanation very concise and clear. This is however not exhaustive for anyone to gather every bit of possible knowledge in Data Science, do keep that in mind. But this definitely sets the foundation correct.

por Yan T

Nov 01, 2019

Great course brushing off math skills with quiz in the end of each module. The last module is the most difficult, it'll be better if more examples be demonstrated. Good pace and a good course for those who need to get an idea of some topics.

por vivek d c

May 17, 2020

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

por Kensuke I

Apr 30, 2020

Good learning overall.

Some part are pretty easy, which I remember learning in junior high,

but some theorems are hard to apply.

Now I want to use these theory in real world and data science!

por Alieldin R

Oct 14, 2019

The course was very good and well thought of, a great refresher for very important concepts, the instructors are very good at simplifying the material and making it very understandable.

por Syed A Z

Apr 27, 2020

An excellent course to learn, Thanks to to Instructor and Duke University and Thanks "Coursera" for this online platform for giving us the flexibility to learn as per learners comfort.

por Lymeng C

Mar 02, 2019

I don't quite understand the last chapter about probability. Please use more examples like in quiz to demonstrate the concept one by one. Thanks for making education free to all of us.

por Tiong S C

Nov 14, 2017

Great course. First three weeks are a bit basic, and the fourth week is more challenging. Highly recommended. Hope there will be more on derivatives and courses like this. Thank you!

por Shepherd M

May 19, 2020

At face value it looks like a very simple course but it is very challenging and extremely demanding course.I had to continously recap on the concepts by the lecturers.great indeed

por Shashank K

Oct 05, 2017

The Basics were covered pretty nicely. The instructors had given it their all to explain the concepts. The tests did test you pretty well on the concepts you learnt from the videos

por William W d F

Oct 10, 2017

Excelent course! I am studying at the Data Science Math Skills to fill some math gaps, and also doing the Data Scientist Toolbox . All of them are really great courses. Enjoy!

por VINEET

Apr 03, 2020

A very holistic course on mathematics required for machine learning. I hope the Probability bit could have been covered more in details. Also, very good on exercises as well.

por Ankur K

Mar 01, 2018

It was wonderful course to do and content was good, but there are some improvement needed inside last chapter.

please add some more slides inside binomial and bayes ' theorems

por Deleted A

Jul 09, 2017

A great introduction to the basic Mathematics skill needed to start Data Science Career. A must course for does not have the mathematics background required for Data Science.