Chevron Left
Voltar para Data Science Math Skills

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Data Science Math Skills da instituição Universidade Duke

4.5
2,134 classificações
478 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Melhores avaliações

AS

Jan 12, 2019

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

PS

Jul 23, 2017

This is neat little course to revise math fundamentals. I generally find learning probability a little tricky. This course helped me a lot in better understanding Bayes Theorem. Thank you professors.

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Data Science Math Skills

por Deleted A

Jan 22, 2017

I loved this class, the only one of it's kind and much needed, unless you particularly want to re-do your long forgotten high school and college math. It was nice seeing a Venn diagram again. I did have to supplement some of the material that was covered quickly with google searches, but filling in the blanks was quick and easy.

por Audi L

Feb 28, 2017

A fantastic course for anyone

por Tushar H J

Dec 18, 2017

Basic Revision of all concepts of probability and sets

por saket

Apr 27, 2017

Awesome Course!

por Georgios P

May 07, 2017

Good introductory course to build the fundamental knowledge needed to go further.

por Venkata K V M

Jul 03, 2017

Good for Beginners.

por 黄杜煜

Feb 11, 2018

A useful course with all basic math knowledge you should have!

por Ned T

Sep 11, 2017

This is a very interesting course for those who have not used math for many years and now want to pursue the field of data science. The basic concepts are presented coherently and understandably attracted me throughout the course.

por mehak

Nov 12, 2017

can i get the certificate ?

por vivek m

Feb 05, 2017

Basic math course help to get revise all the high school concept. Even those who haven't any background on mathematics can get it easily.

por Miriam C

Jul 24, 2017

cannot believe I took a programming course without doing this - the math was taking me so long and it was because I hadn't finished high school math a decade ago (our school didn't require it) - really thankful to have found this course!

por Glenn L

May 23, 2017

Great Primer for Data Science Math!

por William W d F

Oct 10, 2017

Excelent course! I am studying at the Data Science Math Skills to fill some math gaps, and also doing the Data Scientist Toolbox . All of them are really great courses. Enjoy!

por Murali M A

Aug 27, 2017

Succinct explanation of the basics. Take more time at the Bayes theorem. It is worth it. Work out all the problems and keep reading the PDF notes accompanied with the videos. All in all, a great experience for those who have missed some basic math in earlier education. I am onward to my next course in machine learning and data science. Cheers

por Akhlaq A

Apr 06, 2018

Excellent

por Kostas H

Mar 09, 2018

This course is designed for those either without a college level math background (calculus, probability, etc) and thus need an introduction to fundamental math skills or for those who need a refresher. This is not a course that teaches data science, nor the math of data science (linear algebra, random processes, algorithms, etc). But rather it teaches the math behind the math of data science. It reviews the basics of sets, plotting, sigma notation, derivatives, logarithms, mean and variance, Bayes theorem, etc. It is a gentle introduction to basic math skills that everyone should have. This is a course to definitely take as a refresher or before venturing into more higher topics such as collegiate math, data analysis, machine learning, computer science, engineering, etc.

por Priyanka S

Jul 23, 2017

This is neat little course to revise math fundamentals. I generally find learning probability a little tricky. This course helped me a lot in better understanding Bayes Theorem. Thank you professors.

por Tim J

Jun 28, 2017

I found it quite engaging and challenging at times to get my head back around high school maths!

por Thomas J H

Aug 22, 2017

Helpful course -- highly recommended for people who need more background or who need a refresher.

por Ankur A

Apr 18, 2018

Hi. A very good refresher course that serves as a pre-requisite to Machine Learning and Data Science courses. Probability could have been a little better explained, specially the processes and event part. I would also like to see Vectors and Matrices added to this course, which is equally vital for Data Science.

por Aditya K

Sep 21, 2017

This course offers a great refresher of the FUNDAMENTALS of Linear Algebra , Calculus and Probability.

Do note the strong emphasis on fundamentals.

All lectures are well produced and the material put forward in an unambiguous and layman language.

The concepts presented are very easy to grasp , all thanks to the brilliant efforts of professor Bendich and professor Egger.

This course , along with another course on Calculus would serve as a great starting point for all data science enthusiasts and I strongly recommend it to everyone.

por ANUJ S

Mar 29, 2018

This course was very good. Adding few advance topics like various distributions will help too.

por Sunit K

Sep 05, 2017

Awesome and love the quizzes

por Jessica J

Dec 16, 2017

A great refresher course and a range of interesting and foundational concepts. Would recommend to anyone who has prior experience with calculus and probability theory and is just looking to remind themselves of key concepts.

por Imran W

Nov 09, 2017

Very Informative and Well Structured