Chevron Left
Voltar para Data Science Math Skills

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Data Science Math Skills da instituição Universidade Duke

4.5
estrelas
4,641 classificações
1,046 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Melhores avaliações

VC

May 17, 2020

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

RS

May 06, 2020

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.\n\nThank you for a great class!!

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Data Science Math Skills

por Priya P

May 06, 2020

Very good course. Gained lot of information about data science and math skills. Seminar sessions was good.

por Daniel C

Oct 15, 2018

Great course! I would recommend this course to get familiar with data science basic terms and definitions.

por Pedro J E d S e S

May 14, 2020

I just believe that there was a discrepancy between the videos and the last quiz, but is a great course.

por Touseef

Apr 08, 2020

If we get more examples on probability section, it Will be helpful to understand the concept much deeper

por Wanling R

Nov 29, 2017

Generally it's good, the basic skills are coupled with real life examples, which makes the skills useful

por Abu I A

Apr 27, 2020

The course is very useful for data science people. Lectures are well organised and easy to understand.

por Rafael C

Sep 05, 2018

Perfect for beginners or as a review for those who have not used basic math skills for quite some time.

por Kangmin L

Apr 17, 2018

The first three weeks are pretty easy high school math. The last week is very informative and helpful.

por Joel R

Mar 11, 2017

great course! it was a nice refresher for me, though I still learned new things as well! thank you!

por SongNan

Mar 03, 2017

Very easy to understand and know how to succeed in the future on the learning path. Thanks a lot !

por Md. F R

May 09, 2020

especially, the last test on probability in one of the proofs of higher standards of this course.

por Dr.S.Someshwar

Apr 29, 2020

Very easy course from Duke University. Thank you for introducing this "DATA SCIENCE MATH SKILLS".

por ARCHITA

Apr 01, 2020

It was really helpful in enhancing my data skills though it could have had been a bit more better

por Kia C

Dec 31, 2019

I like the course and the lessons in data analysis .The concepts and theories are great for math.

por Thomas J H

Aug 22, 2017

Helpful course -- highly recommended for people who need more background or who need a refresher.

por Kent D J

Aug 09, 2017

This class was great. I really recommend it, especially if you are new to mathematical concepts.

por Tim J

Jun 28, 2017

I found it quite engaging and challenging at times to get my head back around high school maths!

por Soravee N

May 24, 2020

Awesome course to review and refresh your math skills before studying on Data Science. Love it!

por Jinwuk K

Aug 26, 2018

This course is absolutely helpful for the beginner.

Really good to remind of my uni math class!

por Maria T C

May 24, 2020

The review was comprehensive. The latter part of the course really helped me a lot. Thank you!

por ANUJ S

Mar 29, 2018

This course was very good. Adding few advance topics like various distributions will help too.

por Steve T

Mar 21, 2017

Great course covering the fundamentals which I had largely forgotten (not used) since college.

por Karthick .

Apr 17, 2020

This course so good .I have learned so many things and it's very useful.coursera is the best.

por Alireza G

Aug 27, 2017

I was looking for such a course that particularity covers the Math required for Data Science.

por Blazej

Apr 02, 2017

Very condensed yet accessible material. Great invitation for further, more deep dive studies!