Chevron Left
Voltar para Data Science Math Skills

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Data Science Math Skills da instituição Universidade Duke

4.5
2,140 classificações
480 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Melhores avaliações

AS

Jan 12, 2019

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

PS

Jul 23, 2017

This is neat little course to revise math fundamentals. I generally find learning probability a little tricky. This course helped me a lot in better understanding Bayes Theorem. Thank you professors.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Data Science Math Skills

por William W d F

Oct 10, 2017

Excelent course! I am studying at the Data Science Math Skills to fill some math gaps, and also doing the Data Scientist Toolbox . All of them are really great courses. Enjoy!

por Jayson S

Mar 04, 2018

Fantastic course, especially when paired with or done before Andrew Ng's Machine Learning course as it matches up quite well! Thank you for the detailed guidance in the practice quizzes on incorrect answers as well!

por sanoop r p s

Jun 18, 2018

It is extremely good. One should do this before starting data science course.

por Kostas H

Mar 09, 2018

This course is designed for those either without a college level math background (calculus, probability, etc) and thus need an introduction to fundamental math skills or for those who need a refresher. This is not a course that teaches data science, nor the math of data science (linear algebra, random processes, algorithms, etc). But rather it teaches the math behind the math of data science. It reviews the basics of sets, plotting, sigma notation, derivatives, logarithms, mean and variance, Bayes theorem, etc. It is a gentle introduction to basic math skills that everyone should have. This is a course to definitely take as a refresher or before venturing into more higher topics such as collegiate math, data analysis, machine learning, computer science, engineering, etc.

por Priyanka S

Jul 23, 2017

This is neat little course to revise math fundamentals. I generally find learning probability a little tricky. This course helped me a lot in better understanding Bayes Theorem. Thank you professors.

por Ainura

Nov 02, 2017

Thank you, this was a very helpful course.

por Aditya K

Sep 21, 2017

This course offers a great refresher of the FUNDAMENTALS of Linear Algebra , Calculus and Probability.

Do note the strong emphasis on fundamentals.

All lectures are well produced and the material put forward in an unambiguous and layman language.

The concepts presented are very easy to grasp , all thanks to the brilliant efforts of professor Bendich and professor Egger.

This course , along with another course on Calculus would serve as a great starting point for all data science enthusiasts and I strongly recommend it to everyone.

por ANUJ S

Mar 29, 2018

This course was very good. Adding few advance topics like various distributions will help too.

por Thomas J H

Aug 22, 2017

Helpful course -- highly recommended for people who need more background or who need a refresher.

por Ankur A

Apr 18, 2018

Hi. A very good refresher course that serves as a pre-requisite to Machine Learning and Data Science courses. Probability could have been a little better explained, specially the processes and event part. I would also like to see Vectors and Matrices added to this course, which is equally vital for Data Science.

por Mys

Jun 04, 2017

it was a great course for me having left maths for a while and needing it again now

por Val

Dec 05, 2017

Clear and straightforward introduction to the key mathematical concepts that underpin statistics and data science. Video companions and practice quizzes complement the lectures in an effective way and prepare the student well for the graded quizzes.

por James T

Apr 02, 2018

Everything I've tried diving into in regards to data science after having been out of school for a while (I'm 34) has been stuff I haven't learned or forgot. This course was perfect. Nothing was too difficult for someone who still remembers basic math and I learned a lot.

por Ankita O

Nov 12, 2017

Excellent course with excellent examples and challenging test. Really enjoyed the course!!!!

por Tim J

Jun 28, 2017

I found it quite engaging and challenging at times to get my head back around high school maths!

por Mahyar

Aug 22, 2017

Good course because it focuses on basic statistical science needed in Data Science. Only issue I had with this course was it was pretty short. Shorter than I thought by looking at the syllabus. Also the agenda is very simple in the first couple of weeks until it gets to the last week.

por Yuliya S

Apr 07, 2018

L

o

v

e

I

t

por Insan N

Oct 30, 2017

Nice

por Kent D J

Aug 09, 2017

This class was great. I really recommend it, especially if you are new to mathematical concepts.

por vimard v

Aug 16, 2017

Great course, many examples, good teachers

por A

Nov 12, 2017

good

por Mukhammad K

Feb 10, 2017

good materials and questions

por Deleted A

Jan 22, 2017

I loved this class, the only one of it's kind and much needed, unless you particularly want to re-do your long forgotten high school and college math. It was nice seeing a Venn diagram again. I did have to supplement some of the material that was covered quickly with google searches, but filling in the blanks was quick and easy.

por Sidhardh M

Jun 23, 2017

good one

por Venkat N

Oct 04, 2017

Excellent Course. Must-do course for beginners in data science. Great instructors