Chevron Left
Voltar para Data Science Math Skills

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Data Science Math Skills da instituição Universidade Duke

4.5
estrelas
6,380 classificações
1,413 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Melhores avaliações

VC

May 17, 2020

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

AS

Jan 12, 2019

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

Filtrar por:

1001 — 1025 de 1,404 Avaliações para o Data Science Math Skills

por Su M

May 11, 2017

Easy and suitable for beginners with high school math skills. If how the equations are deduced are introduced, it would be even better.

por Wouter S

Jul 03, 2020

Good video course and quizzes. Not too long.

Only remark is the code in the quizzes, sometimes fractions and formula's are not visible.

por Duc T

May 31, 2017

Good materials. But examples from learning sections are a lot easier than problems in quizzes. More difficult examples would be great.

por vignesh a

Sep 14, 2019

Week 1 - 5/5

Week 2 - 4/5

Week 3 - 3/5

Week 4 - 4/5

A good introductory course which could do better in explaining some concepts clearly.

por Abdulrahman M

Sep 08, 2019

Every data scientist needs to know some statistics and probability theory. The amount of math you'll need depends on the role.

Thanks,

por Luan d S

Dec 30, 2018

It's a excellent course with all of the basic concepts to start in the Data Science World.

Great regards and thank you for the course.

por Vidya C

May 24, 2017

It was a good course for a beginner.But I think the proportion of the course allocated to probability is much less than it deserve.:)

por Atsushi T

Sep 14, 2017

Very comprehensive and challenging - I feel a final quiz would be great but individually, very well though out content and questions

por Rinav S

May 19, 2020

The course offers a good insight to the maths skills utilized in Data Science. WIll be looking to program all concepts learnt here.

por Ricardo V

May 23, 2020

A very great course for begginners but it would be great if the math skills could be elaborated closer to the real world examples.

por Mohd F E B A

May 09, 2019

Though that this course was too simple but actually it is quite an eye opening and refreshing for the last two topics. Well done!

por Rohit

May 24, 2020

This is a interesting course . I learned lot of new things from this course .This course will be beneficial for me for my future

por Juan N R

May 04, 2020

Me gustarían mas ejemplos en el tema de probabilidades. Bayesian y Binomial.

Gracias por la dedicación y compartir conocimiento

por Heather H

Apr 27, 2020

I enjoyed the class. I haven't taken probability in over a decade so it was rough learning it again. Thank you for the class!

por Eugenio P

Jun 07, 2020

The instruction is great in presentation however it is far too shallow for the depth of the questions expected on the quizzes.

por Yuvraj M

Jun 03, 2020

The Course was structured pretty well! Like the tutors. More Support could have been offered for the last two modules though!

por saurabh

Apr 12, 2020

Well taught. I felt Bayes Theorem could have been explained a little better. However, overall a wonderful course. Thank you.

por Eman A

Jan 27, 2018

its very good course,,but i didn't mark 5th star because course need more excercises on each lesson special at probabilities

por Maksym F

Jul 28, 2017

Thanks for course! Only advise I can give - change the name to "Basic Math Skills for Data science". Course is pretty easy.

por JAGDISH R A

Apr 17, 2020

I understood all the basic math skills behind the data science Field. Very good explanation of probability part and so on.

por Mohamed M A E

Dec 04, 2017

It is very good course but need to add more exercises (examples), reading materials in addition to more and longer videos.

por Shahrukh H

Apr 29, 2020

Should be rather more competitive from the 3rd week stage. Although the teaching was definitely interactive and engaging.

por Birkaran S

Oct 25, 2019

Well-described concise notes and if you do not understand anything, the author provides written notes with every lecture.

por Romain T

Jun 18, 2020

Good course for brushing up one's maths skills. I found the week 4 content quite challenging, but got there in the end!

por GODBOLE K S

May 15, 2020

It was very awesome experience with coursera.it help me to clear my concept regarding with data science and math skill.