Chevron Left
Voltar para Data Science Math Skills

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Data Science Math Skills da instituição Universidade Duke

4.5
2,130 classificações
477 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Melhores avaliações

AS

Jan 12, 2019

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

PS

Jul 23, 2017

This is neat little course to revise math fundamentals. I generally find learning probability a little tricky. This course helped me a lot in better understanding Bayes Theorem. Thank you professors.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Data Science Math Skills

por Sameen N

Mar 18, 2017

Good course to cover all the basic maths related to data science

por Bernd F

Mar 11, 2018

Very good learning experience. Thanks!

por Tiago V

Sep 20, 2017

Really good to remember some maths stuff and to learn and consolidate new maths stuff that I thought I knew (but actually only learnt about it in this course).

Great course

por Baskaran V

Jan 15, 2017

One of the best course, i have ever learnt. Even though i have been learning the Data Science for the last few years, i had no idea how the algorithms are working in technical. Which i was always skeptical. But honestly, now i am able to get things really faster than before. I am very happy, i have joined this course. Thank you so much for coursera to bring this course and importantly thank you so much for the professors to explain things in an easy for the people to understand. God bless you both and your family.

por Richard B

Oct 09, 2017

I think this course helped me identify certain areas of weakness within my education that I have already received. As a result, I know where to start in order to shore up the gaps that formal education has solidified. Overall it is a great introductory course.

por Richard G

Apr 28, 2017

Instructors made this subject so much easier for me to learn!

por Angel T

Apr 03, 2018

great course, it helps me a lot in my current position

por Zunera M

May 15, 2017

Highly recommended..

por ruizhou

Sep 27, 2017

useful

por Emin B

Aug 17, 2017

thank you that was awesome experiences

por Sunit K

Sep 05, 2017

Awesome and love the quizzes

por Jessica J

Dec 16, 2017

A great refresher course and a range of interesting and foundational concepts. Would recommend to anyone who has prior experience with calculus and probability theory and is just looking to remind themselves of key concepts.

por Imran W

Nov 09, 2017

Very Informative and Well Structured

por Joseph L

Jun 15, 2018

An excellent course with good pace provide clear concept and skill to solve question.

por Abin S

Jan 21, 2018

Module is well-planned for both the beginner and professional.

por sarvesh p

Dec 11, 2017

A course on basic mathematics. The part on probability is very well conducted.

por Marisa R H

Jan 25, 2018

I've been having practices about probability and other resources and it has been all so clear an with a lot of examples. Thanks a lots for the experience!

por Deepti K

Dec 12, 2017

Great course and highly recommended

por 孟凡玉

Oct 10, 2017

课程通俗易通!

por Wanling R

Nov 29, 2017

Generally it's good, the basic skills are coupled with real life examples, which makes the skills useful

por Pouria N V

Nov 30, 2017

too easy for someone with engineering background.

por Arun A

Apr 20, 2018

Very good course. Really enjoyed the explanation very concise and clear. This is however not exhaustive for anyone to gather every bit of possible knowledge in Data Science, do keep that in mind. But this definitely sets the foundation correct.

por Pranav T V

Sep 13, 2017

Very informative course explained in a very clear and understanding manner. Thanks a lot for the people involved in making this course a reality.

por Angshuman B

Jan 14, 2018

This is a good learning course and nice to go through

por Ibrahim A

Jan 28, 2018

Excellent course and lecturers have presented the Ideas well.