Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.5
estrelas
3,129 classificações
662 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this first course of the specialization, you will discover just what data visualization is, and how we can use it to better see and understand data. Using Tableau, we’ll examine the fundamental concepts of data visualization and explore the Tableau interface, identifying and applying the various tools Tableau has to offer. By the end of the course you will be able to prepare and import data into Tableau and explain the relationship between data analytics and data visualization. This course is designed for the learner who has never used Tableau before, or who may need a refresher or want to explore Tableau in more depth. No prior technical or analytical background is required. The course will guide you through the steps necessary to create your first visualization story from the beginning based on data context, setting the stage for you to advance to the next course in the Specialization....

Melhores avaliações

HR

May 02, 2017

Amazing course, amazing instructors and assignments. I really enjoyed working with Tableau.\n\nYou may experience some confusion for some assignments but don't worry! Just use the discussion boards :)

MK

Mar 23, 2020

It\ helps to understand all the basics regarding Tableau and also how to use it and install the tableau. It covered all the fundamental;s of visualization with tableau and the quiz were also good.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau

por Mykola S

Aug 24, 2016

This course is terrible for many reasons. Firstly, the amount of content is ridiculously small - only about 20 minutes of video lectures per week. Moreover, more than 50% of content is just non-relevant.

Secondly, practical assignments are very poorly planned:

1) in weeks 3 peer graded assignment students are asked to save Tableau workbooks as twbx files, even though this feature is not supported by Tableau Public that is used in this course. The assignment itself is just opening and saving file in Tableau.

2) in weeks 4 peer graded assignment you just asked to write some vaguely defined 1 page description. It doesn't include any Tableau-related activities.

Thirdly, quizzes are ambiguous and very general.

Overall, this course is just a waste of time. For comparison, you can easily get more useful information about Tableau from the 4 minute long "Getting started" video on the Tableau website than from this course. Just wonder how Coursera allows such courses to be places on the platform.

por Katrina

Sep 09, 2018

The content might be ok but the support on this course is ridiculous. Mentors/teachers don't respond in the discussions which means assignments are poorly understood. Then 'peer graded assignments' are a joke - how can a peer grade you when they don't even understand the assignment cause its so poorly written. I got completely opposite grading from two different people, meaning one is clearly wrong but both count as my 'grade' - don't bother with this course, save up a few months and go to a real course where you can speak to the teacher and don't have depend on morons scoring your assignments.

por Juan P H G

Apr 18, 2019

I'm sorry but this course is just bad. The fact that the assignments are peer reviewed put you in a dead lock. You are at the mercy of "peers" that doesn't even check the answers you provide and are just plainly rude. Disappointing.

por Barbara N

Jan 19, 2018

I found this to be a disappointing course. Yes, its an introduction and you can't do much in an intro course... but...

The Tableau parts have no real added value on top of what's available for free on Tableau's site.

The Week 3 assignment was very frustrating, it was poorly worded and the instructions to export didn't work for the Tableau Desktop that I had installed as per the course instructions. The assignment should have been a consolidation but it was the first time that we played around with data sources.

The Week 4 assignment did not use Tableau at all.

It would have been much better to have had one example to follow through from start (obtain data, prep, import) to creating a Visualisation that was part of the course work. Then add some assignments that allow you to build on what you've already seen.

In terms of visualisation terms and concepts, this was very light and relied on some other well known (& readily available) material.

As the content was very light I was able to finish the course in a lot less time than the course overview estimates, well, everything other than the confusing Week 3 assignment.

I won't be continuing with the specialisation.

por Kashyap M

Feb 07, 2019

It's a good course. I am currently in the second course in this specialization and it has already captivated me in the world of Tableau.

Also, the energy of Govind Acharya is infectious. It clearly can be seen and heard from his voice how much he is enjoying teaching this course.

por Tumelo M

Aug 29, 2017

This course is very good intro to anyone that has never done Data Visualization. You get clear understanding of the objectives and the Fundamentals of what Data Visualization is all about.

por ADYA S

Mar 10, 2018

The course content is very good and lots of efforts have gone in to create this course.

**Request**

Since number of enrolled students may vary, "peer review" type questions makes it difficult to get a grade. Even if you've submitted your assignments, if there is no one to review your work, you don't get a grade. This is disappointing and very discouraging.

I request the course creators to consider this and try to make the tests such that learners can complete the course on their own. I believe this would motivate students to complete the specialization.

por Ayush T

Mar 24, 2018

After completing the course I'm glad that I have utilized my time which I have put on this course. As this course is the first course of the specialization I'm happy with the pace as well as content. I come from the programming background, I missed programming here. This course is really good but according to me, it would be perfect if there were an optional section about how to code for a web data connector using python or nodeJS.

por Barbara S

Jan 30, 2019

I am so happy I took this course. It provided me with the Fundamentals, encouragement, and ability to practice viz's by watching how they did their own. The book that was assigned was inspirational. Our assignments were challenging and then I challenged myself in creating about eight visualizations.

I was even able to use an if then else sql to create my kpi. Thank you so much for this course.

Wtih gratitude,

Barbara Steinberg

por BARBARA M - D S - v d R 1 - 3 T

Dec 13, 2019

The thing I really don't like, and not just about this course but the whole Coursera system, is the fact you that must asked to other students to correct your tasks and evaluate you.

In my opinion it is absolutely wrong, they, like me, are studing so they do not have the experience, as I do not have it, necessary to properly evaluate the work of others. Not yet at least.

por Jose A R N

Aug 27, 2017

My name is Jose Antonio. I am looking for a new Data Scientist career (https://www.linkedin.com/in/joseantonio11)

I did this course to get new knowledge about Big Data and Visualisations and better understand the technology and your practical applications.

The course was excellent and the classes well taught by teachers.

Congratulations to Coursera team and Instructors.

por Gabrielle S

Mar 18, 2019

I was recently introduced to Tableau and felt that the learning curve was too high to undertake. I search for and found a classes that I could take to build up my confidence and abilities towards conquering Tableau. I would definitely recommend these courses to people interested in the exciting field of big data.

por Victor S

Jun 08, 2019

Very important part of this course is the fundamentals of visualization in general. It's not often you'll find theory of the visualization. This course, on the contrary, provides very deep dive into fundamentals of visualizations and uses Tableau as of the instruments to create them! Great course!

por John L

Jul 24, 2019

Good course to understand the 'fundamentals' of visualization. More focused on 'how to think' rather than hands-on practices. There is a quick example at the start which gives you the taste but this would be applicable to those who are interested in 'How' to create visualization.

por Leonardo N R

Nov 04, 2019

It was a good way to get into the fundamentals and start having a basic understanding of data visualizations. The course itself is pretty basic but it gave me enough insights into this to motivate me to continue with the other courses of the specialization.

por Suryadevara D

Sep 29, 2019

I found this course to be beyond amazing. The course is filled with such useful set of instructions that many instructors fail to provide but this course has it all. So if a person takes this course, he gets an opportunity to learn the best from the best.

por Nithyashree C

Jun 09, 2019

Thank you Professors for giving me this opportunity to strengthen my foundation of tableau. I would recommend this course to anyone who is new to Tableau and does not know where to start. Thank you again for the lessons. Looking forward to the next one!

por Anshu S

Apr 07, 2019

This course sets up really string base for your Data Visualization and make you understand the very easy yet essential topics and tool for it. Its a must-to-do course and I am going to do its full specialization to be fluent in Data Visualisation.

por Madhur S

Apr 01, 2019

Amazing work. Though I felt that week 3 was a little boring but that is mostly because it was too technical and also the Tableau Public has been updated in 2019 so there are a lot more options to connect with data rather than using Odata servers.

por igor s

May 05, 2017

I am very glad for my participation in this course. As always, it´s a very good work from the Coursera team and the University, I think. I you don´t know any information, the discussion forum is open for all of you. Thank you so much.

por Maria d P D C

Jul 11, 2017

This course is a good start point to learn how to use Tableau Software united with the bases of Visualization methodologies, as both are needed to convey meaningful insights and move your audience to take decisions based on data.

por Subham K B

Oct 15, 2019

Quite an interesting course gave a good headstart on the importance of data analytics and orient learners towards aspiring to know more about this field and turn into future-ready candidates for the academia and industry.

por Billy B

Oct 02, 2019

Even though I learned via auditing the course for free, I think UC Davis did a great job overlaying the introductory concepts for being a productive user of Tableau. I'm going to enroll in future classes because of this!

por Aamir M

Jan 27, 2017

This course is absolutely helpful in every mean for a person like me who is taking his very first steps in the data visualization world. although it is very difficult for everyone to accessible fully as its not free.

por Srivatsava A

May 25, 2017

very good course for the starters, please add more problem solving issues and make the peer grade assignments more chalenging.after all the foundation it laid is good for a starter in data visualization.