Chevron Left
Voltar para Produção de laticínios e administração

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Produção de laticínios e administração da instituição Universidade Estadual da Pensilvânia

4.8
estrelas
457 classificações
149 avaliações

Sobre o curso

With the world's first MOOOOO-C, you will gain a broad and comprehensive understanding of all aspects of dairy management such as genetics, nutrition, reproduction, animal health, farm economics, and sustainability of dairy production systems. There's something here for everyone whether you are just looking for the basics or have years of experience in the dairy industry. This is an eight-week course. Each week consists of four to nine video lectures, additional reading materials, and a multiple-choice questions quiz. Estimated study time is between three and five hours per week. Learners have the option to purchase a Course Certificate for 49.00 USD. The certificate can be purchased at any time, but you must verify your identify before taking the course quizzes in order to be eligible. For those who cannot afford the certificate fee, financial aid is available through Coursera. Why is producing milk efficiently and sustainably so important? Milk provides humans with over 16 essential nutrients, such as: Energy, Protein and Essential Amino acids, Vitamin A, Vitamin D, several B vitamins, including B12, Pantothenic and Folic acids, and essential minerals such as Calcium, Magnesium, Phosphorus, Potassium, Zinc, as well as other minerals. Did you know that one glass of milk provides a 5-year old child with 21% of his/her daily protein requirements and 8% of their energy needs? Most milk in the world, about 85%, is produced from cattle. However, water buffaloes, goats, sheep, and camel are also dairy animals. The United States, India, the European Union, Brazil, and New Zealand are among the largest dairy producers in the world. Yet among these dairy-producing countries there are varied methods to generate milk with highly variable productivity and efficiency. Dairy production is vital for the survival of billions of people. Globally, around 150 million small-scale dairy households, equivalent to 750 million people, are engaged in milk production. The number and size of dairy farms varies among countries, but in India alone, there are estimated 78 million dairy farms! In the United States, one of the leading milk-producing countries in the world, total milk production has been steadily increasing in the last decades, reaching over 205 billion pounds (93 billion kilograms) in 2014. This was accompanied by a steady increase in average milk yield per cow, reaching 22,260 lb (over 10,100 kg) per lactation in 2014. How has this efficiency been achieved? What methods are necessary to ensure production of high quality milk? How do we balance milk production efficiency with animal health and environmental protection? This course will provide the student with information to better understand dairy production systems and their role in feeding the world population. In this MOOOOO-C, you will learn about the dairy enterprise from internationally recognized dairy science professors who have delivered highly regarded dairy education programs within the United States and internationally. Course lectures are translated into Portuguese and Chinese; PDF files of these translations can be found under each course week. The Dairy MOOC team thanks Dr. Antonio Branco (Universidade Estadual de Maringá, Brazil) and Ms. Yuanyuan Zhang (Pennsylvania State University) for translating the lecture materials. Course Sponsors This course was supported by the generous contributions of Innovation Center for US Dairy at Silver Level and Pancosma North America, RP Nutrients, Inc. and Arm and Hammer, which provided funding support at a Bronze Level. The Pennsylvania State University has final responsibility for the academic content of this course....

Melhores avaliações

SS

Dec 21, 2019

it was an amazing course which help me to understand the dairy production and management and also help me to improve my knowledge regarding dairy management as well as skills.\n\nThank you.

TN

Aug 25, 2019

I am extremely grateful for this course and the hardworking people behind it. The amount of detailed information and research that has been included is great and I appreciate it very much.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Produção de laticínios e administração

por Cynthia T

Jun 20, 2019

I've been working on dairy farms over forty years. There's always something to learn. Love this course. Great informational videos and reading.

por brianviyof

Sep 04, 2019

Exceptional and very informative. I feel like a professional now. I have learn a lot of skills which will enable me improve on my small dairy farm in Cameroon precisely in Buea - SWR (the only dairy farm in the region). Thanks a Lot PENN State University for this ground breaking course. Please, we need a course on mushroom cultivation and spawn production.

por Akuha N L

Nov 14, 2016

This is a comprehensive and holistic approach to dairy cattle production and management. The detailed course materials has equipped me with the necessary knowledge and skills to succeed in modern day dairy cattle production. Thank you Penn State University, Thank you distinguished Professors for been my instructors through out this Dairy MOOC.

por BENMAHCENE T D E h

Oct 12, 2019

It 'is my first amazing Mooc that i' learn from them a good knowledge in Dairy production and management .I hope to work with what i learn nearly . thank you to penn state université and for all the teacher staff in the mooc . Thank you so much for coursera that he give me this opportunities to learn from all the world . TAHA

por Yusuf T

Jan 17, 2019

Dairy Production and Management course is a well-designed and prepared course. I highly recommend to professionals who want to learn comprehensive methods of modern dairy farming. Thank you so much for all the instructors for their great work on course content and teaching way.

por Eddy L

May 05, 2016

Excellent course.

It is a really good overview about Dairy Production and Management. It does not bore with too much detail. However provides enough additional material to work with and get as far into the subject as one wishes to.

Thank you so very much for this online course.

por Erik F

Nov 27, 2016

Excelente curso, con videos de alto nivel técnico e información actualizada, excelente todo el material en cada uno de los módulos, recomendados a aquellos les guste la producción lechera. Espero que sigan sacando cursos de este tipo. Recomendado a la comunidad de Coursera.

por Wolf

Oct 04, 2019

This was actually incredibly interesting. As someone who has been a farm milker for 5 years now I thought this was only going to revise my current knowledge but nope it gave me so much more then I knew. I love it! Great videos and really interesting content. Thank you!

por Aarons C

Jul 25, 2017

This is an excellent course. I was thinking I knew the art and science of a dairy until I went through this course. I am now confident that I can run a dairy farm very successfully. I would like to share detailed feedback to the instructors in a separate email.

por Johanna C

May 02, 2016

Very interesting course covered a number of different areas I was particularly keen on the sustainable and environmental issues. I don't have any farm animals but it still taught me a huge amount of what is involved in getting a pint of milk to ones doorstep

por Vanessa S D

Jan 13, 2018

I really liked the course, the very complete topics and the doctors who gave it with very useful information. The app works for me perfect because it reminds you of the dates and you can take it at the moment you have time no matter the place. Thank you.

por Dr. J T

Mar 19, 2018

I liked the detailed information and presentation about the different aspects of Dairy Farming.

Every module is presented in a very simple and detailed manner. Appreciate the efforts of everyone who have taught me through this course.

Dr. Jayaprakash TG

por Sara S O

Apr 16, 2016

It is an excellent course! Thanks to it I have learned lots of things I dind't know about dairy farms. Also about care, food and needs of cows. The videos are so great and professors make lessons easy and accessible to all levels. 100% recommended!!

por Elizabeth A R

May 31, 2016

Great course, loaded with information! Definitely worth going through for any cattle farmer or vet. My only complaint is that on some of the quizzes, you will never get the right answer because the answer keeps changing. But that can be fixed. :)

por MUSA A

Jan 30, 2018

An excellent course from PSU. The instructors are superb and interesting to listen to. The aditional readings are unbeatable and they serve as good resources to perfect student understanding. Excellent score to coursera and PSU. Keep it up.

por INAM-U-LLAH

Mar 22, 2018

This is a very good course for the people interested in dairy farming or for those who want to start a career in dairy farming. I would definitely recommend this course as a short term and efficient approach to learn about dairy farming.

por Ghada G E A

May 02, 2018

Thanks to every lecturer of penn state univeristy for opening this opportunity of sharing such a great informations for the world's benefit, It is a pleasure to join this helpful course.

Thanks Coursera for hosting and presenting.

por Noreen H

Jul 24, 2017

This is an excellent course that provides a great overview of dairy production and management. I took the course to expand my knowledge of the dairy industry. I came away with a deep appreciation for dairy farming and the

por Munawar A

May 13, 2019

This course was very much fruitful for me and i am happy that I got a chance to learn from dairy experts. I wish coursera arrange these types of courses more and more and really thankful to coursera from core of my heart.

por Margot V

May 11, 2016

Excellent online tutorial. Course had a lot of application to my field of study in South Africa. I will definitely be applying for more courses and using Coursera more. Thank you to the lecturers at Penn State University.

por Mahdi E f

Jun 11, 2018

Thank you for all instructors for making all this profound technical information simple and understandable. This dairy course provided me with very useful information on how to manage a successful dairy farm.

por Thevakugan N

Aug 25, 2019

I am extremely grateful for this course and the hardworking people behind it. The amount of detailed information and research that has been included is great and I appreciate it very much.

por Nicola C

Nov 24, 2019

I've loved this course since the first lecture. All the arguments are treated very well and the information provided are essential! Thank you Penn State University for this great course!

por Shahzaib

Dec 21, 2019

it was an amazing course which help me to understand the dairy production and management and also help me to improve my knowledge regarding dairy management as well as skills.

Thank you.

por Ibrahim S K

Oct 07, 2019

A very good resource of knowledge, I have learnt many things not about what I do but also about enviromental management which we barely have time or grazing which we do not do