Chevron Left
Voltar para International Cyber Conflicts

Comentários e feedback de alunos de International Cyber Conflicts da instituição Universidade Estadual de Nova York

4.4
653 classificações
145 avaliações

Sobre o curso

By nature, cyber conflicts are an international issue that span across nation-state borders. By the end of the course, you will be able to apply the knowledge gained for analysis and management of international cyber incidents and conflicts including for activities such as development of policy related to cybercrime and cyberwarfare. Management of cyber incidents and conflicts requires an interdisciplinary perspective including an understanding of: 1) characteristics of the cyber threats and conflicts themselves, 2) international efforts to reduce and improve cyber security, and 3) psychological and sociopolitical factors. The course is designed to reach an international audience and will encourage discussion on relevant current events among participants to enrich the experience with various personal and cultural perspectives on cutting-edge issues. In addition, assignments and other assessments will supplement video lectures and selected readings to ensure application of the material. After taking this course you will be able to: • Identify different types of actors involved in cyber threats (individuals, organizations & nation-states) • Distinguish between different types of threats and issues in cyber security including, data theft, political espionage, critical infrastructure protection, and propaganda • Detail the basic characteristics of the Internet infrastructure and international efforts to address Internet governance • List several international efforts to address cyber crime and espionage • Evaluate how principals that govern international conflicts might be applied in context of cyber security • Apply different psychological theories of human motivation and cooperation and communication and political theories in analysis of different international issues related to cyber security including censorship, media operations and role of social technologies. Grading: Your grade is assessed based on discussion posts and quizzes. Individual taking this course for credit (i.e. students at the University at Albany y will be required to engage in additional activities communicated to them directly). Recommended Background: No background knowledge or skills are necessary, but an understanding and familiarity of cyber security, Internet infrastructure and international law would be advantageous for anyone who participates in the course. ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS Ersin Dincelli and Nic DePaula were the instructional designers for the course who assisted in the recording of the videos, reviewing material, creating slides, assessments and some of the content. Without their tremendous effort this would not have been possible. We also acknowledge the financial support for the recordings from the University at Albany as well as the support from Media and Marketing. Finally, thanks to Lisa Stephens who is the SUNY liaison to Coursera for being a strong supporter of the MOOC....

Melhores avaliações

OF

Mar 27, 2019

Excellent overview of existing state of play. Also very interesting coverage of psychology underpinning cyber behaviours. Thank you for this enlightening course!

BK

Jul 20, 2017

I wish there should be a more detailed and broadened bulletins of particular and concrete cases about cyber conflicts throughout the whole world.

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o International Cyber Conflicts

por monlia w

Jun 22, 2016

The course content was great but delivery was a little dry. Appears that the presenters were reading from a teleprompter - sort of awkward.

por Mark C

Mar 05, 2018

Some of the later lectures, especially the one's on trust seemed to be thrown together and the instructors weren't as well versed or confident.

por Hitesh T

Aug 17, 2016

Course in not only just about theory of cyber security .But also ,It also accommodates psychological view to cyber world . This makes it more interesting .The brief part of law related to cyber security buttress the content maturity .However, More information on privacy should be added .If done ,course is a 5 star Course .Moreover, every lecture gives information.So, efficiently crafted out of course .Overall,it's worth taking and worth time spending

por Eelko J

Jan 10, 2017

Nice blend of psychology, game theory, international relations and cyberwarfare, enriched with all kind of examples from the nuclear arms race.

por Mark A U

Feb 18, 2016

awesome course I learned a great

por Brian

Nov 29, 2016

It takes time for me, as a non English spoken, to understand some professor's accent. Overall, I learned a lot from this course. This course helped me understand what causes of cyberattack are, the wa

por Teo G

Jan 14, 2017

solid course

por Johnathan L

Feb 26, 2017

Pretty good course. While the assessments are pretty much just a repeat of the in-video questions, I feel I was still able to learn a fair amount.

por Carl J I

May 29, 2016

Course was ok. However, some of questions were not clear based on excerpt from support video. For example, quiz #1 question 7. Course was "general" overview of very important subject matter of Cyber Conflicts. Looking forward to a more specific and detailed course structure. PS: A course concerning Cyberwar in Space would be quite interesting.

por Fabio D

Sep 22, 2017

Interesting!

por Davide C

Oct 23, 2016

general view on the subject. some interesting ideas.

por Donald D

Mar 06, 2016

This was a very good course (4.5/5.0). One area that could be improved would be the discussion of industrial control systems (ICS). On lecture briefly mentions STUXNET and SCADA, but this was rather incomplete discussion. A very recent incident that could have been used was the attack on the Ukraine Power grid as a demo of a cyber attack against infrastructure. https://ics-cert.us-cert.gov/alerts/IR-ALERT-H-16-056-01?_mc=sm_dr_editor_kellyjacksonhiggins

I am perhaps biased toward this area, since this is my field of work.

por Boris R

Nov 05, 2019

Very interesting course, but the exams might be a bit more difficult. I would have appreciate to have to dig more on the subject by homeworks as text writing. But it is a great introduction on International Cyber Conflicts

por Lydianne

Jan 27, 2019

Not very in depth.

por Emilio J M V

Aug 03, 2017

si bien es interesante el tema quedan muchas preguntas a resumir se necesitaria mas ejercicios asi el alumno investiga, y trabajar sobre mas textos y describir mas juridicciones.

Although it is interesting the topic are many questions to summarize would need more exercises so the student investigates, and work on more texts and describe more legal

por Elena G

Mar 24, 2017

The videos were not always easy to understand because of the unclear pronouncing of the key speaker. Also although most of the tests were easy to complete, the ones that you had to write the answer down instead of only choosing the correct answer, were hard since if one word you wrote was wrong you lost the question.

por Athena A

Mar 17, 2018

Was ok, got a little boring after week 2

por Daria M K

Jun 03, 2017

This course provides a great foundation to build upon, but it is not very engaging. The instructor is simply reading off the screen and it looks like all the lectures were recorded over one day. He struggles to read the material towards the end of the course, while often mispronouncing the words and neglecting the concept of punctuation. I would recommend reading the reference book used in this course, "Cybersecurity and Cyberwar: What Everyone Needs to Know", because listening to the lectures is painful!

por Celeste H

May 24, 2018

While informative and interesting, I believe the course hadn't been updated in a few years and some of the links to further readings didn't work. I really enjoyed what I studied.

por Thomas C

Jun 23, 2016

Wished the course was a deeper dive into this area.

por Paul A

Jan 26, 2018

Could make use of more real world examples. Hacktivism and individual actors receive more attention than they deserve given their extremely limited capabilities. Over all a good class though.

por Roeland H

May 15, 2017

Much of the literature was unavailable which I think is a downside. Also, while interesting, the topics were covered only superficially and I felt that that questions during the videos and at the end of the module were very easy and did not challenge the participant to think or research.

por Christian P

Mar 25, 2017

I like the comparisons between past physical wars and current cyberwar. However, the course take the long way to explain very basic elements of nations interactions and trust.

por Navneet H

Apr 29, 2017

It's Ok, nothing much to gain iin terms of knowledge realted to cyber conflict.

por Ricardo J O

Jan 28, 2016

On the positive side I emphasise the importance of bringing this topic to a Coursera course. Also the readings were important and added value to the learning experience.

On the other hand there are - in my opinion some aspects that made this course a not so rich experience. First, there are some audio issues in the videos. Second, the quizzes are excessively easy and the in video quizzes should not appear in the weekly assignments. If there are required readings, some of the quiz questions should relate to those readings. This way students had an incentive to go over those readings. But the most salient thing that made my experience very limited was the fact that one of the instructors - the one that presented most of the videos, was excessively nervous and all that he did was read the slides, in most cases not doing so naturally and committing errors, rephrasing, stopping, changing speed. I found it very, very difficult to follow along what he was saying. I had to focus only on the slides, otherwise I would get distracted. I think it is ok to be nervous or at ease, but the team should alerted him to this, and shoot the videos again and again until they had acceptable and balanced quality.

A minor thing, I would like to had available the weekly slides to further reflection. I think the video issues that I've mentioned should been carefully planned before this course made it mainstream.

This is my opinion. Hope it will help you for future improvements of the course and/or other offerings.

Ricardo Oliveira