Chevron Left
Voltar para Curanderismo: Traditional Healing Using Plants

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Curanderismo: Traditional Healing Using Plants da instituição Universidade do Novo México

4.6
estrelas
116 classificações
48 avaliações

Sobre o curso

COURSE DESCRIPTION As one of four courses on Curanderismo, the art of Hispanic/Latino traditional medicine, this course focuses specifically on the use of plants in traditional healing. As an educational and cultural platform, this course will share the history, influences, and contributions of traditional medicine. Trained traditional healers will share their knowledge of the healing properties of plants commonly found in the Southwestern United States and Mexico through practical applications that can still be used today. Learners will not become certified traditional healers at the completion of this course but will be able apply basic principles or traditional medicine to approach health and illnesses. They will become familiar specifically with the use of plants for the digestive and nervous systems; how to prepare tinctures and microdosis for healing; how to use juice therapy and geotherapy (clay combined with plants) for treatments; and the use of herbal oils and herbal smoke for healing. Future Curanderismo courses include: Traditional Healing of the Body: Intestinal blockage empacho, firecupping ventosas, and hydrotherapy (healing with water) Traditional Healing of the Mind, Energy and Spirit: Sweatlodge Temazcal, Energetic/Spiritual cleansings Limpias, and Laugh therapy risaterapia. Global and Cultural Influences of Traditional Healing: African tradition, Afro Latino from Cuba and Puerto Rico, Native American spiritual cleansings and Mayan acupuncture. REQUIRED TEXTS Curanderismo: The Art of Traditional Medicine without Borders by Eliseo Torres Curandero: Traditional Healers of Mexico and the Southwest by Eliseo Torres with Imanol Miranda Where to buy: https://he.kendallhunt.com/product/curanderismo-art-traditional-medicine-without-borders https://he.kendallhunt.com/product/curandero-traditional-healers-mexico-and-southwest OPTIONAL TEXTS Curandero: A life in Mexican Folk Healing by Eliseo Torres & Tim Sawyer Healing with Herbs & Rituals: A Mexican Tradition, Eliseo Torres, edited by Tim Sawyer Where to buy: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/curandero-torres-eliseo-cheo/1120135382?ean=9780826336415&st=PLA&sid=BNB_1341481610&sourceId=PLAGoNA&dpid=tdtve346c&2sid=Google_c&gclid=EAIaIQobChMI3_6LmYev3gIViuNkCh3IPgUyEAQYASABEgLYXfD_BwE https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/healing-with-herbs-and-rituals-torres-eliseo-cheo/1120135381?ean=9780826339621&st=PLA&sid=BNB_825204424&sourceId=PLAGoNA&dpid=tdtve346c&2sid=Google_c&gclid=EAIaIQobChMIrrvswYev3gIVBsRkCh3BXQCHEAQYASABEgLnl_D_BwE...

Melhores avaliações

SH
9 de Fev de 2019

Wonderful, enlightening course. The speakers were all so knowledgeable, and the information that presented has practical uses. I look forward to using what I learned to heal myself and others.

K
26 de Jul de 2020

This is a wonderful course to introduce the practice of curanderismo. I really enjoyed learning about the ways types of plants are used to aide in healing.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 48 Avaliações para o Curanderismo: Traditional Healing Using Plants

por Sylvia W

20 de Nov de 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed the videos and readings and learned some new tips and tricks. The format was convenient to my study needs and style.

por Jelicia S

19 de Mai de 2020

This class was so amazing and informative it helped me get back to my roots and the real power of natural healing. Thank you.

por Christina C

24 de Abr de 2019

This is a good, yet bare-bones, intro to healing with plants through the practices of curanderism. The global and anthropological perspectives really add a lot to the course. Overall, I do suggest this course to others interested in alternative healing and still I would have liked more depth.

por Nathalia L B

7 de Jul de 2020

En primera estancia considero que el curso no ofrece los recursos necesarios para poder llevar un estudio autónomo de la mano del propio curso, por ejemplo: Se cita un libro y capítulos que no se encuentra en Internet, el libro debe ser comprado y no todas las personas tienen la manera de adquirirlo. En segundo lugar creo que el curso no ofrece una base científica para que las personas que toman el curso entiendan al respecto y se sientan confiados de su veracidad (En este caso no tiene base o no ofrecer recursos que hablen acerca de la Botánica como tal), así que este trata simplemente de tradición que podría ser o no veraz. Teniendo esto en cuenta como un curso para conocer tradiciones Mexicanas es muy interesante, pero como un curso para aprender de medicina con plantas falta bastante material.

por Margarito Z

22 de Mar de 2019

Excellent course, a lot of help that strengthens the non-pharmacological treatment of some diseases and at the same time seeks the prevalence of curing by means of natural elements. Congratulations and many thanks for all that knowledge and inspiration that you have given me.

por Kamila Ś

22 de Jun de 2020

A very interesting course, unfortunately no readings are provided, not even after buying the course.

por Lucy L

19 de Abr de 2020

This was an excellent course. I learned a great deal including the correct process and procedures for making tinctures and microdoses. I learned about cupping, healing with herbal oils and the use of herbal smoke for healing among other things.

por Sierra H

9 de Fev de 2019

Wonderful, enlightening course. The speakers were all so knowledgeable, and the information that presented has practical uses. I look forward to using what I learned to heal myself and others.

por Kalie A

27 de Jul de 2020

This is a wonderful course to introduce the practice of curanderismo. I really enjoyed learning about the ways types of plants are used to aide in healing.

por VIJAYA L G

25 de Mai de 2020

Thank you Coursera, for giving us an opportunity join ur free classes during the lockdown situtatons and for offering such Excellent courses online with certificate. i love traditional healing and i prefer to medicate with natural therapies and has a thirst for healing therapies like curanderismo. i enjoyed the whole course. A humble request, it would be nice if u could have provided the reading material as mentioned at the end of some weeks , which was not available.. i would be most grateful if you ppl can please mail us the reading materials at drgvlaxmi_biotech@cbit.ac.in to my email . thankyou.

por Camila G

28 de Jun de 2020

How can you attend yo course which does not upload the readings?? You have to buy a book which is not available in most of the countries, asl Latin America?

Really good idea but the worst course to take.

por Eleni T

19 de Jan de 2021

I feel grateful having accomplished this course! I am very that I had the opportunity to learn a few things about traditional healing methods about diferrent kind of plants with medicinal action. The teachers seem so nice people. They are very calm and zen making me believe that "well being" is a part of their life and not just a theory. The only part I didn' t enjoy is that I couldn't join the course live and try their healing methods! It's a relaxed, easy lesson which everyone can attend without needing previous knowledge.

por Worm W

4 de Dez de 2020

Top notch! I enjoyed CURANDERISMO: Traditional Healing Using Plants very much. It is an honor to have this knowledge, and i desire to practice and share it every waking moment. It would be a dream come true to join the in-person summer course to experience the the sharing of Energy. Thank you to all the knowledgeable presenters and to Dr. "Cheo" Torres.

por Daniella C

6 de Ago de 2020

I enjoyed learning so much in the class and appreciated having the video with a demonstration that went more in-depth. I would recommend to anyone that's interested. also appreciate how they incorporated different culture's customs with the use of different plants to be used for healing.

por Mauro D

1 de Set de 2020

Great overview of curanderismo, with lots of input and lectures from practitioners. While the topics covered are broad (it is an introductory course, after all), the lecturers gave great detail and spoke of their own experiences. Grateful to have found and participated in the course.

por Barbara J

16 de Jan de 2019

A wonderful combination of cultural anthropology, cultural appreciation, botany and adjuvant therapies. The only drawback to this course is that it makes you want to travel to New Mexico so you can complete additional, in person training.

por Michelle G

24 de Fev de 2019

I was able to audit this course and really enjoyed it. The coursework was doable considering I'm a mom of two little ones and work full time. I appreciated the variety of presenters and look forward to the next module. Thank you!

por Sam L

26 de Jan de 2021

Thank you Dr. Torres and all the healers for such a wonderful course. I have learned so much in such a short time. I recommend this course 100% to anyone seeking knowledge on traditional healing with plants.

por JARRIN G D E

16 de Out de 2020

Muchas gracias por este curso, Dr. Cheo Torres.

Muy buenos los instructores y muy didácticos los contenidos.

Saludos desde Quito-Ecuador

Diego Jarrín Gallegos

por Arlette

13 de Dez de 2020

Thank You, Coursera! This is an excellent course to introduce the practice of curanderismo. Highly recommended!

Thanks, professor Cheo!!!

por Fatima P

22 de Ago de 2020

Very instructional videos of the University of new Mexico, i just love the way thet teach .. willing for more courses from them

por Abigail S

15 de Out de 2020

What an excellent, informative, well done course! I learned so much in such a short amount of time ! (audit)

por Olivia S

23 de Abr de 2020

I learned so much and appreciated every video. Wish the course was longer! Still five star course.

por Veronica S

23 de Mai de 2020

It's a good course, but some videos are very short. Other than that, good information.

por Alejandra S

25 de Ago de 2019

Informative and interesting. Very happy I was able to participate in theses courses.