Chevron Left
Voltar para Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Creative Writing: The Craft of Style da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
668 classificações
182 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Your style is as unique and distinctive as your face, your voice, except that you can choose it, you can can work on it, enhance it. In this course we will introduce aspiring writers to the art of putting pressure on written language. We will study the use of metaphor and imagery, and demonstrate how clarity, grace, and inventiveness in word choice are imperative to a story’s success. Writers will emerge with the revision skills essential to all writers of good stories and good prose....

Melhores avaliações

MS

Apr 19, 2016

Great class for the content I needed. I audited this class and benefited from the theory discussion and practical exercises. The class guided me to improve my writing style which was my ultimate goal.

LR

Dec 18, 2018

Lessons were well done, good mix of teaching and illuminating discussion between accomplished writers. Exercises are creative and well thought out. Feedback from classmates is generally helpful.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

por Natalia C

May 20, 2016

I really like it. I learned things that I was not aware of when it comes to write.

por Vanessa V K

Nov 12, 2016

I loved this course. It's helpful to have focus and direction.

por Courtney Z

Mar 27, 2018

This course was excellent. I was challenged by the writing assignments and the constraints helped me to think about things in a different way. Great course- highly recommended.

por Sonia F

Sep 04, 2017

I think this has been my favourite of the courses up until now. I love the way Scibona expresses himself and involves the students with his passion for style and persuasive narrative!

por Lech B

Mar 30, 2016

Great, short and sweet.

por Mary B P

Dec 13, 2016

Extremely useful information. Thank you!

por Iris R

Jun 29, 2016

Thank you.

por Damilola O

May 24, 2017

This course has taught me so many things that I would not have learnt otherwise. Thank you for creating this course! I enjoyed it thoroughly.

por Bishwaksen B

Feb 01, 2018

Very very helpful

por Jenny J G L

Apr 06, 2018

Salvatore Scibona is an excellent teacher. I learned a lot from this course. My only complain is that for this particular module in the specialisation as it's about language and language style, the staff should apply a language (English) level requirement, because some students' writings are so painful to read--full of error spellings, jumbled sentences and wrong use of words.

por MP

Jun 05, 2017

Excellent! I enjoyed it and learned a lot. Thank you.

por Bernat R

Nov 28, 2017

Very important to rookie writers in my opinion, and very practical and appliable to any short or long writing.

por Sarah S

Apr 17, 2017

This course gave me courage to slice into my words fearlessly and cut the deadweight out. I feel like I am a better writer having completed the course and am feeling very confident about my writing future.

por Jillian K

Dec 06, 2017

This course was an excellent blend of basics and simple intense assignments to practice the conc

por Chris B

Jul 31, 2016

I think this was the best of the four Wesleyan Creative Writing specialization courses.

por adriene j

Mar 01, 2018

Tough, demanding because so challenging. Worth taking if you want to get better.

por Lorenzo M V I

Dec 18, 2016

This course takes your writing craft up a notch! The writer hones his or her clarity while becoming a sharp editor and more powerful storyteller.

por Deleted A

Sep 04, 2016

Best course ever!

por Josipa B

Jun 08, 2018

Very useful stuff

por Julian M

Aug 05, 2017

Thank you!

por Roy N

Jan 25, 2018

I started this course rolling my eyes. It just felt like it was going to be a lot of flowery language amounting to not much. I was so wrong! Describing intangible ideas in a way one can digest and then apply isn't easy, but the professor does it well. I left with some models that I will definitely use in my writing. This course is packed with a ton of value!

por Chew W Y

Sep 09, 2016

I like all the writing courses organized by Wesleyan, I find the content meaningful and the instructors approachable.

por Cristofer C L

Oct 06, 2016

I feel like a much better writer and I feel capable of going about getting published now.

por Marie-Hélène F

Nov 23, 2016

Excellent! Thank you so much!

por Hanlie B

Feb 02, 2017

Really enjoyed the course, well thought out, well presented, changed the way I am writing. Recommend!