Chevron Left
Voltar para Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Creative Writing: The Craft of Style da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
695 classificações
186 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Your style is as unique and distinctive as your face, your voice, except that you can choose it, you can can work on it, enhance it. In this course we will introduce aspiring writers to the art of putting pressure on written language. We will study the use of metaphor and imagery, and demonstrate how clarity, grace, and inventiveness in word choice are imperative to a story’s success. Writers will emerge with the revision skills essential to all writers of good stories and good prose....

Melhores avaliações

MS

Apr 19, 2016

Great class for the content I needed. I audited this class and benefited from the theory discussion and practical exercises. The class guided me to improve my writing style which was my ultimate goal.

LR

Dec 18, 2018

Lessons were well done, good mix of teaching and illuminating discussion between accomplished writers. Exercises are creative and well thought out. Feedback from classmates is generally helpful.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

por Dominique S

Jun 14, 2019

Incredible instructor. He was the most engaging instructor in the series specialization in my opinion. I loved the assignments. Loved the class. Really enjoyable and great for any writer.

por Sonia F

Sep 04, 2017

I think this has been my favourite of the courses up until now. I love the way Scibona expresses himself and involves the students with his passion for style and persuasive narrative!

por Andreea S

Dec 20, 2017

I had a lot of fun and learned so much! I enjoyed every video of this specialisation, every assignment, all the feedback, and the delivery of each instructor. Thank you so much!

por Courtney Z

Mar 27, 2018

This course was excellent. I was challenged by the writing assignments and the constraints helped me to think about things in a different way. Great course- highly recommended.

por lisa r

Jun 17, 2016

I am just about to start week three. I am enjoting the close reading exercises, the tutorials are informative and the conversations are very illuminating. Very well set out.

por Nevil

Jan 18, 2019

Fantastic! I like the streamline part and usage of punching word ( nouns and verbs). Prof. Scibona Thank you for pointing out the do's / don'ts and other valuable tips

por José A C R

Apr 02, 2017

A great course that forces you to evaluate and re-evaluate the way in which you write, facing you with decisions to improve your style that are sometimes hard to make.

por Matthias N Y

Mar 28, 2018

You have awaken my passions of writing. Your assignments helped me to improve. Could you please send me your email contact for further chat and details.

Many thanks.

por Renee C W

Aug 30, 2018

Great instructive lectures and study materials, excellent assignments for honing your craft. Even as a seasoned fiction writer, I learned so much from this course!

por Edith-Marie R

May 25, 2017

Had a lot of fun Took a little more time than I anticipated but it was good practice and good for practicing and pushing my writing a bit (I was getting rusty...).

por SD J

Oct 24, 2018

Salvatore Scibona is awesome!

His enthusiasm is infectious. I've learned a lot of new techniques. More importantly, I've started to think differently about prose.

por Kaitlyn B

Oct 19, 2019

I really enjoyed this class, especially Professor Scibona, as he reminds me of my favorite uncle. He also explained what he meant in true storyteller fashion.

por Pooja S

Sep 08, 2018

Salvatore Scibona is excellent and his teaching style is very engaging. I have enjoyed the craft of style and gained a lot of useable information out of it.

por Luisa

Sep 21, 2017

I would definitely recommend this course. The professor is amazing! He makes everything so easy to understand and you really appreciate the art of writing!

por Ibrahim N

Mar 08, 2017

Very interesting and educating course. I am very happy that I had a chance to learn something about creative writing from the writer such Salvator Scibona.

por S. J W

May 13, 2016

I thought the videos were excellent and the interviews of great value. I always download the text, create a .docx, and follow the videos word-for-word.

por Inés K

Dec 20, 2018

I've only done week 1 so far, but I just love the way Salvatore Scibona talks about writing, his enthusiasm. I'm looking forward to the next weeks!

por Ian B

Jun 21, 2017

By far the most useful course in the Creative Writing Specialization. It really helps you revamp your writing by making it leaner and more focused.

por Lorenzo M V I

Dec 18, 2016

This course takes your writing craft up a notch! The writer hones his or her clarity while becoming a sharp editor and more powerful storyteller.

por Ana S A C

Aug 13, 2016

This had been my favorite one, incredibly practical and useful, I feel that I can understand better how to construct my story in a believable way.

por Monica N M

Oct 16, 2019

Easy to follow, content goes deep into what the mind of a great experienced writer looks like. Highly recommend for people of any writing level!

por Damilola O

May 24, 2017

This course has taught me so many things that I would not have learnt otherwise. Thank you for creating this course! I enjoyed it thoroughly.

por Denise F

Oct 31, 2018

These four Creative Writing courses have given me great new tools for writing. I approach each piece with a new confidence and creativity.

por Max H

Jul 07, 2017

i love his way of teaching. very educational and pedagogical. I'm a visual learner and this catered to me more than the other craft courses

por Casey

Mar 23, 2016

Excellent class for learning prose and editing. I wish there was a class to learn even more about the craft of style, an advanced class.