Chevron Left
Voltar para Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Creative Writing: The Craft of Style da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
890 classificações
255 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Your style is as unique and distinctive as your face, your voice, except that you can choose it, you can can work on it, enhance it. In this course we will introduce aspiring writers to the art of putting pressure on written language. We will study the use of metaphor and imagery, and demonstrate how clarity, grace, and inventiveness in word choice are imperative to a story’s success. Writers will emerge with the revision skills essential to all writers of good stories and good prose....

Melhores avaliações

MS
18 de Abr de 2016

Great class for the content I needed. I audited this class and benefited from the theory discussion and practical exercises. The class guided me to improve my writing style which was my ultimate goal.

LR
17 de Dez de 2018

Lessons were well done, good mix of teaching and illuminating discussion between accomplished writers. Exercises are creative and well thought out. Feedback from classmates is generally helpful.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 249 Avaliações para o Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

por Liliane M

9 de Mar de 2018

I cannot the learning of this specialisation enough. So far it has been an amazing journey, which I could never had taken on my own. It has opened my eyes to an entire new universe. I have had my convictions turned upside down. Thank you all.

por Emily F

21 de Jun de 2016

This was a great class. I really learned a lot ... this is the type of class that will change someone as a writer. The quotes, the diagrams, the instruction, the assignments, the book recommendations ... everything was great. Thank you!! =)

por Yasmine A M

15 de Fev de 2018

A great course, I learned a lot about style and how to keep the balance between showing and telling. I learned the power of the words, and I am trying to work on enhancing my verbal expressions to choose the right word for the right spot.

por Muthukumaran.C.M

31 de Jul de 2020

The course was very helpful in bringing out the creative writing ability within me. The language skills were also fine tuned through the course which would benefit in my future prospects. Thank you for designing this amazing course.

por Carol S

7 de Jan de 2019

This course demonstrated more clearly than I had ever seen before the difference between "show" and "tell" when evoking a character's thoughts and feelings. It was highly valuable for me both as a writer and a professional editor.

por Warren P

28 de Set de 2017

I think Salvatore did a great job of showing us how to think about style, both our own and that of other great writers. It was an enjoyable process for me and I am grateful for the opportunity to learn these new skills.

por Angela K S

8 de Mar de 2016

Salvatore is outstanding! I would happily pay for more courses like this. Thank you for sharing your knowledge with us! It's been a fantastic experience and I can't wait to put what I've learned to use. Thank you again!

por Sourodeep C

3 de Ago de 2020

Wonderful course connecting the concepts of writing, the way prof. Scibona covers the fundamentals of meaningful writing helps a lot on how to approach writing a story. Looking forward to the capstone course now.

por Juanita J

26 de Jan de 2018

well organized and challenging. I was able to create 4 pieces to developed into more detailed and longer pieces. I enjoyed the flow of the class and the feedback from my fellow classmates was extremely helpful.

por Patricia G

5 de Dez de 2018

Excellent course I appreciate the conversations with visiting writers. Prof. Scibona is an engaging teacher and clearly presents useful information. The list of words to avoid was worth the entire course.

por Federico B S

30 de Mai de 2018

This is the best course of the series. His exercises are challenging and really push you to grow as a writer. Also, the materials on the forum really help you get a better sense of what he wants. I loved it.

por Sarah S

17 de Abr de 2017

This course gave me courage to slice into my words fearlessly and cut the deadweight out. I feel like I am a better writer having completed the course and am feeling very confident about my writing future.

por James D R

6 de Mai de 2018

I have been absolutely delighted with the content provided in this course. The ideas suggested by the lecturer and his guests have been very beneficial to me.

The course has far exceeded my expectations.

por Annette B

14 de Mar de 2016

Priceless instruction - as with all related courses in this specialization. If you're auditing the course assignment completion isn't permitted, so essentially, course "completion" isn't a possibility.

por Julie S

31 de Ago de 2020

This was the best and most useful to me of the four Wesleyan courses I've taken so far, all of which have been excellent and useful. This one really showed me a tool that I'd never understood.

por Hiobi H

11 de Out de 2017

Merci à toute l'équipe de Coursera pour ce cours! Je le recommande vivement à tous ceux et celles qui aimeraient avoir des connaissances sur la rédaction d'une oeuvre littéraire ou fiction.

por Nicole B

25 de Out de 2016

This has been a great opportunity for me to force the work and get something done. I haven't been that happy with some of what I've written, but I like the challenge of meeting a deadline.

por Dominique S

14 de Jun de 2019

Incredible instructor. He was the most engaging instructor in the series specialization in my opinion. I loved the assignments. Loved the class. Really enjoyable and great for any writer.

por Susan S

19 de Out de 2020

Some of the assignments were more challenging for me than those in the other three courses, but this wasn’t a bad thing. I felt more stretched and that was what I needed. Thank you!

por Sonia F

4 de Set de 2017

I think this has been my favourite of the courses up until now. I love the way Scibona expresses himself and involves the students with his passion for style and persuasive narrative!

por Andreea S

20 de Dez de 2017

I had a lot of fun and learned so much! I enjoyed every video of this specialisation, every assignment, all the feedback, and the delivery of each instructor. Thank you so much!

por Courtney Z

27 de Mar de 2018

This course was excellent. I was challenged by the writing assignments and the constraints helped me to think about things in a different way. Great course- highly recommended.

por lisa r

17 de Jun de 2016

I am just about to start week three. I am enjoting the close reading exercises, the tutorials are informative and the conversations are very illuminating. Very well set out.

por Ashish N

1 de Jul de 2020

Prof. Salvatore was very engaging and informative. I picked up many essential tools along the course which I can add to my arsenal and let it flow through my pen. Grateful.

por Terry R W

9 de Jun de 2020

I learned a lot about style in this course- and discovering that my favourite author (Jane Austen) was one of the first to use FIS, has me going back to read her again!