Chevron Left
Voltar para Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Creative Writing: The Craft of Style da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
925 classificações
264 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Your style is as unique and distinctive as your face, your voice, except that you can choose it, you can can work on it, enhance it. In this course we will introduce aspiring writers to the art of putting pressure on written language. We will study the use of metaphor and imagery, and demonstrate how clarity, grace, and inventiveness in word choice are imperative to a story’s success. Writers will emerge with the revision skills essential to all writers of good stories and good prose....

Melhores avaliações

MS
18 de Abr de 2016

Great class for the content I needed. I audited this class and benefited from the theory discussion and practical exercises. The class guided me to improve my writing style which was my ultimate goal.

LR
17 de Dez de 2018

Lessons were well done, good mix of teaching and illuminating discussion between accomplished writers. Exercises are creative and well thought out. Feedback from classmates is generally helpful.

Filtrar por:

226 — 250 de 258 Avaliações para o Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

por Keith G

21 de Out de 2019

I found this to be a very useful course. My only reservation is that some of the assignments were open to interpretation, so the peer reviews I received (and gave) were in some cases given from a different point of view from that of the author. That reduced the value of the feedback and therefore of the course itself.

por Andrea G G

15 de Jul de 2020

I really enjoyed taking this course! The teacher is great! I've learnt a lot about using the right words and understanding what is relevant for the reader to know. The only problem is related to the feedbacks, as not every peer take it as seriously as they should.

por Sahara Z F

16 de Ago de 2020

The course is very good although I did have a problem with someone plagiarism my work. Besides that, the course offers some excellent tips and tricks. I think Coursera should install a plagiarism detector for all the assignments in the site though.

por Esther M

11 de Nov de 2016

I made comments in the discussion board which I think would help with the assignments. I would like to see the idea of "style" communicated a little better, but I haven't seen the fifth course yet to know where it's all supposed to finish.

por Dorothy

8 de Abr de 2020

Very good course, emphasizing brevity and clarity in writing. Main issue is that very few seem to be enrolled so reviews can be hard to get if you don't submit early. I found the other courses, reviews were relatively easy to get.

por Anne M

13 de Jan de 2021

I enjoyed the course. There are some drawbacks... the peer reviews and discussion are not useful but the videos have a lot of good info and the writing exercises are fun and good practice.

por Emmanuel A

19 de Dez de 2016

I felt this course was slightly tough. When it comes to the degree of strictness in passing, I had my share. I thank God I finally passed, though some peers are very hard to convince.

por Richard R

8 de Mai de 2017

Interesting and helpful short talks on various aspects of writing style. Would be great if the course was offered as a more comprehensive version. What it touches on, it does well.

por Kartik S

23 de Abr de 2018

It was kind of fast and some tasks were really difficult compared to the other courses but it was a good learning experience.

por Konstantin T

22 de Set de 2016

Having completed all four CW modules, I feel this was a tad "inferior" to Character. High quality overall, as always.

por Nyema J

9 de Ago de 2018

This has certainly improved my approach to writing with focus on word efficiency and precision

por Karl Z

23 de Fev de 2017

https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=1854329571516504&id=100008184375757

por Claretta T W

1 de Mai de 2016

This course helped me in my writing. I enjoyed the feedback and the exercises.

por Keira O

30 de Out de 2020

I think this a great course. Precise and full of "glamorous" recommendations.

por jennifer

3 de Jun de 2019

the idea are well presented and i think have made me a stronger writer.

por arya k s

1 de Mai de 2018

Its a great course to learn the craft of language and how to use it.

por Sophie S

24 de Ago de 2018

The exercises were really great. The lessons weren't very helpful.

por Ellen B G

14 de Mai de 2016

I was helped by the lessons regarding choosing words carefully.

por Ravi K B

13 de Mai de 2020

One of the challenging courses in this specialisation.

por Deleted A

22 de Mar de 2017

Great, easy way to learn style. Highly recommend.

por Joseph A

30 de Ago de 2018

A wealth of information.

por Abrar A A

24 de Mar de 2018

challenging and engaging

por HEENA K

2 de Nov de 2020

THANK YOU! SIR.

por jjay

18 de Abr de 2016

great material

por Kristin L

5 de Mar de 2017

The course information was great and the assignments were very helpful. What lost points for the course was not the content provided by Wesleyan, which was good, but the poor effort on the part of many of the fellow students to really work on constructive critiques. For each assignment I had at least one of the three peer reviews that was useless to me to improve my writing, sometimes more. There should be a way to rate critiques so that students can't move on if they don't do the work of critiquing well.