Chevron Left
Voltar para Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
812 classificações
234 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to the techniques that masters of fiction use to ground a story in a concrete world. From the most realist settings to the most fantastical, writers will learn how to describe the physical world in sharp, sensory detail. We will also learn how to build credibility through research, and to use creative meditation exercises to deepen our own understanding of our story worlds, so that our readers can see all that we imagine....

Melhores avaliações

DP

Jul 18, 2018

This course gave a real depth to the importance of describing your character's environment, as a way of deepening and exciting them. excellent work on imagining your characters in the environment

JW

Jan 27, 2018

The course was very well organized and quite challenging. Each week gave me the opportunity to develop a piece which I have further developed into longer pieces which I am looking at publishing.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

por Patricia R

May 16, 2017

Very good

por salima h

Mar 23, 2016

Clear lectures with practical advice, and very good assignments. The assignments in the plot class and the character class were too confusing and structured, but the assignments in the craft of setting class were perfectly designed to help the student practice whatever was taught in the modules. I know it sounds unimportant, but we're here to write, and when we're given awkward assignments, the peer reviews go haywire and the writing quality declines for everyone.

I read some of the best work, peer work, in this class and in the style class.

por Lana M

Mar 17, 2016

Amity Gaige was a tremendous instructor. It was a very enjoyable course.

por Zsuzsanna J

May 10, 2016

I have learnt so much about description and about power of meditation. I recommend this course for everybody who would like to show his or her world to the Readers.

por Chloé B

Mar 20, 2016

Very good and interesting course!

por Amanda K

Feb 18, 2017

This was a great course. I feel like I learned a lot and was able to expand my writing abilities in ways I never knew I could. I absolutely loved the guided meditation and soundscapes portion of the course. Thank you, Amity Gaige!

por julia k

Mar 18, 2017

good assignments and clear tips and inspirations.

por Lauren L

Apr 15, 2017

This, for me, has been, by far the best part of the Creative writing course. Amity is an amazing instructor and gives great incite and lessons on Setting and description. She takes it one step further with readings and visualizations. I have learned so much that I can put to use! Highly reccomen

por Aurelija M

Sep 27, 2016

Amity Gaige quickly became one of my favourite tutors. I enjoyed all the meditation parts so much that it made me rethink how research should be done. Thank you!

por Raimundo P M

Jun 09, 2016

This one was much more intense, and as such, much more fruitful.

por Angela F

Oct 11, 2016

Great course. Excellent exercises, and illuminating lessons.

por Ajay C

Nov 07, 2017

Very helpful and interesting.

por Elizabeth G

Aug 06, 2017

I learned a lot

por Dennis M

Mar 29, 2018

I think this is my favourite of the writing courses so far. The first two courses are good, and instruct you what to write. This third course gives instructions on how to write, and I feel I get the most from it.

por Dena M

Apr 12, 2017

Amity has been the best teacher in this course series. She had us, big gasp, actually READ some wonderful stories and passages. Nothing like a writer reading. Her lectures were spot on and interesting and dynamic. The assignments were clear and fun to complete. Thank you Amity!

por Carreen P

Nov 23, 2017

Ms. Gaige is very efficient and effective. Her course showed me how to improve my observation of our environment and use it to draw the reader into the story. Very useful.

por Kartik S

Feb 16, 2018

Very helpful for someone who wants to become a writer!

por Sevinç A

Apr 18, 2018

I loved Amity Gaige's ideas and activities. So inspirational!

por Morgan

May 19, 2018

Knowledgable instructor. Good exercises.

por Abhinav T

Jan 19, 2017

The way Amity Gaige passes on her learnings makes it extremely easy for the beginners to pick things up. Her tips on persuasive writing completely persuaded me :). A very well designed course and delivered very well by Amity :)

por Amanda K N

Oct 31, 2017

Brilliant course. I started just auditing these modules but eventually completed all four (waiting to do the capstone) with peer review. All of the modules have been amazing and I continue to refer to them regularly. It's certainly built my confidence and skills. Thank you!

por Lori B B (

Nov 29, 2017

This was a very good course. It was a great addition to my writer's tool kit.

por Brian C

Sep 17, 2017

Enjoyed the course. Had to stretch on some of the exercises, a good experience.

por Matthias N Y

Mar 27, 2018

I liked the course. It great, and the instructor have awaken my gift of writing especially she asked me to write about my primal landscape. I need her email to talk to her Please.

por VAIBHAV Y

Jul 20, 2017

I really enjoyed this course and learned a lot. I also liked the fact that Amity gave selected readings to read which she thought might be important and helpful for us.