Chevron Left
Voltar para Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
812 classificações
234 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to the techniques that masters of fiction use to ground a story in a concrete world. From the most realist settings to the most fantastical, writers will learn how to describe the physical world in sharp, sensory detail. We will also learn how to build credibility through research, and to use creative meditation exercises to deepen our own understanding of our story worlds, so that our readers can see all that we imagine....

Melhores avaliações

DP

Jul 18, 2018

This course gave a real depth to the importance of describing your character's environment, as a way of deepening and exciting them. excellent work on imagining your characters in the environment

JW

Jan 27, 2018

The course was very well organized and quite challenging. Each week gave me the opportunity to develop a piece which I have further developed into longer pieces which I am looking at publishing.

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

por Hilal I

Nov 16, 2017

thank you, thank you, thank you ms. gaige and friends!

por Anna V

Nov 28, 2016

the most informative and most structured out of all Creative Writing Specialization courses so far. Thank you!

por Annette B

Mar 14, 2016

Great follow-up course to "The Craft of Plot." As a side note, those auditing this creative writing series from Wesleyan University must choose one of their paid routes of they desire to turn in assignments and get feedback from classmates. I guess this is the new course structure for specialized topics on the Coursera platform. The inability to turn in assignments was of little concern to me, but it may disappoint some, so I thought I'd mention it. Otherwise, at the very least, you'll have a firmer understanding and appreciation for crafting detailed settings and descriptions after auditing this course.

por Jillian K

Dec 06, 2017

This course was an excellent blend of basics and simple intense assignments to practice the concepts learned. I enjoyed every course in the Creative Writing Specialization

por Jenn K

Aug 15, 2016

Such a great inspiring teacher. My favourite course on this Platform.

por Amanda C

Sep 13, 2016

A great course to get you thinking about the what and where of your story. I highly recommend this course.

por Anna B

Jun 21, 2016

i recommend this very enjoyable class , courses and directions for submissions are clear , provides interesting and efficient tools for progression . Teacher s personnality is a passionate and encouraging one . Great experience.

por lisa r

Jun 17, 2016

I am thoroughly enjoying this course. There is the right mix of close reading, difficult assignments and thought provoking conversations with authors.

por Patricia R

May 16, 2017

Very good

por salima h

Mar 23, 2016

Clear lectures with practical advice, and very good assignments. The assignments in the plot class and the character class were too confusing and structured, but the assignments in the craft of setting class were perfectly designed to help the student practice whatever was taught in the modules. I know it sounds unimportant, but we're here to write, and when we're given awkward assignments, the peer reviews go haywire and the writing quality declines for everyone.

I read some of the best work, peer work, in this class and in the style class.

por Chloé B

Mar 20, 2016

Very good and interesting course!

por Amanda K

Feb 18, 2017

This was a great course. I feel like I learned a lot and was able to expand my writing abilities in ways I never knew I could. I absolutely loved the guided meditation and soundscapes portion of the course. Thank you, Amity Gaige!

por julia k

Mar 18, 2017

good assignments and clear tips and inspirations.

por Lauren L

Apr 15, 2017

This, for me, has been, by far the best part of the Creative writing course. Amity is an amazing instructor and gives great incite and lessons on Setting and description. She takes it one step further with readings and visualizations. I have learned so much that I can put to use! Highly reccomen

por Freya D L

Aug 30, 2017

I learned so much! Amity is an excellent teacher, the exercises were spot on, just what they needed to be to evolve as a writer. I learned a lot from reviewing my peer's work as well, and some of their feedback was very helpful. Excellent, excellent course, all four of them are just so good. Thank you!

por adriene j

Jan 31, 2018

Gaige is engaging!! Always looked forward to her lectures, her insight, her guests, her analyses and her assignments. The one that was the toughest me turned out to be my best work. The student critiques - which are so helpful and affirming - said as much. Read things like, “This is the best student work submitted,.” Simply means Ms. Gaige teaches well and to every level. Just make sure you give yourself enough time before the due dates so you can edit yourself o your best work!

por Aisha K

Jul 13, 2017

Each of the Creative Writing courses in this series has been meaningful and helpful to me as a novice writer. The material, instructors, guest speakers, practice assignments, and forums made learning enjoyable and effective. Most of all, the university and the seasoned professors/writers are inspiring individuals for whom I am eternally grateful!

por Sidharthan K

Oct 24, 2016

The assignments are challenging and fun to do. I feel like my writing has improved a lot!

por Gabriel T

Apr 25, 2016

Amity was nice. I liked the way she presented the materials the the instructions for the assignments.

It would be nice to see more feedback from the staff. This is was the majority of the peers were expecting.

por Hugo E G L

Jul 18, 2016

It was a great experience. This course enhanced my writing skill to a whole new level. The most important thing is that it was both: challenging and fun.

I would recommended to anyone who wishes to improve their skill as a writer, storyteller, and so on.

You would regret it if you don't enroll on this one. By the way, language is not a excuse. English is not my mother language, and I had a lot of fun with this course. It also improved my writing skill. Grammar is a must.

Cheers!

por Raimundo P M

Jun 09, 2016

This one was much more intense, and as such, much more fruitful.

por Heather F R

Aug 31, 2016

Excellent course. I learned a lot. Amity Gaige is a terrific instructor. I enjoyed her method of teaching.

por Tim J

May 26, 2017

Excellent class!

por Aurelija M

Sep 27, 2016

Amity Gaige quickly became one of my favourite tutors. I enjoyed all the meditation parts so much that it made me rethink how research should be done. Thank you!

por Angela F

Oct 11, 2016

Great course. Excellent exercises, and illuminating lessons.