Chevron Left
Voltar para Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
940 classificações
278 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to the techniques that masters of fiction use to ground a story in a concrete world. From the most realist settings to the most fantastical, writers will learn how to describe the physical world in sharp, sensory detail. We will also learn how to build credibility through research, and to use creative meditation exercises to deepen our own understanding of our story worlds, so that our readers can see all that we imagine....

Melhores avaliações

EG

Jul 02, 2020

Great course, it taught me things that I would have never learned otherwise, in this course you must take your time, don't rush, because if you do you will miss the most important points of the curse.

DP

Jul 18, 2018

This course gave a real depth to the importance of describing your character's environment, as a way of deepening and exciting them. excellent work on imagining your characters in the environment

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 273 Avaliações para o Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

por Matthias N Y

Mar 27, 2018

I liked the course. It great, and the instructor have awaken my gift of writing especially she asked me to write about my primal landscape. I need her email to talk to her Please.

por Aecio d B V N

Aug 07, 2017

I liked the course very much. It was very useful to give some insights on the importance of description not only to "paint the picture", but to help tell the story. I like it!

por Eliana H

Dec 19, 2019

It was an amazing experience like the rest of the courses in this program. I´ve learn to be more patient, do research and introspection. I think my work is really better now.

por Andreea S

Dec 21, 2017

Amazing course and instructor! Thank you so much for all your wisdom, the challenging exercises and for an all-round great experience. Looking forward to the Capstone course!

por judy t

Jul 05, 2019

I have learned so much and made great progress. This might be just the beginning for me in an endeavor I have always wanted to explore. Coursera got me started. Thank you

por Evita K

Aug 15, 2018

I absolutely loved this course and it taught me how to better describe a setting and where I've gone too much in detail and where I could explore and focus more :) Thanks!

por Jillian K

Dec 06, 2017

This course was an excellent blend of basics and simple intense assignments to practice the concepts learned. I enjoyed every course in the Creative Writing Specialization

por Carreen P

Nov 23, 2017

Ms. Gaige is very efficient and effective. Her course showed me how to improve my observation of our environment and use it to draw the reader into the story. Very useful.

por Chew W Y

Jul 23, 2016

Great course and exciting writing assignments! The peer reviews were mostly constructive and the instructor was clear and brought her learnings across. Highly recommended!

por sebastien m

Oct 19, 2017

Looking at my writing in a more in depth way, this course challenged me to complete 4 more pieces for my portfolio which is not just growing, but improving all the time.

por VAIBHAV Y

Jul 20, 2017

I really enjoyed this course and learned a lot. I also liked the fact that Amity gave selected readings to read which she thought might be important and helpful for us.

por Jeanne B

Nov 05, 2018

Deeply insightful and helpful. I am a beginner at writing fiction and the course both gave me techniques I was able to apply and then realise I can actually do this!

por Holly M

Jul 09, 2018

Amity Gaige is a really good instructor. I've taken three courses for this specialization so far and she's one of the best instructors. I really enjoyed this course.

por Tina M

Jul 31, 2017

I think this was my favorite module because it's an area I suffered from. My books are heavy on dialogue and suck in setting. This will change with my next project.

por Zsuzsanna J

May 10, 2016

I have learnt so much about description and about power of meditation. I recommend this course for everybody who would like to show his or her world to the Readers.

por Aurelija M

Sep 27, 2016

Amity Gaige quickly became one of my favourite tutors. I enjoyed all the meditation parts so much that it made me rethink how research should be done. Thank you!

por Pam N

Sep 18, 2017

The instructor is personable, imaginative, and engaging. I loved the individual lessons in this course. I would highly recommend it to anyone learning to write.

por Nevil

Sep 20, 2018

Thanks Amity,

For making me realize to use and bring all of my five senses even the sixth one alive in the writing... hopefully it will all come alive

Rgds,

Nev.

por Federico B S

May 30, 2018

This is a great course. You can tell the instructor loves writing and also has a great sense of what setting and description require. I highly recommend it.

por Anusha N

Aug 10, 2019

The best instructor in this course. Teaches with clarity, passion and compassion and sets some of the most complicated, interesting briefs for assignments.

por Alessandro S

Dec 31, 2016

I really liked this course because it contained a lot of reading material and made me practice on various aspects of setting writing. My favourite so far.

por Sourodeep C

Jul 09, 2020

A great course to learn the fundamentals and think deeply. The assignments are challenging to give in your best, thought provoking. Loved it thoroughly

por lisa r

Jun 17, 2016

I am thoroughly enjoying this course. There is the right mix of close reading, difficult assignments and thought provoking conversations with authors.

por Ana V H

Jul 09, 2018

The professor's knowledge was very useful to me. I would recommend this to any aspiring writer or just someone who wants to analyze novels better.

por Nada D

Aug 08, 2016

Really instructive course and exceptional teaching, discussion boards were a bit barren but maybe that was due to the lack of mentors at the time.