Chevron Left
Voltar para Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
812 classificações
234 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to the techniques that masters of fiction use to ground a story in a concrete world. From the most realist settings to the most fantastical, writers will learn how to describe the physical world in sharp, sensory detail. We will also learn how to build credibility through research, and to use creative meditation exercises to deepen our own understanding of our story worlds, so that our readers can see all that we imagine....

Melhores avaliações

DP

Jul 18, 2018

This course gave a real depth to the importance of describing your character's environment, as a way of deepening and exciting them. excellent work on imagining your characters in the environment

CZ

Mar 27, 2018

Excellent course- highly recommended. I liked how it tied into other courses in the series as well. I took many notes, and plan on revisiting the course during my writings to refresh some ideas.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

por P. E K

Oct 15, 2018

It was a treat hearing from Ms. Gaige, one of my all-time favorite writers.

por Adrienna M O

Oct 17, 2018

Really great information, and a good start to learning about the craft of writing.

por Homer W

Sep 18, 2018

The course emphasizes the importance of believable writing. Choices in narrative voice are studied to describe scenes and characters with research to flush out what has happened, who is present, where and what is anticipated in a story. Good course.

por Nevil

Sep 20, 2018

Thanks Amity,

For making me realize to use and bring all of my five senses even the sixth one alive in the writing... hopefully it will all come alive

Rgds,

Nev.

por Renee C W

Sep 27, 2018

For me, this might have been the most challenging course of the Creative Writing Specialization in that it targeted one of my weaknesses as a writer, but the assignments tested me and helped me to hone the craft of description (and setting). The lectures were a treat to listen to and learn from – Amity is a very engaging and knowledgeable teacher.

por Houda A I

Sep 27, 2018

Best Class of the specialization

por Sean D

Sep 10, 2018

I’ve enjoyed this course the most so far (having completed Craft of Plot and Character), perhaps it’s due to a general improvement in my writing through the skills I’ve alredy gained, but I really felt these particular modules were very good and really challenged my imagination. A great course from Amity Gaige who does an excellent job in helping to develop your techniques in setting and description.

por Maihaa R

Sep 09, 2016

Amity Gage is an excellent Instructor with helpful tips and information regarding The Craft of Setting and Description.

por Jayne B

Dec 29, 2016

So far, this is my favorite module. I can tell my writing is improving & am grateful for the thoughtful instruction. I would like some Instructor input, not just peers, however. That would be an amazing bonus to an already wonderful course!

por Ana S A C

Aug 13, 2016

This was a difficult one for me but incredibly useful, I really needed it as a writer in order to create great settings.

por Alessandro S

Dec 31, 2016

I really liked this course because it contained a lot of reading material and made me practice on various aspects of setting writing. My favourite so far.

por MP

Mar 14, 2017

Excellent. I truly enjoyed the content, the tasks, the feedback, and the instructor's ability to engage learners. I perceived Mrs. Gaige as a natural motivator and a great facilitator.

Thank you so much for your time. Mrs. Amity Gaige.

Sincerely, Maria Barreto

por Rashmi N

Apr 26, 2017

The best parts of this course are faculty as well as the feedback received in peer reviews.

por Michelle K

Mar 17, 2016

I really liked Amity's style- a great presenter, great voice and very encouraging. She also really got into the meat of the subject. And her assignments were a challenge but really enjoyable. I have found out things about my writing in this course!

por Wynnie N

Feb 14, 2017

One can tell that Amity Gaige has carefully tailored this course to teach us the craft of setting and description. I have never paid much attention to it before, always connecting much more to the characters' feelings. Only now after taking this course, I can appreciate how important setting and description really is for the reader and also for the characters in your story. Thank you Amity!

por leena m s

Jul 07, 2017

Amity , i think your the greatest professor ever

you made me fall in love with this course

por Michael R

Sep 20, 2016

The examples and the assignments are very cleverly thought out. Good teaching!

por JOHN Q

Jun 25, 2016

Great Course!

por Ole D J

Feb 19, 2018

Awesome course.

Can feel the missing pieces slowly fall together in my writing for every assignment.

So happy this and other related courses were made available on Coursera.

Will mention the author as well as this course in my first book if I manage to get it published.

por Michael C

Mar 02, 2016

What a great course. It was accessible, but at the same time challenging. Wonderful!

por Farid H

Sep 10, 2016

excellent course

por Erica D

May 31, 2016

loved this course, the prompts really got me thinking and writing about things/topics that were different for me. Being forced outside my comfort zone has really gotten me thinking about writing from a different angle and I think that will help so much moving back to my own writing

por Marie-Hélène F

Feb 23, 2016

Excellent course: Thank you so much!!!!

por Andreea S

Dec 21, 2017

Amazing course and instructor! Thank you so much for all your wisdom, the challenging exercises and for an all-round great experience. Looking forward to the Capstone course!

por Ana C O G

May 30, 2018

Loved it!