Chevron Left
Voltar para Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
793 classificações
231 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to the techniques that masters of fiction use to ground a story in a concrete world. From the most realist settings to the most fantastical, writers will learn how to describe the physical world in sharp, sensory detail. We will also learn how to build credibility through research, and to use creative meditation exercises to deepen our own understanding of our story worlds, so that our readers can see all that we imagine....

Melhores avaliações

DP

Jul 18, 2018

This course gave a real depth to the importance of describing your character's environment, as a way of deepening and exciting them. excellent work on imagining your characters in the environment

JW

Jan 27, 2018

The course was very well organized and quite challenging. Each week gave me the opportunity to develop a piece which I have further developed into longer pieces which I am looking at publishing.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

por John L

Mar 25, 2019

I recently completed the 5-course specialization in creative writing. For the most part the course material presented was good, especially the courses on plot, on setting, and on style. The course on characterization was a little vague. From the syllabus, it looked like it would be a good course, but the instructor did not follow the syllabus and was often very unfocussed in her presentation.

The weakness with this specialization is that all the feedback to the writer is provided by peers in the course. This I found very disappointing. Many of the other students were honestly very poor writers, and as a result, the feedback I received on my assignments was very superficial. In addition, rather than being able to learn from reading the writing of others, I found for the most part that the pieces submitted by others were very lacking.

If you take this course, know that it will provide you some good information about writing fiction, but the feedback you receive on your assignments will not help you learn. You will need to find another peer group of writers to help you with that.

por LeAttol ( E L

Jan 18, 2019

In regards to the specialization, I found the Brando Skyhorse course more "technical" but this course seems to evoke talent from students. The peer grading was a pleasure to do. -leattol

por Laura B

Dec 11, 2018

Good exercises, good instruction. The examples and readings were perfect to reinforce what the instructor was talking about.

por Leo J R

Nov 26, 2018

Another great class! Lectures were insightful, assignments interesting and feedback from classmates helpful.

por Paola G C

Dec 18, 2018

I loved this course!

por Judy W W J

Dec 03, 2018

I have learned invaluable skills in creating a setting and description of characters, places, time and location. The course materials were easy to follow, and the assignments were very challenging but overall rewarding.

por Inés K

Dec 20, 2018

This course is great. The mix of video, reading, questions to reflect on, assignments that are given on video (not just text) is just perfect. It feels more interactive that way. Amity Gage is doing a great job.

por Hector M C L

Jan 09, 2019

Amity is an excellent guide. The exercises are fun and match the lessons you are taking. I really enjoyed the course and feel it improved my attention to detail in my writing. I also liked the part about research which before I didn't do much of. Now I am very aware of learning about my settings and subjects before writing about them. Thanks!

por Rahul S

Dec 31, 2018

It was challenging but an experience and after completing it am sure I have skipped my skills

por MAGZ M

Jan 17, 2019

I really loved this course and could see where I needed to improve and how to do it. The authors/ instructors were very clear and stimulating and I have been reading THEIR BOOKS, too!!!!

por Cornelia B

Jan 23, 2019

I must say we earned this certificate - hard work, interactive and full of bits to chew on. Amity Guage had us participate, think out of the box and on the edge of our creative seats. Well done and a must take.

por David J M

Feb 24, 2019

The course was excellent as was the teacher. I learned a great deal about writing and the weekly assignments really helped me as did reviewing peers work and having them review mine. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to improve their creative writing.

por Karena A

Mar 26, 2019

THis course showed a different perspective of writing fiction than what I have done in the past. Nice.

por SHI

Mar 26, 2019

slow motion, significant detail, about genre or style, the perspective of the auto-biography for the contenu;

the discussion about the cours among the students;

the interview of the others writers was woundeful;

also the moment for us the student to think, to meditate, to read, and then to write, all this like the real class.

por AMIR R A

Mar 28, 2019

very helpful

por Frankie W

Mar 30, 2019

I love how Amity explained everything and the assignments and peer responses where wonderful. I got some great feedback and cannot wait to move further with my novel! Thank you everyone, and thank you so much to Amity for taking the time to put together your thoughts into a class!

por xiaoqiang

Jan 29, 2019

aworesome course !

por Joe M

Feb 11, 2019

Each step I take along this specialization gives me more and more to think about. This course continued to expand my knowledge on the writing process and helped me hone my skills a little more.

por William C

Feb 02, 2019

Fantastic course. Amity Gaige is a good instructor with a lot of good information to share, not mention she is a very beautiful woman.

por Esha B

Apr 02, 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed the course. I feel what I have learnt in this course will take my writing to a new level.

por Liora H

Mar 12, 2019

Excellent exercises. They really pushed me and challenged me to dive in and develop my ability to write and describe a setting. I feel that my observation in the process of writing has been refined - I pay more attention now to details in the setting while imagining a scene.

por Vasiliki L

Mar 14, 2019

Great course - the challenges presented force you to write better!

por Nelly L

Mar 17, 2019

Engaging! Intelligent! Boosting!

por Raul N C G

Jan 05, 2019

Exccellent course content, instructor and exercises!

por sepas h

Jan 08, 2019

Professor Gaige is one of the very best teachers that I've had in my entire life. She tries to explain everything in small details and examples; examples that make it crystal clear for the students to comprehend the whole concept; explaining them in such a sincere way, it is hard to believe that you're actually learning something new, but you are.

thanks a lot for your super informative course professor Gaige,

I hope I can use the lessons in my writings.