Chevron Left
Voltar para Copyright Law in the Music Business

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Copyright Law in the Music Business da instituição Faculdade Berklee de Música

4.8
estrelas
532 classificações
120 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course taught by E. Michael Harrington, students will learn the basis for copyright including what is and is not covered by copyright law. This course will help clarify what rights artists have as creators as well as what the public is free to take from their work. Students will also learn what to do if someone copies their work and what to do if they are accused of copying someone else. Finally, the course will discuss how technology has changed copyright for the better (and worse) and how copyright laws may change in the coming years....

Melhores avaliações

VL
12 de Abr de 2020

Thank you the opportunity. I want to thank the Coursera team and Michael for making it easier to get an in-depth understanding of the Copyright Law in Music Business. This will be very helpful.

H
13 de Mar de 2021

This course I highly rated and I would suggest anyone in the music business or copyright scholar should take it. This was also the best presenter of a course I have ever seen.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 121 Avaliações para o Copyright Law in the Music Business

por Buddy H

21 de Mai de 2019

The instructor was very difficult to listen to, seemed to have dry mouth in every video. I feel that he shared more conversation than instruction. In the case studies, we were asked for our opinions, but the multiple choice answers were catering to his opinions. This made it very hard to answer the questions correctly. You can't ask what I think or what I found, then ask me to answer questions based on my findings, but score me based on your own. I disagreed with the instructor on many issues but had to give contradictory answers to multiple choice answers just for them to be marked correct. There was also a lot of repetitive information given. I don't think there's a need for this course after taking John C Kellog's course "Music Business Foundations". I think Mr. Kellog covered everything in this course and was much more interesting and clear in his explanations. This course is more opinions than facts.

por Charles V P

2 de Fev de 2019

The course provides a very elementary introduction to copyright law. No external reading is required. I would recommend reading "Music Copyright Law" by David Moser. This book provides a more in-depth approach to dealing with the actual copyright code.

por James N

22 de Jun de 2020

Everything in this course was explained well. I feel like if you want to learn about copyright among other things, such as record contracts, then go for Music Business Basics with Jon Kellogg. This course, for me, offered a way to reconsolidate my learning for this course rather than an introduction to a load more ideas, bar there was a good amount of case studies and talk about the process of going to court. Overall a good course. P.S. I took this within the Music Business specialisation, which included Music Business Foundations as a course.

por Eileen

24 de Jun de 2020

An accessible course for those who do not have much experience with law but have a general understanding of music and musical analysis (chord progressions, roman numeral analysis, basic tempo and form).

por Deleted A

2 de Jul de 2019

If you dot know how to analyze music, (tempo, melody, ect) you will have a hard time with the case studies and quizes.

por András D

28 de Fev de 2021

I'm really grateful that there are such a great resource available online from Berklee.

I'm massively missing a lesson about Public Domain - how you can find out for sure if something is already in public domain and how you are supposed to submit your music to publishers and PROs when your music includes Public Domain contents.

A general feedback to all Berklee Music training courses: the networking opportunity through howdy learning is a great idea but without moderation or some kind of lead these meetings aren't as useful as they could be.

por Xiao L G

27 de Jul de 2020

To all law/non-law students who have a massive interest in Intellectual Property and Music, you will not regret paying for this interesting and exciting course! The contents of this course were detailed and easily absorbed! Not only I got to know how Copyright Law works in the Music Industry, I got to know how the US legal system works as well! Overall, I feel superbly satisfied with this course :)

por Rishika

18 de Nov de 2020

In my opinion, this course takes you through a journey of copyright law in the music industry. I got to learn a lot of new things and had an amazing experience during the lectures and in solving relevant questions to check my understanding of the topic. I would recommend this course to people who love music and who are interested in understanding the copyright law that governs music.

por Mohab Y H

10 de Abr de 2020

Excellent course and has helped me learn about various aspects of copyright laws. The case studies were an absolutely great way of get in-depth information on how lawsuits are carried out. This course opened up ways for me to learn more on copyright laws in music and my next step would be to take the 12 week course available on Berklee College.

por Andrea S R

19 de Fev de 2021

It was a very complete course to understand the principles of copyright and copyright law. I think it is a good start for musicians that want to know how copyright works and even for lawyers to get to know more about composition and sound and how it is important to keep the in mind when having a case involving copyright law infringement.

por Barbara D

7 de Mar de 2021

An amazing course with an amazing professor. The Copyright Law in the Music Business allows us to know more about the laws behind our everyday practice, that are playing music and composing songs, and allow us to be aware of future issues that we don't want to face and if they happend, how to solve this problems.

por Prompiriya P

19 de Mai de 2020

Interesting course with great insight from the professional. I like that the lectures are somewhat short and the quiz is extremely detailed. While the content itself in US Music Business is not really applicable to my country, I get the right foundation to start exploring on this matter. Thanks.

por Josephine K

26 de Nov de 2020

E. Michael is a great lecturer, taking each topic one at a time and explaining each of them clearly and in a detailed manner. He is very easy to understand and makes learning enjoyable. Thank you for the opportunity to grow my knowledge on this matter.

por Maiha F

31 de Mai de 2020

This was my first time to take the class of university in US.

Especially I was surprised about the content.

It was specific, practical and latest.

This was an amazing experience for me.

Thank you so much for Mr E. Michael Harrington, Berklee and Coursera.

por Dan C

31 de Jul de 2018

This is a great course. They did a great job of taking a very mundane, yet crucially important subject and make it easy to understand. The use of the case studies was brilliant and it really helped it the understanding and application of the material.

por Kristen N

24 de Mar de 2020

Fantastic course! Such interesting material by a personable and very knowledgeable instructor. He explained everything clearly and included interesting "real world" stories. I would readily take another course from this instructor.

por lucero r

27 de Jan de 2020

I feel I have a closer understanding of copyright law. Though some things where a little hard for me to understand as I'm not musically inclined, this gives me a great starting point when my team creates different songs

por SOULAIMANE I

7 de Set de 2019

A glimpse on legality in the world of music with invaluable information that complements the courses presented before in this specialization, It was an amazing experience. This fine gentleman will represent me someday.

por Gustavo S d S

15 de Jul de 2020

The course is well-structured and professor Michael presents everything on a clear and sound manner. There are assignments with practical cases analysis and very detailed reports after you finish them. Recommended!

por Girish D K

27 de Jul de 2020

E. Michael Harrington

sir was excellent he cleared every concept regarding copyright infringement.If anyone want to learn about copyright against music you should go for this course. Learned a lot Thank You.

por Varun L

13 de Abr de 2020

Thank you the opportunity. I want to thank the Coursera team and Michael for making it easier to get an in-depth understanding of the Copyright Law in Music Business. This will be very helpful.

por Cynthia A A

15 de Abr de 2019

I am grateful for this course, knowledge is power. Now I feel free to compose without the rare fear that somewhere in the world might be a song similar to mine for which I could be sued.

por Erick E R C

27 de Fev de 2021

It's a perfect course, it allowed me to know the fundamental areas of law in the music industry, so now I can go deeper and deeper, depending on the things I need to know about.

por Herbert F W

9 de Jul de 2021

This course I highly rated and I would suggest anyone in the music business or copyright scholar should take it. This was also the best presenter of a course I have ever seen.