Chevron Left
Voltar para Introdução aos principais conceitos constitucionais e casos da Suprema Corte

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introdução aos principais conceitos constitucionais e casos da Suprema Corte da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
estrelas
1,094 classificações

Sobre o curso

This course offers an introduction to the U.S. Constitution and landmark Supreme Court cases interpreting it. It explores the Constitution’s origins, its amendment over the years, and methods of constitutional interpretation. Topics include the nature and structure of the federal government, the powers of the federal government, and individual rights....

Melhores avaliações

SJ

21 de jul de 2017

Professor does a great job and in explaining the complexities. He does not take any partisan stand and does a great job and giving prominence to all sides of the argument. Enjoyed the course throughly

JG

5 de ago de 2021

This course was very helpful and informative. I enjoyed the information and the knowledge I retained. I believe this course would educated an individual (Layman) not knowledgeable in legal profession.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 309 Avaliações para o Introdução aos principais conceitos constitucionais e casos da Suprema Corte

por Carrol L

17 de jun de 2017

This was a brilliant course and the professor was outstanding. My inclination at first was to drop the course after week 1 but I received a passing grade and decided to continue. Amendment XIV was indeed an eye opener for me. I'm sure this time around no sitting Judge will deny me the I not taken this course, I guess I would have died never knowing I had Constitutional Rights under the XIV Amendment under the Constitution for all Americans born or naturalized in the United States of America.

por Michael C

29 de nov de 2018

Enjoyed the course. I've read a lot of US History and was familiar with many of the cases through that reading experience but this is the first time I've studied just the Supreme Court. I have a better understanding now of the Court's historic thinking and ability to change it's thinking overtime. It also helps me to disagree with the court, especially the current court, by reviewing the constitutional reasoning be hide the decisions

por Sha L

12 de fev de 2017

Learning this course is a fantastic experience for me, a STEM background and without any formal knowledge of US constitution. The professor pick the key clauses and concepts from US constitution and present them in different perspectives. All of these are extremely refreshing and intellectually enlightening to me. I consider this course so far the best art&humanities course I've ever taken. Thank you professor and UPenn

por Sabrina

11 de jun de 2021

An excellent course to get introduced to the making of constitution of USA, ruling behind interesting Supreme Court cases and the idea of democracy . Professor explains it in a very engaging style with relevant examples. The course modules, quizzes and discussions are highly insightful. Highly recommend it to all naturalized citizens and to anyone who wants to learn more about the process.

por Larry L E

25 de set de 2016

Outstanding course. Once I started it, I couldn't stop. Kermit Roosevelt III is an amazing teacher and speaker. He presented all sides of many of the central issues in Constitutional law for those of us not trained in the law, and he presented the material in a way that inspires us to become more active in the political process - preferably non-partisan (but that part is just my view).

por Diane B

21 de jul de 2020

A very interesting course. Plenty to learn regardless of one's political bent. The videos are long enough to present the information, but short enough to keep interest. The available transcript helps accommodate multiple learning preferences. It helped me gain an appreciation of where people I disagree with are coming from, and I think I can have more meaningful conversations with them.

por Sean b

25 de out de 2017

This is a course that everyone should take, EVERYONE! It brought an easily understandable, non-partisan, no-bs approach to learning about the Constitution and the issues surrounding it. As a unofficial student of the Constitution and a proud American who has sworn to serve and protect it I feel that the points brought up in these lectures need to be seen by all.

por Lea G

26 de out de 2020

VERY INFORMATIVE & WELL-ROUDNED! This course helped to explain constitutional foundations, the function of the Federal Government, Congress and the President and how they interact in a way that was understandable. Also included many visuals and video clips to establish key points. Well done! Thank you Professor Roosevelt, University of Pennsylvania and staff!

por Carlo

3 de dez de 2016

The best course I have ever attended on Coursera!!!!!!! A must! Maybe some improvements could be made but it is going to be very hard: very well structured, deep and yet very clear, couldn't be more relevant in these post Trump election times, opinionated and yet well-balanced, very good use of the medium. More, please, Professor Roosevelt, more!!!

por Evgen V

27 de mar de 2018

Excellent, even if a bit brief, course discussing the fundamental concepts of the US constitutional law. The instructor's willingness to present two sides of the debate is very helpful and thought-provoking. As a non-US citizen, I would really recommend taking this course to anyone interested in the United States and its rich legal tradition.

por Brittney H

6 de jul de 2020

I learned more from this course than any US Government course taken in high school. If you want a better understanding of US political culture, take this course. I certainly appreciate the evaluation and distinction between the Founding Fathers Constitution and the Reconstruction Constitution and the two views on the Equal Protection Clause.

por Francisco A R P

1 de fev de 2017

An excellent opportunity to learn what constitutional law is about and understand the way the U. S. Supreme Court interprets the Constitution asserting the values it reflects. Professor Kermit Roosevelt conveys the message in a clear and direct way, making the classes easy to follow. A real enjoying experience for me. Thanks you all.

por Luiz G A A

14 de ago de 2019

Excelente curso! Recomendo a todos que não são Norte Americanos (principalmente Brasileiro). Nosso sistema se baseou muito aos moldes americanos. Porém, claro não podemos descartar as diferenças culturais. Mas tendo em vista o molde base da para fazer uma comparação interessante e ver quais pontos deficitários existe em nosso país !

por Russell B

13 de mai de 2021

This course greatly & rapidly deepened my understanding of American constitutional law. Note: I'm a qualified lawyer with experience in professional practice, but I'm not from the US. The lecturer is very good: he gets right to the nub of issues, and his revision notes at the end of each lecture provide a concise, useful summary.

por Anh P

8 de fev de 2017

Professor Roosevelt did a stunningly fine job at explaining and linking everything together. I knew about the Constitution and the American Declaration of Independence before, but not the Articles of Confederation, and now thanks to Professor everything clicked into its place, everything made sense to me. Thanks a lot!!!

por Ron R

16 de out de 2020

I thought the course was excellent. It was informative, but more importantly it gave different perspectives and made you think about the rationale behind the constitution and Bill of Rights. I learned a lot and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to learn about the constitution and Bill of Rights. Thank you.

por T A

13 de nov de 2020

Dr. Roosevelt explained with real examples how the constitution influence our daily lives. Most of the videos about court cases and recent issues, make me think about how the constitution can play in our lives as well as how the supreme court develops its job. Very interesting course and I am completely satisfied.

por Veer D

30 de abr de 2020

Loved the course. Kermit does a fabulous job in detailing the nuanced developments of the Constitutional History and it's applications in modern day cases. As a Non-American, this course has given me a great insight into not only the American Constitutional Setup but also Constitutional Law in general.

por Carol L M H

24 de abr de 2022

This was a very informative class, and I love Prof. Roosevelt III. His presentation of facts and concepts was very easily accessible to me as a returning senior citizen student. I needed to update my understanding of the US Constitution, since I had graduated from four year dollege 40 years ago!

por Shannon R

22 de mai de 2020

It was a great class. Is there a part 2 coming soon. Also a class offering a detail break down of the legislative process. Explaining the introduction of a bill what happens to a bill in committees and when the bill is ready for debate in the full chamber.

Thank you for the opportunity.

por Joseph S

14 de abr de 2020

Great course to better understand our Constitution and the ideas behind its principles and its amendments. Professor Roosevelt provides thought provoking concepts that challenges the learner to understand various viewpoints and to gain a better understanding the law and the Supreme Court.

por Sophie R

30 de jun de 2020

These are some of the most engaging video lectures I have seen. I started this course because I had forgotten a lot of high school civics and wanted to brush up. After finishing it I am thoroughly hooked on the course material and have been researching the topics more in depth for fun.

por Deonne R M

16 de jul de 2017

Well presented with a brilliant and analytical professor. This course provided insights into why decisions are made and how we as a nation got to where we are and how We The People can effect constitutional changes. It is noteworthy, his voice and vocal modulations were pleasant assets

por Leah R R

20 de jan de 2022

An excellent course providing a clear and informative introduction to understanding the history and context of the US Constitution and the Bill of Rights. A thorough overview of the amendments is provided as is a detailed and concise summary of key judgments from the Supreme Court.